45 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

Possibly. I think Goodwin has run his race, i thought that at the end of β€˜23

A new Coaching Panel could still get Maximum value out of this list (with some changes to personnel)

Beating The Bears at the Gabba, Kings B.

The players can still play at a very high standard, but that standard is not the accepted level it is at other Clubs.

Look at Jeeelong, after the β€˜21 PF.. They were demolished that night, but they went away and got better and that is their standard

Rivers could be a great midfielder, if he REALLY wants to be one. Personally i think the internal Party Goers of β€˜22-β€˜23 have left a black mark on our Football Department.

We need a Clean Slate and a Head Coach who demands Respect

I love your selective quotes

Geelong went away and got better after the 2021 PF,

Please tell me about what they did after

2020 GF loss

2019 PF loss after being minor premiers

2018 eliminated by us

2017 PF loss to Adelaide

2016 PF loss at the G to Sydney

2015 no finals

2014 out in straight sets

2013 PF loss after losing WF to Freo at the Cattery

2012 EF loss to Freo at the G

By your logic you would have shown Scott the door after 2015

Even more so taking into account the star studded lineup he has at his disposal with the salary cap wrought you also love to bang on about.

Goody is on thin ice but wanting out after 23 typical hyperbole by yourself. Thinking before typing is something I recommend for you rather then regurgitating the usual cliches and failing to respond when you’re asked a question specific to the actual game

Β 
9 minutes ago, Pennant St Dee said:

2020 GF loss

2018 eliminated by us

2017 PF loss to Adelaide

2015 no finals

Even more so taking into account the star studded lineup he has at his disposal with the salary cap wrought you also love to bang on about.

Goody is on thin ice but wanting out after 23 typical hyperbole by yourself. Thinking before typing is something I recommend for you rather then regurgitating the usual cliches and failing to respond when you’re asked a question specific to the actual game

Get real

Jeeelong have been up since 2007, yep they take a dip, but bounce straight up again.

Losing a PF is not a disasterous Season

Jeeelong have never finished below 10th since 2007

Think about it Sunshine

The only reason I tolerated Geelong was because Polly got himself drafted there.

30 minutes ago, Willmoy1947 said:

After our Grand Final style win of the century, the Media Frenzy, while contributing bang bang bang to it, cracked it big time.

They haven't stopped making sure it never happens again.SORE LOSERS.

My thoughts exactly. Between trying to bully the club to trade all our good players to the media's favourite clubs and all the other BS, they are much happier with us playing in the red footy timeslots and finishing bottom 4 every year.

44 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

The Coaches need replacing before we think of getting rid of either Tracc or Clarry.

But it has to be the right Coach, who pushes a higher standard all the way through the playing group

Rivers full time midfielder?

27 minutes ago, Pennant St Dee said:

2020 GF loss

2018 eliminated by us

2017 PF loss to Adelaide

2015 no finals

I believe Scott was in danger had he not won the 2022 premiership. Again, 10 years is a long time in footy.

10 minutes ago, ElDiablo14 said:

I believe Scott was in danger had he not won the 2022 premiership. Again, 10 years is a long time in footy.

And they bloody well set it up for him as well.

41 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

Get real

Jeeelong have been up since 2007, yep they take a dip, but bounce straight up again.

Think about it Sunshine

It helps when you get 9 (almost) guaranteed wins a year at GMHBA, and play most of the rest at the MCG

The inmates are running the asylum. I understand the willingness to trade both, I agree that Oliver should go for a number of reasons, but they'll both be significantly better at new clubs.

Β 
11 minutes ago, ijustwannaseeaflag said:

It helps when you get 9 (almost) guaranteed wins a year at GMHBA, and play most of the rest at the MCG

Sure it helps, but we make it so hard for ourselves…

20 minutes ago, Pirlo said:

The inmates are running the asylum. I understand the willingness to trade both, I agree that Oliver should go for a number of reasons, but they'll both be significantly better at new clubs.

I’d keep them both, with a new coach & see how it goes in 2026, if it’s a complete failure move them on in 2027

2 hours ago, Willmoy1947 said:

After our Grand Final style win of the century, the Media Frenzy, while contributing bang bang bang to it, cracked it big time.

