Skip to content
View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Welcome to Demonland: Ben Crowe

1 hour ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Loved his quote in reference to your children going to school:

"Don't say to your kids that you've got to go to school. Instead say that you get to go to school"

What an idiotic thing to say to a kid that hates school

1 hour ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

He was instrumental in Richmond's 2017 flag.

I seriously doubt that...he might have been a small cog in the works but to say instrumental is a big call.

2 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

"Don't say to your kids that you've got to go to school. Instead say that you get to go to school"

It is very effective because if you repeat that kind of thing often enough for long enough the unhappy people just kill themselves and the problem is gone.

23 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Yeah I heard him too. He's the sort of bloke you can't stop listening to once you start to hear from him.

He was instrumental in Richmond's 2017 flag. I wonder if was of any use to us since his appointment?

i get what this bloke is on about. Especially with Gen Z's and Millenials (Im a v.late Gen X), but I'm still torn on whether these kids (and adults) lack resilience, bought upon by a sheltered upbringing. Im no shrink either so have to defer to the professionals somewhat, but what sticks out is that we seem to have more problems now with MH, crime etc than we did when i was younger.

As for his work with MFC, im surprised Gary let him off the hook. He was undoubtedly behind the Love Fest of MFC 2025 off-season camp, but either the horse had already bolted and he was left with an unfixable situation OR he isn't as capable as i was led to believe.

The bumping of this thread last week made me get his new book on Audible. Not finished listening yet but an insightful book so far.

Would love to know what he encountered at the Dees.

He speaks extensively about connection and belonging — along with expectations, authenticity, storytelling, vulnerability and a range of other compelling themes/perspectives.

Unfortunately, I suspect our issues with “connection” were a little broader… and may have extended to our inside 50 delivery as well.

On 19/02/2026 at 15:21, GS_1905 said:

i get what this bloke is on about. Especially with Gen Z's and Millenials (Im a v.late Gen X), but I'm still torn on whether these kids (and adults) lack resilience, bought upon by a sheltered upbringing. Im no shrink either so have to defer to the professionals somewhat, but what sticks out is that we seem to have more problems now with MH, crime etc than we did when i was younger.

As for his work with MFC, im surprised Gary let him off the hook. He was undoubtedly behind the Love Fest of MFC 2025 off-season camp, but either the horse had already bolted and he was left with an unfixable situation OR he isn't as capable as i was led to believe.

Crime is down significantly since the 90s and earlier. Very significantly.

Also, there's no real way to compare mental health issue prevalence because until recently mental health problems were something you suffered in silence, self medicated with alcohol, or inflicted upon your loved ones.

Lance Franklin had mental health issues and addressed them and is apparently continuing to thrive.

Gary Ablett Sr 'didn't' have mental health issues and masked these non issues by partying so hard a teenage girl OD'd in his apartment, and has since then been a borderline recluse.

30 years ago Dani Laidley would have just quietky cut her wrists in the bathtub.

Pretty much everything except capital gains tax optimised housing speculation, the run-down of public assets, deregulation and the shift to meth has been a real improvement these last 30yrs.

Now, can anyone tell me if he's qualified or is he just another in a long line of self improvement people who seem to borrow bits & pieces from various religions and philosophers past & present then package up a good story.

3 minutes ago, rjay said:

Now, can anyone tell me if he's qualified or is he just another in a long line of self improvement people who seem to borrow bits & pieces from various religions and philosophers past & present then package up a good story.

Ask Ash Barty and the RFC. Maybe the issue transcends beyond Ben and it’s the MFC.

35 minutes ago, Nietaphart said:

Ask Ash Barty and the RFC. Maybe the issue transcends beyond Ben and it’s the MFC.

Ash Barty could always play tennis...RFC had a good list.

On 18/02/2026 at 18:18, Little Goffy said:

It is very effective because if you repeat that kind of thing often enough for long enough the unhappy people just kill themselves and the problem is gone.

I see your other post Goffy and know you generally to be a well meaning, thoughtful person, but without further context, explanation or qualification, the above is a truly horrible statement.

Edited by Rodney (Balls) Grinter

5 hours ago, rjay said:

Ash Barty could always play tennis...RFC had a good list.

Ash was a nervous Nelly on big points and in big games. She hired Ben and started winning the big tournaments consistently.

