Tom Stewart making the team is an absolute joke. Has had an average season and Geelong’s defence has been ****house this year. I genuinely hate Harris Andrews and I’m no Weitering fan, but to have Stewart before them is ridiculous and the AA selectors are just playing favourites.

On 8/29/2023 at 5:05 PM, picket fence said:

I have Tracc and Vines being equal 1ST . Stand by for a shock... Lachie Hunter to finish 4th or 5th in Bluey IMV

Those that want Hunter dropped every second week NFI.

AA is as big a joke as the Brownlow these days.

It's all media driven, boring and cringeworthy.

9 hours ago, Bates Mate said:

So could not give a flying F about these awards anymore. Just popularity contests based on the so called experts in the media.

Good on those who are recognised but it's just not what playing footy is about. 

Spot on.

Curnow kicked 3 goals in two games against a quality full back in Steven May..  

Defensive selections dubious in the extreme with Sicily, Stewart and Moore (who is off the boil for a while) .

Andrews deserved better. But Viney missing out the worst.

Just win the flag team.

Jackson LOL. First 6 weeks the supporters wanted their money back

He had 7 games with 10 hitouts or less. Never took more than 7 marks and had limited disposals in 9 games

If that's an AA then I'm a monkeys uncle

I’m not fussed one way or the other about the AA team. Bigger fish to fry.

I do question the Jackson selection though. Watched him a lot during the death ride and he put in a lot of mediocre performances. Some standout performances for sure but if that is all that’s required I reckon Gawn more worthy of the jacket

10 hours ago, Binmans PA said:

Congrats Trac, but someone like Zach Merrett ahead of Viney? Are you [censored] kidding me?

Yep AF, a massive Congratulations to Trac. His 4th blazer got lost in the wash a bit.

Trac became the third most capped Demon ever behind Gawn (6) and Paxy (5).

Serong I can deal with. Zach Merrett? Had some ripper games but had some total honkers as well.

Daicos rover is interesting but you do need him in. From my armchair view I'd have Daicos HBF and Viney Rover but that's my fairyland opinion. 

6 hours ago, At the break of Gawn said:

Tom Stewart making the team is an absolute joke. Has had an average season and Geelong’s defence has been ****house this year. I genuinely hate Harris Andrews and I’m no Weitering fan, but to have Stewart before them is ridiculous and the AA selectors are just playing favourites.

Couldn't agree more. I'm a fan of Tom Stewart but he seems to have reached this 'gold card' AA membership status. Would have picked one of those other two for sure. 

Edited by layzie

Kyle Langford, Essendon 

23 matches this season, 51 goals, 23 behinds 
Averages 13.7 disposals, 66.9% disposal efficiency, 5.7 marks, 1.6 inside 50s, 1.3 score assists, 0.8 contested marks, 1.6 tackles and 0.9 goal assists

This was a joke surely?

Why does the team need 3 FF's and 3 FB's while they name only 1 ruck ( English)? 

Curnow, Walker and Larkey. FF's

Wilkie(wtf!), Stewart, Moore.  even Sicily? FB's

It just means very good players in other positions get denied.  e.g Rowan Marshall is a far superior player to Callum WIlkie.

Feel like they now want every team to have a player how very equitable of them. Where was that in our dark days, Nathan Jones would be a 4x AA by today’s standards 

On 8/30/2023 at 10:59 PM, fr_ap said:

It just means people don't notice how good we are anymore because they expect it, and because our contributions are very even across the side. 

And no better example of your evaluation is our defence.  The best in the league on a year to year basis and collectively, chock full of talent

Yet not one of our defence gets an AA guernsey?

So May, Lever, Rivers, Salem, McVee, Bowie & Turner (with Brayshaw helping out) go about their business with a minimum of fuss and they're not noticed? 

I'm damn sure the opposition & opposition coaches notice them

Defence wins Championships

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

Featured Content

• NON-MFC: Round 12

Round 12 kicks off with the Brisbane hosting Essendon at the Gabba as the Lions aim to solidify their top-two position against an injury-hit Bombers side seeking to maintain momentum after a win over Richmond. On Friday night it's a blockbuster at the G as the Magpies look to extend their top of the table winning streak while the Hawks strive to bounce back from a couple of recent defeats and stay in contention for the Top 4. On Saturday the Suns, buoyed by 3 wins on the trot, face the Dockers in a clash crucial for both teams' aspirations this season. The Suns want to solidify their Top 4 standing whilst the Dockers will be desperate to break into the 8.

• 3 replies
  • PREVIEW: St. Kilda

The media has performed a complete reversal in its coverage of the Melbourne Football Club over the past month and a half. Having endured intense criticism from all quarters in the press, which continually identified new avenues for scrutiny of every aspect, both on and off the field, and prematurely speculated about the departures of coaches, players, officials, and various employees from a club that lost its first five matches and appeared out of finals contention, the narrative has suddenly shifted to one of unbridled optimism.  The Demons have won five of their last six matches, positioning themselves just one game (and a considerable amount of percentage) outside the top eight at the halfway mark of the season. They still trail the primary contenders and remain far from assured of a finals berth.

• 9 replies
  • REPORT: Sydney

A few weeks ago, I visited a fellow Melbourne Football Club supporter in hospital, and our conversation inevitably shifted from his health diagnosis to the well-being of our football team. Like him, Melbourne had faced challenges in recent months, but an intervention - in his case, surgery, and in the team's case, a change in game style - had brought about much improvement.  The team's professionals had altered its game style from a pedestrian and slow-moving approach, which yielded an average of merely 60 points for five winless games, to a faster and more direct style. This shift led to three consecutive wins and a strong competitive effort in the fourth game, albeit with a tired finish against Hawthorn, a strong premiership contender.  As we discussed our team's recent health improvement, I shared my observations on the changes within the team, including the refreshed style, the introduction of new young talent, such as rising stars Caleb Windsor, Harvey Langford, and Xavier Lindsay, and the rebranding of Kozzy Pickett from a small forward to a midfield machine who can still get among the goals. I also highlighted the dominance of captain Max Gawn in the ruck and the resurgence in form in a big way of midfield superstars Christian Petracca and Clayton Oliver. 

• Love
    • 9 replies
  • PODCAST: Sydney

The Demonland Podcast will air LIVE on Monday, 26th May @ 8:00pm. Join Binman, George & I as we analyse a crushing victory by the Demons over the Swans at the G. Your questions and comments are a huge part of our podcast so please post anything you want to ask or say below and we'll give you a shout out on the show.

• 50 replies
  • POSTGAME: Sydney

The Demons controlled the contest from the outset, though inaccurate kicking kept the Swans in the game until half time. But after the break, Melbourne put on the jets and blew Sydney away and the demolition job was complete.

• Clap
    • 428 replies
  • VOTES: Sydney

Max Gawn still has an almost unassailable lead in the Demonland Player of the Year award. Jake Bowey, Christian Petracca, Harvey Langford, Kade Chandler & Ed Langdon round out the Top 5. Your votes please. 6, 5, 4, 3, 2 & 1.

• Thanks
    • 46 replies