Posted

I wonder how the club rates each player coming through each draft. Do we mark them out of a maximum score?! With a certain amount of points being available for different abilities and attributes. 
Say skill level, athletic ability, character and so on. I’m sure we must and we will never find out exactly but I’d love to know. 
Maybe a question for JT if he does the podcast again this year. 

Posted
11 hours ago, binman said:

I forgot Petty from that list.

Taken at 37 in the draft, petts is another big tick for JT in terms of his record with talls.

Great points.

Jeffo is a hit for mine — jury still out of course but I expect him to deliver in spades, development been sound and the club are wrapped with how he is shaping up right now.

Posted
13 hours ago, picket fence said:

I seriously am! DEADLY SERIOUS! I"ll go further and say DAZZLE DAVEY 36 would absolutely wipe the floor with most recruiters in AFL! 

Go away and educate yourself.

https://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/afl-draft-western-bulldogs-dom-milesi-helps-unpack-how-much-work-goes-into-tracking-down-draft-prospects/news-story/7edfc0f463b359dec74c5a98d8b553c6

Posted
9 hours ago, 2021 said:

Same, I will be very happy if we hear Langford’s name called out at pick 5 (or one of the other top mids, but we’re not taking Draper for some reason).

Loads of ducks and drapes so it hardly a big call when many say Langford won’t go past 5-6 lol

But RN he’s the one in frame and Tauru more in frame for 9 for mine.

Dattoli also outside chance as a bolter apparently alongside Allan whom we know is in frame. 

Warming to Langford now I’ve watched more film but as I have for 12m — Smilie is highest ceiling in draft, Armstrong also a huge ceiling but Jeffo Nick pre-season has our interest cooked on him despite JT infatuation. Langford’s not Smilie or Smith but he is def a bull who’ll add great depth. 

Depending what occurs picks 1-5 still think we’re a very small chance of making a surprise at 9 - but be it Viking, Allan, Dattoli, Lindsay in JT I trust..

For record, anyone thinking ANY amateur can do a better job than recruiting teams is an absolute [censored]-taker — Amatuers do work based on info out in media and small batches of footage, JT for instance spends hundreds of hours watching and interviewing the planter or coaches/family/friends of each player in their radar all in name of getting a 1% advantage of any other club!!! 

Posted
12 minutes ago, Tolstoys Nudge said:

Great points.

Jeffo is a hit for mine — jury still out of course but I expect him to deliver in spades, development been sound and the club are wrapped with how he is shaping up right now.

Hopefully - I thought a poster recently said they had feedback from one of the coaching staff that they were concerned he may never have the intensity required to make it at AFL level 

He has to make an impact this season or the alarm bells will certainly be ringing 

Posted
2 minutes ago, Tolstoys Nudge said:

Loads of ducks and drapes so it hardly a big call when many say Langford won’t go past 5-6 lol

Dattoli also outside chance as a bolter apparently alongside Allan whom we know is in frame. 

Warming to Langford now I’ve watched more film but as I have for 12m — Smilie is highest ceiling in draft, Armstrong also a huge ceiling but Jeffo Nick pre-season has our interest cooked on him despite JT infatuation. Langford’s not Smilie or Smith but he is def a bull who’ll add great depth. 

Depending what occurs picks 1-5 still think we’re a very small chance of making a surprise at 9 - but be it Viking, Allan, Dattoli, Lindsay in JT I trust..

For record, anyone thinking ANY amateur can do a better job than recruiting teams is an absolute [censored]-taker — Amatuers do work based on info out in media and small batches of footage, JT for instance spends hundreds of hours watching and interviewing the planter or coaches/family/friends of each player in their radar all in name of getting a 1% advantage of any other club!!! 