1 hour ago, Nietaphart said:

Ash was a nervous Nelly on big points and in big games. She hired Ben and started winning the big tournaments consistently.

She matured...it's the natural evolution of a great sportsperson.

1 hour ago, rjay said:

Ash speaks highly of Ben and his influence. I’ll take her word on Ben.

On 18/12/2024 at 09:16, picket fence said:

Know a little about this bloke LURVE The appiontment. Is ha also available on consult to DEMONLAND? A few could do with guidance🤣

and you

2 hours ago, rjay said:

Took the easy 💰 and disappeared quicker than Copperfield.

Collected his tracksuit and he was on his way to the next feeding destination.

Edited by YesitwasaWin4theAges

10 hours ago, Rodney (Balls) Grinter said:

I see your other post Goffy and know you generally to be a well meaning, thoughtful person, but without further context, explanation or qualification, the above is a truly horrible statement.

It is a truly horrible mirror to hold up. Comments like 'you get to go to school' directed at kids who are having a horrific time at school are pure gaslighting and the only people they reassure are the parents and other people who want to imagine that nothing deeper is wrong and their kids just need to cheer up and have a better attitude.

Basically teaching a child that the problem is them.

I went to high school in the 'suicude 90s' and I have a long memory and do not always mourn silently.

@Rodney (Balls) Grinter I also know you to be a thoughtful poster and appreciate the sincere engagement.

This stuff burns on the same level as dismissive emergency room doctors who send people home with a couple of panadol.

6 minutes ago, Little Goffy said:

@Rodney (Balls) Grinter I also know you to be a thoughtful poster and appreciate the sincere engagement.

This stuff burns on the same level as dismissive emergency room doctors who send people home with a couple of panadol.

No worries mate and thanks for your clarification.

My wife and partner of nearly 20 years passed away from suicide around 5 years ago now, so your initial post was somewhat jarring, but I agree with the sentiment within the further context you explained.

As I think you appreciate depression can often be a deeply rooted beast.

13 hours ago, rjay said:

Honestly none of it is really ground breaking stuff. A lot of what he talks about draws on long-standing ideas around mindset, purpose and perspective — themes that have been around for centuries, he references and quotes things in teh book.

he’s worked with elite athletes, politicians and CEOs, and has been invited to speak all over the world. I think he is good at communicating the message, which is a valuable and meaningful skill.

In his book he mentions doing a free session for Loreto students (and their parents), which reportedly had a really positive impact on students struggling mentally. If someone can package ideas in a way that resonates, helps people navigate tough periods, achieve goals or even potentially saves a life, then thats great. Sometimes its more about delivery, timing and relatability.

25 minutes ago, Rodney (Balls) Grinter said:

No worries mate and thanks for your clarification.

My wife and partner of nearly 20 years passed away from suicide around 5 years ago now, so your initial post was somewhat jarring, but I agree with the sentiment within the further context you explained.

As I think you appreciate depression can often be a deeply rooted beast.

I'm taking some time to quietly gaze out the window, watching a tree in the rain. Y'know.

9 minutes ago, roy11 said:

In his book he mentions doing a free session for Loreto students (and their parents), which reportedly had a really positive impact on students struggling mentally.

Seriously, it's going to take more than a free session to help anyone that's struggling.

...and that's the problem.

On 19/02/2026 at 15:21, GS_1905 said:

but what sticks out is that we seem to have more problems now with MH, crime etc than we did when i was younger.

“Seem to have a more of the problem” is kind of the problem. We have an exhaustive saturation of news and greater access to people’s lives than ever before. Add in a growing population and everyone does the age-old classic of ‘back in the good old days. Not to mention elements of society who love to scare monger.

The statistical reality is that death by suicide rates were highest in the early 1900’s and after WW1, there was another peak in the 60’s. The current death by suicide rate is lower then the 1990’s. Probably means we are better at identifying mental health issues, thus more mental health issues and less death by suicide.

For crime rates, they are significantly lower, most crimes have a huge trend downwards in the last 30 years with a small upwards trend recently. Vehicle theft for example is almost 1/3 of what it was in the 90’s.

I will totally fight that footy used to be better though, I find the AFL these days difficult to get excited about (with the exception of 2021 😁).

On 18/02/2026 at 16:05, Bring-Back-Powell said:

“Jeffo, get the ball”. There. Fixed.