37 minutes ago, BKKBooga said:

Watching old man Tex Walker still running around kicking goals, then watching JVR, young fit and key forward going backwards. Either he is low on confidence or being badly coached. In any event he should be much better.

Or was over hyped and not really as good as we all had hoped.

7 hours ago, Roost it far said:

Personally I think going smaller makes sense. We need players who can run, tackle and harass to both move the ball better and create contest forward of centre. Seriously what could be worse than the last few weeks?

100% smaller makes sense but if we kick it high with every entry then it’ll just be like the norf game where it gets marked by their defence nearly every time

Small fwd line

Are we expecting rain ???

1 hour ago, beelzebub said:

Small fwd line

Are we expecting rain ???

30c tomorrow and 21c overnight. Perfect for high marking forwards. But Goody always knows best !!!

Slipping Falling Down GIF by Lewis Automotive

4 hours ago, Sesto said:

I think their putting their hand up and admitting to being a troll.

Good to know there’s no point taking any of their posts seriously…

The poster you’re calling a troll is the complete opposite of that and if you knew the meaning of the word you’d know it’s not applicable.

However, the poster to whom you replied (with your post above) seems to delight in our team’s terrible situation. The lower we drop, the more exuberant he becomes.

So if you’re gonna bag anyone, how about choosing someone who deserves it.

Mrs DoF and I attended the Captain’s Run in Adelaide this arvo, but it’s definitely not worth starting a new training thread to report on it. Most players didn’t even do a serious warm-up, except for Tracc, who performed a very impressive calisthenics routine by himself, for all to see. Jeez, he has amazing agility!

There were a few ball-handling games, a bit of goal kicking practice and some (mostly uncontested) marking practice. Sadly, not a soccer ball in sight!

It was very much a ‘hit and giggle’ promotional event, with autographs and ‘photo opportunities with the players being the main priority. The players were extremely obliging on this front, and the 1,000 or so Dees faithful who were there really enjoyed it.

Mrs DoF sat beside some of Pett’s family in the stand, and they told her that they support the Dees because Harrison plays for them, but their ‘heart’ is really in Adelaide 😪.

4 hours ago, The Swimming Dee said:

I am trying to have a glass half full attitude. Even though his comments received some backlash, SG was correct in saying that last week was an improvement from the previous two weeks.

Clean up some of our basic errors and we may see a quick turnaround. We still have major issues with delivery into the forward 50 but part of that is a lack of confidence in my opinion.

I am hopeful that this week is the start of a positive run of form.

Tough to have a glass half full attitude when we've had forward line entry issues since before Goodwin took over.
How often have we been far ahead in F50 entries and still had our pants pulled down.
As for cleaning up basic errors this has also been an ongoing issue over many years.
Remember Goodwin was all about chaos ball and nothing has changed due largely to none of our players having above mediocre kicking skills.
Can you name one for eg that you are confident when he has the ball will hit a leading player or kick a needed goal?
I'm thinking maybe Harvey Lanford being our best bet and that's damning purely cause he's in his 1st year.

34 minutes ago, Deeoldfart said:

Mrs DoF and I attended the Captain’s Run in Adelaide this arvo, but it’s definitely not worth starting a new training thread to report on it. Most players didn’t even do a serious warm-up, except for Tracc, who performed a very impressive calisthenics routine by himself, for all to see. Jeez, he has amazing agility!

There were a few ball-handling games, a bit of goal kicking practice and some (mostly uncontested) marking practice. Sadly, not a soccer ball in sight!

It was very much a ‘hit and giggle’ promotional event, with autographs and ‘photo opportunities with the players being the main priority. The players were extremely obliging on this front, and the 1,000 or so Dees faithful who were there really enjoyed it.

Mrs DoF sat beside some of Pett’s family in the stand, and they told her that they support the Dees because Harrison plays for them, but their ‘heart’ is really in Adelaide 😪.

Training... seriously.... so yesterday.

Can't believe we aren't taking the round ball seriously... I mean Aussie /Irish caps are up for grabs!!

2 hours ago, Demongirl35 said:

100% smaller makes sense but if we kick it high with every entry then it’ll just be like the norf game where it gets marked by their defence nearly every time

McKay is going to look like an all Australian by the end of the game

Edited by Garbo

1 hour ago, Ghostwriter said:

The poster you’re calling a troll is the complete opposite of that and if you knew the meaning of the word you’d know it’s not applicable.

However, the poster to whom you replied (with your post above) seems to delight in our team’s terrible situation. The lower we drop, the more exuberant he becomes.

So if you’re gonna bag anyone, how about choosing someone who deserves it.

I’m new around here, and all I can do is take posts at face value.

How else is one meant to interpret “like shooting fish in a barrel” other than a post designed only to get a rise out of others. Which is the clear definition of a “troll”.

Clearly it’s a volatile time for all who love the footy club, and the reason I’m here posting is because times are tough as a supporter and I, like everyone else, need an outlet to make sense of it.