View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

To me big negatives include

- statue on mark rule, with 50 meter penalty

- the rolling 50 meter penalty - just causes confusion

- nominated ruck - just ball it up and if the teams can't work out who goes up for them, then ping them

- and the worst, any prospect at all of having an uneven number of clubs.  IF TAS is viable then have the courage to relocate North (or Saints or Hawks) .  The schedule (quaintly referred to a the draw) is unfair enough already - having some teams with an extra bye especially in round 1 or 2, or 22 or 23, with the prefianls bye is just grossly inequitable.   Cannot be made remotely fair.

I reckon developing the AFLW has been a real positive of his time at the helm

I'm excited to see where it will be in another 8 years

On 4/12/2022 at 7:56 PM, Demonstone said:

Given that nearly every other sporting organisation managed the same feat, I don't see it as extraordinary.

There is one glaring omission - The AFLW didn’t complete.

So it’s a kind of paradox of quantum superposition given that this argument both proves and disproves Gil’s value.

BBE94B6F-BC73-45BA-8464-84057FC3072C.thumb.jpeg.f39c4aac2ca000b3c0af210e53ab6b86.jpeg

…and if Goodie says it is so, it is so!

PS: no, I don’t have brekky beers. That there’s a lil life hack for y’all: keep your coffee hot with a stubbie-holder. 
You’re welcome. ✌️

20 minutes ago, WalkingCivilWar said:

BBE94B6F-BC73-45BA-8464-84057FC3072C.thumb.jpeg.f39c4aac2ca000b3c0af210e53ab6b86.jpeg

…and if Goodie says it is so, it is so!

PS: no, I don’t have brekky beers. That there’s a lil life hack for y’all: keep your coffee hot with a stubbie-holder. 
You’re welcome. ✌️

The best bit is Goodwin saying he is close to signing a contract extension...had to put on my xray vision glasses to look throught the purple thingy...

20 minutes ago, Lucifers Hero said:

The best bit is Goodwin saying he is close to signing a contract extension...had to put on my xray vision glasses to look throught the purple thingy...

I’m amazed I managed to read any of it such was my reaction when I saw the accompanying pic! While not one given to OTT emotion (🤥) I was dealing with the old lump in the throat thing when I saw Tracc’s face. ❤️💙

48538C57-E3D0-44A2-A493-41F645E7C386.thumb.jpeg.748f8ac40680a02143931b5c043a8a96.jpeg

Never.Gets.Old.Ever.EVER.

Edited by WalkingCivilWar
Forgot to attach the pic coz me (ever forgetful)

6 minutes ago, WalkingCivilWar said:

I’m amazed I managed to read any of it such was my reaction when I saw the accompanying pic! While not one given to OTT emotion (🤥) I was dealing with the old lump in the throat thing when I saw Tracc’s face. ❤️💙

48538C57-E3D0-44A2-A493-41F645E7C386.thumb.jpeg.748f8ac40680a02143931b5c043a8a96.jpeg

Never.Gets.Old.Ever.EVER.

That is a pathetically contrived, tortuous headline, though.

Has the King no clothes?

The first shot from the clubs.....

“You can’t rule from the grave and things should not be enshrined in contracts that the next CEO has to deal with. A departing CEO is a caretaker and should not be making all the major decisions.”

Sydney chairman Andrew Pridham has taken aim at the game’s new floating fixture and voiced fears that AFL chief Gillon McLachlan will prioritise a rich new broadcast deal over the interests of supporters and clubs as he departs the top job.

Pridham urged McLachlan not to enshrine the floating fixture – a legacy of the COVID-19 pandemic – in the next media agreement, saying “if you want crowds to be record crowds, you want to make it as easy as possible to go to the football and they [the AFL] are not making it easy.

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/you-can-t-rule-from-the-grave-club-boss-fixture-warning-to-mclachlan-20220415-p5adpo.html

15 hours ago, Diamond_Jim said:

Has the King no clothes?

The first shot from the clubs.....

“You can’t rule from the grave and things should not be enshrined in contracts that the next CEO has to deal with. A departing CEO is a caretaker and should not be making all the major decisions.”

Sydney chairman Andrew Pridham has taken aim at the game’s new floating fixture and voiced fears that AFL chief Gillon McLachlan will prioritise a rich new broadcast deal over the interests of supporters and clubs as he departs the top job.

Pridham urged McLachlan not to enshrine the floating fixture – a legacy of the COVID-19 pandemic – in the next media agreement, saying “if you want crowds to be record crowds, you want to make it as easy as possible to go to the football and they [the AFL] are not making it easy.

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/you-can-t-rule-from-the-grave-club-boss-fixture-warning-to-mclachlan-20220415-p5adpo.html

I could not agree more. If it gets to hard to plan a trip to a game you just give up. 

There will be some serious backroom discussions over this appointment.

The power clubs will want an administrator not an all powerful CEO.

If a Gil type is appointed for the next ten odd years the role of the clubs will be reduced to that of passive participants.

Not that the power clubs would do a better job but there's a lot of egos involved

On 4/14/2022 at 7:11 AM, WalkingCivilWar said:

You’re welcome. ✌️

Ironic that my life-hack is having brekky beers along with my coffee. :P

On 4/16/2022 at 2:08 PM, old dee said:

I could not agree more. If it gets to hard to plan a trip to a game you just give up. 

Is the floating fixture combined with inconsistent starting times a reason for poorer attendances? I'd like to say so, but that could just be confirmation bias on my part.

One thing to keep in mind is that hard core footy followers keep a track of what's going on with their team. Similarly, football media, because it's their job, know what's going on. It's the occasional footy goer who might be finding it all a bit too hard at the moment to keep track of when and where their team is playing. 

As to Andrew Pridham's point, I disagree. The CEO is the CEO until he leaves. He needs to make decisions until the day he's out the door.