Posted (edited)
On 5/30/2021 at 10:17 AM, george_on_the_outer said:

The biggest story in the past 100 years in the AFL ( the Essendon saga) was broken and reported on by John Pierik and Michael Gleeson at the Age.  Caro was head of Age football reporting at the time, and didn't write a single line about it. 

Her source at the AFL was Demetriou and he was trying to push it under the carpet, so no mention from Caro. 

Journalist?  No...... Pierik and Gleeson are journalists. 

On 5/30/2021 at 10:39 AM, Lord Nev said:

This is just simply incorrect.

"Indeed, Wilson was so insistent on uncovering the drugs program at Essendon that Hird’s daughter, Stephanie, wrote her en email begging her to stop."

Fox Footy’s Open Mike: Caroline Wilson talks about James Hird, Essendon drugs scandal, The Footy Show

From The Age...

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/essendon-shuffle-deckchairs-as-damage-from-drug-scandal-continues-20150810-givmd2.html

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/essendon-cas-verdict-the-whatifs-that-haunt-the-bombers-20160112-gm3zu3.html

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/admission-may-have-saved-hirds-mates-20130814-2rwxr.html

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/essendon-drug-scandal-port-adelaide-to-ask-for-compensation-if-players-are-suspended-20150330-1mb6wp.html

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/jake-carlisle-links-drug-use-with-essendon-supplements-trauma-20160321-gnn574.html

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/james-hirds-distorted-thinking-evident-once-again-as-wada-appeals-essendon-decision-20150512-gh01xv.html

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/afl-warned-hird-against-peptides-20130716-2q2ih.html

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/bombers-injected-with-mystery-mexican-substance-20130814-2rx6m.html

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/worksafe-victoria-charge-essendon-football-club-20151109-gku1kv.html

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/essendon-continues-to-duck-for-cover-20140707-zsz9w.html

And of course:

"James Hird oversaw the most catastrophic period in Essendons history"

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/james-hird-oversaw-the-most-catastrophic-period-in-essendons-history-20150818-gj24bw.html

Agree, LN. She’s Public Enemy No.1 (or thereabouts, in a long list) in the Hird camp. 

It’s quite apposite that her podcast is called “Don’t Shoot the Messenger”. Does a good job. 

Edited by Tim

Posted
3 hours ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

Daisy Pearce is definitely not a journalist. She's a midwife who commentates occasionally at football matches. Journalism is much more than that.

And I can't think of one journalist who "hates" Melbourne (or any other team). 

She is frequently on SEN as a journalist, discussing football both men’s and women’s.  She also has long discussions with Whately. Don’t be so disdainful of midwives! They aid the delivery of babies under difficult circumstances in hospital and in people’s homes. They do a great job. Many journalists have other jobs. What pray tell is your definition of a journalist? Have a listen to Dermott Bretton some time. He hates Melbourne with a passion.

Posted

I think we'll have to agree to disagree. In my view, a journalist is a professional occupation which requires formal quals (or relevant experience over many years) and an understanding of concepts such as public interest, ethics and protection of sources. A part-time sports commentator can be a journalist, but most are not. Dermott Brereton and Daisy are definitely not journalists under my definition.

we're not the only ones who disagree. The definition of "journalist" is a sensitive legal area right now. Just ask Julian Assange or those wishing to extradite him to the US.

Posted

Caroline Wilson blends opinion-based writing with investigative journalism, which blurs the line between rhetoric and fact, and is the reason many people find her and much of contemporary Australian media so antagonising. The righteousness and often innuendo in her reporting isn't befitting of a balanced journalist, as the story should really speak for itself..   

Posted
44 minutes ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

I think we'll have to agree to disagree. In my view, a journalist is a professional occupation which requires formal quals (or relevant experience over many years) and an understanding of concepts such as public interest, ethics and protection of sources. A part-time sports commentator can be a journalist, but most are not. Dermott Brereton and Daisy are definitely not journalists under my definition.

we're not the only ones who disagree. The definition of "journalist" is a sensitive legal area right now. Just ask Julian Assange or those wishing to extradite him to the US.

Am glad you added the rider of experience. And agree there is a big difference between commentator and journalist.

While I would agree no-one really hates Melbourne, Journalists are grudge holders on a par with politicians and have seen alot of unprofessional behaviour from that cadre, that has at times potted Melbourne as a consequence.

