9 hours ago, WERRIDEE said:

The players I see leaving Melbourne at the end of the year are Tomlinson, Harmes, Jordon, Hibberd and Dunstan.

Almost a rare Werridee dub. Probably Deak Smith and AMW depart too and im not convinced we'll keep Kye Turner on and if DSmith does go it wouldnt be surprised to see Hibbo/Melky dropped to the rookie list 

1 hour ago, Turner said:

Almost a rare Werridee dub. Probably Deak Smith and AMW depart too and im not convinced we'll keep Kye Turner on and if DSmith does go it wouldnt be surprised to see Hibbo/Melky dropped to the rookie list 

Reckon AMW deserves to stay on

On 7/17/2023 at 9:17 AM, whatwhat say what said:

based on what i saw his defensive workrate was one of the best for vic metro, and his i50 kicks were to the advantage of the leading forward

he didn't look as small as he did in the highlights video previously shared - i don't think he'll ever 'fill out' but his body shape reminded me a bit of dean laidley

There is a line here but I'm not sure I want to go there for fear of being attacked unmercifully by those not possessing a sense of humor.

On 7/21/2023 at 2:09 PM, Whispering_Jack said:

This is the All Australian Under 18 team from the recently completed championships ~

IMG_4032.thumb.jpeg.bf661e13899040ff35e23823b46e94f7.jpeg

We will have done well if we can draft two players from this team plus Kynan Brown as a father son.

If the Demons take at least 2 or 3 players from the 2023 Under 18 All Australian Team in this year's draft you would be pretty happy with the results.

I have faith in Jason Taylor and the MFC recruiting team.

Probably the biggest challenge is figuring out the balance of taking pure talent vs need to improve the team.

14 hours ago, WERRIDEE said:

So we have picks 4, 15, 23, 33, 51

Curtin will be pick 4 too hard to pass up on. 15 I'd go with Hardeman I think we need a running half back. 23 go with best midfielder available in Simpson. and 34 Luol. 51 Brown

The players I see leaving Melbourne at the end of the year are Tomlinson, Harmes, Jordon, Hibberd and Dunstan.

@WERRIDEEGood thoughts here. 

I think some players in mind on current picks (knowing the sudoku puzzle gets more complex as picks and players swap pre draft) … at this time given ladder position as is, the recent championships and considering the likely Academy and father son picks in the first and second rounds. 

1st round #4 (5) Coby Mckercher/ Ryley Sanders (if available) / Zane Duursma / Daniel Curtin 

1st round #15 (19) Darcy Wilson / Riley Hardeman/ Logan Morris / Joel Freijah

2nd round #23 (29) Nathan Philactides/ Archie Roberts/ Caleb Windsor / Cooper Simpson 

2nd round #33 (41) start to look at players that may drop from the above, or for a specific need (mid or player with pace, taller forward) or wildcards that JT likes to pick from his recruiting team. 

and yes hopefully grab Kynan Brown will last pick (circa 60s) or automatically in rookie draft 

Edited by spirit of norm smith
P

12 minutes ago, spirit of norm smith said:

@WERRIDEEGood thoughts here. 

I think some players in mind on current picks (knowing the sudoku puzzle gets more complex as picks and players swap pre draft) … at this time given ladder position as is, the recent championships and considering the likely Academy and father son picks in the first and second rounds. 

1st round #4 (5) Coby Mckercher/ Ryley Sanders (if available) / Zane Duursma / Daniel Curtin 

1st round #15 (19) Darcy Wilson / Riley Hardeman/ Logan Morris / Joel Freijah

2nd round #23 (29) Nathan Philactides/ Archie Roberts/ Caleb Windsor / Cooper Simpson 

2nd round #33 (41) start to look at players that may drop from the above, or for a specific need (mid or player with pace, taller forward) or wildcards that JT likes to pick from his recruiting team. 

and yes hopefully grab Kynan Brown will last pick (circa 60s) or automatically in rookie draft 

We won’t have that many list spots available unless we do a big cull, which seems unlikely. If we can’t package picks up to get a high first rounder (think trading pick 15 and both second rounders for Gold Coast pick 5 as they need more points for 3 academy bids), then we’ll likely trade out both our second round picks for future picks or slight upgrades.

We’ll likely take 3 players at drafts. Ideally two first rounders and a late pick for Kynan Brown.

Thanks @Lord Travis  I agree maybe only the 3 picks.  But also thinking there may be 4 or potentially 5 list spots opening , with potential departure of guys like (retirement) BBB, Hibbo, or even Melksham or (looking elsewhere) JJ, Tomlinson, Harmesy or Laurie.  

6 minutes ago, spirit of norm smith said:

Thanks @Lord Travis  I agree maybe only the 3 picks.  But also thinking there may be 4 or potentially 5 list spots opening , with potential departure of guys like (retirement) BBB, Hibbo, or even Melksham or (looking elsewhere) JJ, Tomlinson, Harmesy or Laurie.  

Perhaps a player or two might come in via trade?

24 minutes ago, Nascent said:

Perhaps a player or two might come in via trade?

Any whispers as yet? Any one you think would be a big in ? (I know you’d wouldn’t mention but please not Ben King please not) 

9 minutes ago, spirit of norm smith said:

Any whispers as yet? Any one you think would be a big in ? (I know you’d wouldn’t mention but please not Ben King please not) 

I have zero Intel sadly. Just trawl the footy forums like most here. @Chook in Perth is the poster to listen to but don't think they visit this site much these days.

There are others here with seemingly good Intel as well but doubt much would get leaked re trade and draft targets just yet.

6 hours ago, Nascent said:

I have zero Intel sadly. Just trawl the footy forums like most here. @Chook in Perth is the poster to listen to but don't think they visit this site much these days.

There are others here with seemingly good Intel as well but doubt much would get leaked re trade and draft targets just yet.

Maybe Liam Henry (Freo) out of contract 

7 hours ago, spirit of norm smith said:

Brown, Tomlinson, Harmes & Laurie are contracted so they'd need to be traded or paid out.

Good interview with Ryley Sanders on Gettable - he seems very level headed and switched on. I got the impression that he's enthusiastic about going to North via their Academy play, and he also said it would be great if he and fellow Tasmanian Colby McKercher can end up at the same AFL club - maybe an indicator that North might draft him?  Would be a big investment to go for both Tasmanians with the new club starting in 2028.

12 minutes ago, old55 said:

Good interview with Ryley Sanders on Gettable - he seems very level headed and switched on. I got the impression that he's enthusiastic about going to North via their Academy play, and he also said it would be great if he and fellow Tasmanian Colby McKercher can end up at the same AFL club - maybe an indicator that North might draft him?  Would be a big investment to go for both Tasmanians with the new club starting in 2028.

Big investment, but also classic North.

Maybe not the right place to ask but is there some kind of chart for last year's draft that shows the % of players drafted from certain leagues? Eg. Coates, VFL listed, VAFA, Academy etc.

On 7/13/2023 at 12:44 AM, JimmyGadson said:

Disagree. 

We don't need another Petracca. Or Oliver. We have no issue winning contest. We have issues post contest. Namely, smart ball use and great decision makers. 

And I disagree that Trac is a match winner. 

Dusty in his prime was a match winner. He had elite finishing skills and would win games off his own boot. Petracca influences games due to his powerful contest work, but he doesn't win games off his own boot. 

For us to go all in on Reid would be stupid given the amount of quality we could land using the picks we'd be giving up. 

Hate to tell you, he was the primary reason we ended up winning the grand final.