They haven't stopped making sure it never happens again.SORE LOSERS.

UXZGE87.jpg

Unfortunately for us Basket Case that we are... and it really hurts me to conclude that Clarry.... my favourite player since Rob, will undoubtedly go to Geelong in 2026! Nothing surer but I reckon... he needs it and will thrive!πŸ˜ͺ

Again the Footy Classifieds hyena pack are calling out that Trac could be traded and has fallen to outside the best 25 midfielders in the league , based on the AFL coaches votes.

Slow news week ? What a pack of clowns searching for relevance !!! Cal the gettable vulture Twomey trying to fill more junk airtime and pushing up trade innuendo with half the season still to play.

9 minutes ago, spirit of norm smith said:

Again the Footy Classifieds hyena pack are calling out that Trac could be traded and has fallen to outside the best 25 midfielders in the league , based on the AFL coaches votes.

Slow news week ? What a pack of clowns searching for relevance !!! Cal the gettable vulture Twomey trying to fill more junk airtime and pushing up trade innuendo with half the season still to play.

Um.. sadly they have every reason to speculate!

6 hours ago, Sir Why You Little said:

Get real

Think about it Sunshine

Think about it

Geelong were up under Thompson from 2004-2010 repeated finals with a bad year in 2006 when the club stood firm when everyone wanted him Sacked

Scott took over in 2011 won a flag first year with some criticism that it wasn’t his list and he just inherited an A grade side.

You wanted Goodwin sacked after Premiership and two more finals appearances. You wanted us to appoint Yze as coach on what grounds, let me understand again he was responsible for 21 yet not responsible in any way for the straight sets losses in 22 and 23

We would have been absolutely hounded if we sacked him then, just like we would have been crucified had we let Oliver go when we signed him to a big contract in 21. I seem to recall you being one of the most vocal how bad it was that he was even being talked about as leaving. Well that in hindsight is another noose we could have done without.

He is under pressure now because of 2024 and 2025, but saying he should have been let go in 23 is absolutely ludicrous

"If he is wanting to go again, I don't think you stop someone a couple of years in a row."

Does Christian Petracca need a change of scenery to get back to his best?

#9FootyClassified | Watch on Nine & 9Now

Three Stooges Vintage GIF

Barrett, Twomey and Lloyd … Larry , Curly and Mo !!

6 hours ago, ElDiablo14 said:

He is a fantastic coach, but old mate Swyl would have sacked him after the straight sets loss in 2014 and not even making finals in 2015.

We’re a very different beast to Geelong though. I’m undecided on Goodwin as it stands, my mind will be likely swayed by the way we finish the season.

Whatever the outcome not just changing the coach is needed, big decisions need to be made, Clarry is a constant distraction and whilst he’s been an absolute star a change IMO would be good for both parties and Fritsch also needs to go

11 hours ago, spirit of norm smith said:

11 hours ago, picket fence said:

Um.. sadly they have every reason to speculate!

The entire basis for the renewed Petracca speculation on Footy Classified was a lazy glance at the coaches' votes and someone saying, "it was about this time last year that the Petracca rumours started" β€” and from that, they spun an entire non-story.

Complete garbage, manufactured out of thin air.

But as is tradition with these [censored], other outlets will now pick it up and run their own hot takes, quoting Footy Classified like it's gospel.

Then Tom Morris will start ringing around clubs asking if they'd have any interest in Petracca if he were available.
He’ll follow that up with a call to Melbourne, who’ll politely (or not so politely) tell him to [censored] off.

Then he’ll publish a piece breathlessly reporting that "multiple clubs have expressed interest in Petracca, and Melbourne declined to comment on a potential trade."

Cue a Sam McClure exclusive a few days later, linking back to all this circular nonsense and dropping buzzwords like β€œwhere there’s smoke” β€” while completely ignoring the fact that they lit the [censored] fire in the first place.

Then we'll have people here melting because there has been no comment from the club.

etc etc etc

11 hours ago, Pennant St Dee said:

He is a fantastic coach, but old mate Swyl would have sacked him after the straight sets loss in 2014 and not even making finals in 2015.

