• Author

Purcell been good on her return but she did Hank’s no favors with that handball 

• Author

Brilliant win in the circumstances. Didn’t look fatigued at all so kudos to the conditioning team.

McNamara best on ground. Outstanding from her. Hanks and goldy very good. Gall and Campbell developing nicely.

back in the finals mix now and confidence growing.

go dees

4 hours ago, deanox said:

We've brought back three key players - Zanker, Paxy and Purcell, and the three out (Colvin, D'Arcy and Johnson have been amongst our lowest TOG).

My biggest concern is whether bringing these three in upsets the changes to structure and team balance that saw us with the last two games. Hopefully not.

Meggs was similarly concerned before the match but we had nothing to worry about.

Liv, Paxy and Edo were great contributors today!

1 hour ago, Meggs said:

Meggs was similarly concerned before the match but we had nothing to worry about.

Liv, Paxy and Edo were great contributors today!

Yeah they slotted straight back in didn't they? Zanks found good form.

6 hours ago, spirit of norm smith said:

Unbelievable AFLW draw. 3 1/2 day break.  Really.  Expect fatigue could be a factor. Oh and yes, it’s 3 1/2 days after an interstate travel. 
Low scoring affair. I think it’s only a goal or less at the end. 
Go Dees 💙❤️💙❤️

#LivingstoneWakeUp your schedule is rubbish.  

She has nothing to do with it.

Nicole no longer around resigned about 4/5 mths ago. 

Highlights - Ripper day at moorabbin. Great weather. Great win. Daughter snagged a footy from one of the girls and loved how they are all happy for a chat post game.

Lowlights - Poorly run venue. One bar with 2 staff and one eftpos terminal catering to 3000. No ticket office and had to buy online at the gate. Shemozzle.

Incredible win!

Finals still a remote possibility but we have to do it the hard way. Probably have to win all three, Rich and Hawthorn will be tough then we need to belt Collingwood to have a chance. 
With our cavalry back and those kind of incredible performances by Hanks, McNamara, Hore, Goldy, Maeve, Zanks and Gillard and with Campbell and Gall improving every week we can do it. Let’s go Dees! 

If we win all three remaining H&A games and finish 7-4 we'd have to be very unlucky to miss the finals, regardless of percentage.  If we go 6-5 with a poor percentage I suspect we'll almost certainly miss out.

Good to see the impact of our returning troops although I suspect it will be too little, too late. There remains some serious quality on the injured list. Still, savour each win and enjoy what the girls are doing.

6 - Hanks

5 - McNamara

4 - Hore

3 - Fitzsimon

2 - Purcell

1 - Goldrick

Chaplin solid again and further promising signs from youngsters Gall & Campbell

6 McNamara

5 Hanks

4 Hore

3 Goldrick

2 Purcell

1 Gall

Hats off to Shelley Heath who kept Jaimee Lambert (arguably their most important player) to her statistically worst game for the year. It goes a long way to winning when one of their prime movers and talisman is rendered ineffectual

6. Hanks

5. McNamara 

4. Heath

3. Goldy

2. Chaplin

1. Gall

Special mention to Campbell whose ruck tap work is improving but mainly for the ridiculously kamikaze marking effort that led to Zankers left foot goal. It was Tayla Harrisesque

36 minutes ago, Robbie02 said:

Hats off to Shelley Heath who kept Jaimee Lambert (arguably their most important player) to her statistically worst game for the year. It goes a long way to winning when one of their prime movers and talisman is rendered ineffectual

6. Hanks

5. McNamara 

4. Heath

3. Goldy

2. Chaplin

1. Gall

Special mention to Campbell whose ruck tap work is improving but mainly for the ridiculously kamikaze marking effort that led to Zankers left foot goal. It was Tayla Harrisesque

Love the way Gall and Campbell compete at the drop of ball. Definitely Harrisesque.

Must keep playing them regardless of who comes back.

I think I'd resigned myself to a fairly big drop before the season, and after those four bad losses, was convinced it was happening, possibly for multiple years. But I'm now really optimistic about this group. 

McNamara has gone to a completely different level - gun. Gall is playing really mature footy, which I just didn't expect from her, certainly not at the age of 20. I've always liked Chaplin, but she's better than ever. Denby Taylor is a keeper. Fitzsimon has always had a lot of talent - really solid skills - and now is finding more of the footy. Hanks is 24! I thought Heath might have reached a ceiling - I don't think she has. I thought Bannan might have been a one (very exciting) trick pony - but I've liked her pressure and contest this year. 

I think we're still crying out for another pure midfielder (Beasley may be the one), another composed defender with good hands and a crafty small forward (I reckon the best of Pisano is a way off yet). But the holes are nowhere near as large or various as I thought. 

We have 2 tough games but if you look at who Richmond & Hawks have played it is mainly teams in the bottom 8. We have only played one team in bottom half so I give us a really good chance . It would be great to make finals if only to give our younger girls a taste and also reward the team for such a challenging season. 

That was super courageous.  Tough win away from home.  3 1/2 day break.  Saints are a good team. Our contested footy to win clearances was critical. Like to see more “getting territory” footy though with less handball like we did v crows 

votes. 
6 McNamara 💙❤️

5 Heath 💙❤️

4 Hanks 💙❤️

3 Hore 💙❤️

2 Goldrick 💙❤️that goal in the 2nd quarter was special  

1 Chaplin 💙❤️

Georgia Campbell 👏👏ruck work to compete and kick a nice goal 

Georgia Gall👏👏be strong at the contest  

in the absence of Pearce and Harris, great to see GC and GG stand up again  

Get the pen out to sign up extensions please. 

Yeah the development of Gall and Campbell has been fantastic. They are young and tall, so I guess expect them to take a bit longer, but if they can stand up like that, when we add Harris and Pearce back in we'll be aerially very strong.