Posted
On 6/4/2021 at 5:34 PM, DEE fence said:

Am glad you added the rider of experience. And agree there is a big difference between commentator and journalist.

While I would agree no-one really hates Melbourne, Journalists are grudge holders on a par with politicians and have seen alot of unprofessional behaviour from that cadre, that has at times potted Melbourne as a consequence.

Thousands of journalists have zero professional qualifications. They have secured a job to sell the news. That’s all. They don’t tell the truth unless it sells the ‘news’. A journalist is someone who verbally or in writing provides a commentary on current events. That may include some ‘analysis’ which is often just opinion based on their personal allegiances or personal biases. 

Posted

What professional qualification does Caroline Wilson have? She was the daughter of a Richmond administrator. Does she have a bachelors degree in journalism? 

Posted
3 hours ago, Antioch said:

What professional qualification does Caroline Wilson have? She was the daughter of a Richmond administrator. Does she have a bachelors degree in journalism? 

Do Walkley awards count?

Also, yes, she has journalism qualifications and even did a proper cadetship.

Any other people covering AFL who you need to know about?

Posted (edited)
6 hours ago, Antioch said:

There is zero difference between a ‘commentator’ and a journalist.

You either work at the Hun or for Murdoch in some capacity, or don't know many. Good and bad everywhere, including in the 4th estate. But the good journalists I know make a point of checking facts, and getting a comment from both sides. Commentators are paid for an opinion, pretty easy gig I always thought. I also don't give a fig about a bachelors or other professional qualifications. Never have I seen a degree of any kind make someone more honest. I actually find the concept insulting. There was this idea circulating that if cops had degrees, they would be more honest in the 90's, absolute crock.

Edited by DEE fence
Spelling
Posted
On 6/4/2021 at 4:10 PM, Antioch said:

She is frequently on SEN as a journalist, discussing football both men’s and women’s.  She also has long discussions with Whately. Don’t be so disdainful of midwives! They aid the delivery of babies under difficult circumstances in hospital and in people’s homes. They do a great job. Many journalists have other jobs. What pray tell is your definition of a journalist? Have a listen to Dermott Bretton some time. He hates Melbourne with a passion.

Ant what is your beef about Daisy's real career being mentioned? It was not disparaging. compare  that to say an AFL when Bailey Fritsch joined us he was a tradie Jay Lockhart similar but no one would accuse like you have.

Fact is Daisy is NOT a journalist She is a commentator ( You are demeaning the careers of Journslists with Daisy)

Yes Mick McGuane writes fir the HuN but really is he a journalist technically YES but not trained. 

You are calling all the ex players who commentate journalists and that is incorrect Detmie  a journalist ! Give us a break!!

Discussions don't qualify as journalism in any capacity It's a writing skill that good journalists like Caro are trained for. For years.sometimes. 

Sorry but there is a tangible difference and you should be made aware of it. 

Posted

To people who question Caro's sources and integrity. 

From a footy journo mate of mine.

Posted
On 5/30/2021 at 11:36 AM, Antioch said:

I do not believe Caroline Wilson is a good journalist. She is far too biased. She is a one-eyed Richmond supporter and absolutely hates MFC. She has demonstrated these biases on multiple occasions. She also often appears to make stuff up and calls it “sources say xyz” or some such drivel.

Daisy Pearce is far, far better and not just because she’s one of ours. She’s smart and emotionally intelligent as well.

Sometimes, however I do agree with Caroline Wilson, and she was fair and correct in her assessment of the recent assault in a nightclub case. They should have walked away. 

Completely different roles with only one thing in common…

Daisy is a special comments person that I agree is very knowledgeable.

Caro is a journo on the behind the scenes aspects of the game and she rarely makes comment on the on field aside from straightforward judgements of form and competitiveness.  

There are many worse journos who can barely string a sentence together, who don’t apply any thought to the humdrum questions they put people through. 

Posted
On 6/5/2021 at 9:47 PM, Antioch said:

Thousands of journalists have zero professional qualifications. They have secured a job to sell the news. That’s all. They don’t tell the truth unless it sells the ‘news’. A journalist is someone who verbally or in writing provides a commentary on current events. That may include some ‘analysis’ which is often just opinion based on their personal allegiances or personal biases. 

They're not journalists, they're "reporters"