We’re a very different beast to Geelong though. I’m undecided on Goodwin as it stands, my mind will be likely swayed by the way we finish the season.

Whatever the outcome not just changing the coach is needed, big decisions need to be made, Clarry is a constant distraction and whilst he’s been an absolute star a change IMO would be good for both parties and Fritsch also needs to go

And let's be honest, our admin and board is an utter shambles. But who stridently defends the guy that has overseen it all collapse in Brad Green? SWYL.

I find the idea that you'd sack Goodwin after '23 ludicrous too. No other club would do this. If Brisbane had done this with Fagan after three straight sets exits (one with a huge home ground advantage), he wouldn't be a premiership coach.

I'm in complete agreement that how we finish this season matters a lot to Goody's future. If we fall in a hole and win only 2 or 3 games, we need to look at change in 2026 irrespective of his remaining year. But if we see some further progress, he should coach out his contract, with finals the savour for him.

Edited by Adam The God

10 minutes ago, Adam The God said:

And let's be honest, our admin and board is an utter shambles. But who stridently defends the guy that has overseen it all collapse in Brad Green? SWYL.

I find the idea that you'd sack Goodwin after '23 ludicrous too. No other club would do this. If Brisbane had done this with Fagan after three straight sets exits (one with a huge home ground advantage), he wouldn't be a premiership coach.

I'm in complete agreement that how we finish this season matters a lot to Goody's future. If we fall in a hole and win only 2 or 3 games, we need to look at change in 2026 irrespective of his remaining year. But if we see some further progress, he should couch out his contract, with finals the savour for him.

We havent made the finals for two years and were inglorious in 22 and 23. On what basis (other than contract) should he be kept in 26??

What I cannot understand is why any players at any Club would want to engage with the the gutter media.

They do everything behind your back. They think you are as dumb as doggies, and they unofficially exploit /make money out of you.

The other thing is that your contract has to include you talking to THEM, as if they are God.

Β 

For at least two years Goody has been working with the FD to evolve the team and game style to compete in the current game. This is a complex combination of recruiting better ball users, more speed and adjusting our game style to embrace a quicker and more offensive style. For all of these changes, i believe Goody is correct and while the implementation has had issues (i.e. the back off this evolution during the middle of last season dues to injuries and effect issues) we don't have a choice but to continue to evolve the team and style as the game has evolved.

The challenge with Trac and Clarry (and JV) making up the core of our midfield is that all three are great in contest but not great ball user, nor quick of foot. Plus, they have been slow to evolve their games. Yet these three were instrumental to our 21 success, are on long term contracts and in peak form are match winners.

The introduction (and re-signing for 9 year) of Kozzie into more midfield time is a big piece in changing our midfield set up as Kozzie is both quick and good by hand and foot. The recruitment of and quality of Langford is another midfield option, with others, such as Windsor, Lindsay, McVee, even Bowser as potential HBF and wing ball deliverers may also reduce the need for Trac and Clarry (and JV) to become what they're not...

My point being that moving one of Trac and Clarry (and JV) out of the club is dependent on what we have to replace them in that role and position. They all keep getting games in the middle because none of the other players at the MFC are pushing them out.

So perhaps the better question is who would replace Trac and Clarry (and JV) in the midfield and would it make us a better team thats more likely to win our next flag?

Because to exit one of Trac and Clarry (and JV) prior to having several solid answers to that question would be a poor outcome.

Edited by PaulRB

9 minutes ago, picket fence said:

We havent made the finals for two years and were inglorious in 22 and 23. On what basis (other than contract) should he be kept in 26??

Whilst the exit in '22 and '23 was inglorious, but the seasons themselves were very good.
Two top 4 finishes and we were the only team that wasn't outside the 8 for the entire period.
That's no mean feat and I don't understand why people continually ignore that.

2022 we had players limping into finals (quite literally with Petracca who was basically on one leg), but 2023 was the year that got away.
What ultimately ended the season (poor kicking aside) was losing our forward line on the eye of finals, then losing Brayshaw in the opening minutes vs the Filth.

Coaching cannot help key injuries or stop thugs from "making a footy act"

Edited by JTR
spelling