Posted
7 hours ago, Rusty Nails said:

With the talk of (just a few examples)...

• Hunt missing an opportunity to pull up and go lateral following his run through the middle on Sat evening
  • Lever also ignoring / not seeing an option or two out wide to his left with a few minutes to go and maintain possession / try to ice the clock but instead taking the safe, but IMHO, incorrect down the line bail out which then turned over and came straight back for a goal.
  • Tracc continually mucking so many entries and opportunities coming inside 50 and burning team mates / the team so often
  • Viney, while i didn't pay much attention on Sat evening, appeared to have a couple of clean exits from center / stoppages and had opportunities to hit up players inside 50 or at least kick to their favoured side but failed badly; and
  • Lingers constantly bombing to the hot zone without seemingly being aware or capable of hitting up anyone loose i50 or kicking to their favoured side very often or at best on rare occasions...

I figured it was appropriate to re visit this analysis from a much more learned scribe in Gazza.  While i've no doubt many players from other teams also suffer in this regard, especially when placed under serious pressure, is this yet again becoming an issue for some (or too many) Demons?  When i re-read this analysis it still has some eerily similar examples to what we are seeing of late.  Our ability to assess and select the correct play ie; slow (possession/momentum/icing the clock) vs go quick option, go lateral vs down the line from HB (Lever), take the shot from 45/50 instead of trying to thread the needle (Tracc) or taking the % option vs forcing a 45 kick etc.

So is the red mist (inability to quickly assess but instead panic under perceived or genuine pressure, scoreboard pressure), still a default for some in our group when they feel the heat?  If so, is this fixable or is it too ingrained in said players and they are doomed to rinse and repeat!  Is the club aware of it?  Does it matter or am i beating this up too much?

Thoughts.....

https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/afl-2020-melbourne-problems-analysis-demons-on-the-couch-garry-lyon-red-mist-bad-kicking-playing-too-fast/news-story/8350ba20fe8a6cdc618b51cae33c412f

Lurve this

Posted
5 hours ago, rjay said:

Pretty much all footy commentary is reactionary and short term.

Gary is the epitome of this type of commentary and it's why I take little notice of what he says.

I didn't hear Leppitsch this week but he usually has a better take.

I do agree with '@JimmyGadson' above...if we bring the heat so far we've come out on top.

Let's see what happens over the rest of the season.

I'm not buying into mist...red or otherwise.

Thank goodness Gary never coached us. Dodged a bullet there. I'm only interested in what Daisy thinks. 

Posted

We have a mental block against the weaker teams. Nothing to do with their intensity or game plan or our "red mist"

System and intensity. we play our roles and bring the heat no one can live with us. I reckon we'll see it again on Saturday night.

And kicking straight helps a lot as well.

Posted (edited)
3 hours ago, CYB said:

Are we talking about footy? When reading this post my eyes were drwan towards "aroused ' and my ability to focus similarly dropped off ?

Deleted. 

too naughty. 

Edited by McQueen
Posted
1 hour ago, picket fence said:

Lurve this

Hey PF.. .. I'm lovin' your new wheels mate!...

20210709_093247.thumb.jpg.3f165a5875d7ebd4fb2456486d25ad08.jpg

Posted
4 hours ago, CYB said:

setup structurally to force the dumb kick and burn teams on turnover.

Serious question… I always thought it was dump kick. What do others think the term is?

Posted
16 hours ago, adonski said:

Simply adopt the 2018 game plan of having 2 blokes by themselves in the goal square at all times for cheapies when playing the bottom 4 sides

There is something in this!! I really believe Goodwin goes into games against lower sides with too a defensive setup and it costs us

Got to trust the midfield to win the ball in these circumstances and open the game up forward and pile on the goals

Just a thought

Posted

Our lack of composure and that we didn't slow the game down in the last 5 minutes stood out to me and what I took away from the match. I don't read to much into it as it is only 1 game and I'm sure the team will address it. I felt we were pretty fortunate to get the draw (compared to a loss it provides a buffer for our % against Doggies and Geelong. and from this perspective is almost worth as much as a win).

Posted
20 hours ago, Fanatique Demon said:

Serious question… I always thought it was dump kick. What do others think the term is?

Thought it was dump as well

Posted (edited)
On 7/21/2021 at 3:02 PM, adonski said:

Simply adopt the 2018 game plan of having 2 blokes by themselves in the goal square at all times for cheapies when playing the bottom 4 sides

Don't mind this also ?

The other option is to add an extra or even two at stoppages between the square and lateral of it.  Very much on the outside looking for the receive with say one free and another covering any +1 if the opp are using.  Otherwise two are free.

One covers the defensive sweeper role to prevent opp mids from running straight out of stoppage towards goal and/or to try and get on the end of an opp dump kicking / handballing under pressure in panic (or as part of their game style a la the Tigers / Cats) and another on the fat side outer ring looking for the receive to run it through the middle & directly inside 50 opening up the entire ground for leading forwards.  Fat side extra can also cover that outlet where teams like the Hawks and Tigers love to handball / short kick to into the fat side if we don't win the clearance.

Leave at least two forwards playing a kick or thereabouts behind (this might be the square or near it depending on where the stoppage is but also higher as they follow each stoppage up the field) and the remaining two about half a kick from stoppage looking for the dump kick under pressure.

Posted
On 7/21/2021 at 2:44 PM, Ethan Trembley said:

Doesn’t red mist mean ‘a feeling of extreme anger’? 

That describes the fans’ general feeling after the Hawks Gane