I’m still hoping we somehow land Tauru - huge upside imho 

Posted
Just now, Sydee said:

I’m still hoping we somehow land Tauru - huge upside imho 

If one of Richmond or Saints take Allan I reckon he slides to us

Something like

6 Allan

7 Smilie

8 Travaglia

9 Tauru  

Posted
33 minutes ago, Colm said:

I wonder how the club rates each player coming through each draft. Do we mark them out of a maximum score?! With a certain amount of points being available for different abilities and attributes. 
Say skill level, athletic ability, character and so on. I’m sure we must and we will never find out exactly but I’d love to know. 
Maybe a question for JT if he does the podcast again this year. 

Seems like they basically have a continual ‘best available’ board that is constantly a WIP list and then each player has a myriad of notes and ratings almost like a video game whereby each skill and intangible is rated based on actual & potential with the club having some small variation.

Think no matter what we’re getting two fins and a great JT value pick later 

Posted
23 minutes ago, Tolstoys Nudge said:

Were we ever interested in Armstrong or was that just dot connecting from people outside the club? 

Smilie I see as huge bust potential. Can he stand up to the heat against bigger bodies, not so sure. 

I do feel Langdon will be a player that people wish they drafted. He's too silky and composed to not have success. He has some Schwartz like movement, I reckon he's going to be an A grader one day and I really hope we take him! 

Posted
20 minutes ago, Tolstoys Nudge said:

Seems like they basically have a continual ‘best available’ board that is constantly a WIP list and then each player has a myriad of notes and ratings almost like a video game whereby each skill and intangible is rated based on actual & potential with the club having some small variation.

Think no matter what we’re getting two fins and a great JT value pick later 

Do you think there are alternate lists that are dependent on the choice ie if we took a Smith, the pick 9 list would be differnt than it would be had we picked Langford? 

Posted
6 minutes ago, Mouseymoo said:

Were we ever interested in Armstrong or was that just dot connecting from people outside the club? 

Smilie I see as huge bust potential. Can he stand up to the heat against bigger bodies, not so sure. 

I do feel Langdon will be a player that people wish they drafted. He's too silky and composed to not have success. He has some Schwartz like movement, I reckon he's going to be an A grader one day and I really hope we take him! 

We were left unimpressed by a couple of the meetings which occurred between Armstrong and the club. Unsure if there were other complications, such as testing results etc. 

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, djr said:

Overated in my book! What did Jason Taylor do before recruiting??

Posted
53 minutes ago, Tolstoys Nudge said:

Yes but what credentials, qualifications are required??? Cmon answer me that! 

Posted
19 minutes ago, Mouseymoo said:

JT loves Armstrong but I think the best available strategy meant he is no longer in frame — He was a bolter so ppl inside lie Cal knew we interviewed him but I Ike jest available strategy and Langford is a genuine mid-fwd with great hands and then there is the Viking, Alan, Travaglia whom all have size so I’m not glad we’re going to back ourselves for best available unlike prev years and think it’ll mean we get one star maybe even 2 when you consider JT boards from prev years were always seen to be spot-on but we’ve gone needs based and it’s hurt a little bit so let’s see.

Schwarz? Boy Let’s hope he was best player I’ve seen EVER - pre knee - he does have size and as a mid-fwd can be an immediate weapon for sure. More I look into him more he feels like our guy now that Smith is likely gone & fact our team love him boosts him up plenty in my eyes as I think we have the best in the business. Was talking to Nick Austin recently at a local footy game and he believes JT is the man RN as far as inner circles go that many look up too and rate as best track record so it’s not a lone wolf opinion.

Posted
2 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Cal just said if Crows take Langford, we'll take Tauru.

Assume then we’d still be able to get either Reid or Allen 

Personally I’d be happy with that outcome 

Posted
2 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Cal just said if Crows take Langford, we'll take Tauru.

Thanks Dazzle — Where was that? SEN or AFL?

Seems to be the consensus atm.. but I can’t see Crows not taking Draper tbh but it’d def hurt if they sneak Langford from us considering Tauru might be there at 9. I am for whatever reason convinced if we don’t get one of those top 6 mids it’s a massive bummer — maybe Smilie slides given that Q around sending up vs bigger bodies.. I’d be happy with him and Tauru but not Tauru and Allan — but I trust the team so I’ll take whatever comes albeit with a bit of ‘bugger’ short term hahaha I’ve fallen for Langford event since I heard Smith was 10% chance at best if slipping through.

Posted

Looks like a very strong consensus at least through to Richmonds picks at 10 and 11 in the AFL / Fox Sports phantoms:

1. Richmond: Lalor / Lalor

2. North: FOS / FOS

3. Carlton: Smith / Smith

4. Adelaide: Draper / Langford

5. Brisbane: Ashcroft / Ashcroft

6. MFC: Langford / Tauru

7. Richmond: Smilie / Smilie

8. Saints: Travaglia / Draper

9. GCS: Lombard / Lombard

10. Saints: Tauru / Travaglia

11. MFC: Allan / Allan

12. Richmond: Lindsay / Lindsay

13: Essendon: Kako / Kako

14: Richmond: Shanahan / Armstrong

Looks like a Langford/Tauru and Allan double for us, depending on what Adelaide do re Draper vs Langford. That pick ripples down the same top 13s and then  Richmond go for different tall forwards at 14.

Posted
7 minutes ago, picket fence said:

Yes but what credentials, qualifications are required??? Cmon answer me that! 

Mainly work ethic and judgement of character tbh mate — love of the game obviously. I know when hiring they ask loads of questions about what makes a good footballer and since Everyman and dog wants into recruitment it’s like coaching only the very very best and most committed get in. You have to be in footy circles is the key I’d say but you can’t be a [censored] it’s about being open, letting go of preconceptions, letting the data talk, reading the data, seeing the little things like footwork, technique and slotting when a player has a irredeemable flaw or a magical hidden trait helps too I imagine!

But those that STAY employed in recruitment HAVE to be good — think about how many ppl wanna get into that field? 

Posted (edited)
23 minutes ago, picket fence said:

Overated in my book! What did Jason Taylor do before recruiting??

I think he worked in Air Conditioning or something like that.

Started JT Air before working for Saints and then Pies.

Edited by Redleg

Posted
5 minutes ago, old55 said:

Looks like a very strong consensus at least through to Richmonds picks at 10 and 11 in the AFL / Fox Sports phantoms:

1. Richmond: Lalor / Lalor

2. North: FOS / FOS

3. Carlton: Smith / Smith

4. Adelaide: Draper / Langford

5. Brisbane: Ashcroft / Ashcroft

6. MFC: Langford / Tauru

7. Richmond: Smilie / Smilie

8. Saints: Travaglia / Draper

9. GCS: Lombard / Lombard

10. Saints: Tauru / Travaglia

11. MFC: Allan / Allan

12. Richmond: Lindsay / Lindsay

13: Essendon: Kako / Kako

14: Richmond: Shanahan / Armstrong

Looks like a Langford/Tauru and Allan double for us, depending on what Adelaide do re Draper vs Langford. That pick ripples down the same top 13s and then  Richmond go for different tall forwards at 14.

My Final take — If Travaglia is there at 9 he’ll be taken over Allan in my very humble opinion, if Tauru is there (won’t be) he’s the usurper. Langford/Smith available at 5 that’s who we take, w/Smith slightly ahead and def one we’d take first. Both gone (unlikely I rkn) then Tauru. 

So RN, best guess I’d say: (% likelihood)

#5: Langford 50%//Smith 35%//Tuaru 15%

#9: Travaglia 30%//Allan 25%//Reid 15%//Tauru 10%//Lindsay 10%//Other 10%

Whatever occurs — it’s a big day for the MFC 💪🏻💪🏻💪🏻

Posted
1 hour ago, BLWNBA said:

We were left unimpressed by a couple of the meetings which occurred between Armstrong and the club. Unsure if there were other complications, such as testing results etc

Very interesting, any insight into what might have transpired at these meetings? 

Posted
3 minutes ago, DubDee said:

Would Allen still be available in the teens?

Split it JT!!

I get the feeling his floor is Richmond with pick 10/11. They could jump at 6.