On 13/06/2018 at 13:34, DeeSpencer said:

There were some things that troubled me deeply about Monday.

I've done my spiel on Lewis.
I'll add a few others:
- Daniher's speech to the players going public, I didn't like that, I would like to see that kept behind closed doors
- Goodwin's ski clothes - mocking his own members
- Collingwood playing for a guy with MND far more than we were playing for Neale
- Good players unable to deal with big game pressure
- A team built for one particular style and light on for defensive substance across all 3 areas of the field

I still think we have a long way to go in building the club and team that has an identity to draw on. Maybe the team finds it's identity and the club then swings in to gear. That seemed to happen with Richmond and the Dogs, from almost nowhere the team is winning and the club has a great feel to it. The Dogs have now completely lost that by the way.

Nath Jones' 250th was a nice club moment, we need to keep that stuff rolling. I'd like to see Goodwin be less clinical and more emotional and I'd like to see a bit less 'brand' and bit more 'club'.

This.

this "brand" business is ?‍♂️

There were some things that troubled me deeply about Monday.

I've done my spiel on Lewis.
I'll add a few others:
- Daniher's speech to the players going public, I didn't like that, I would like to see that kept behind closed doors
- Collingwood playing for a guy with MND far more than we were playing for Neale
- Good players unable to deal with big game pressure
- A team built for one particular style and light on for defensive substance across all 3 areas of the field

I still think we have a long way to go in building the club and team that has an identity to draw on. Maybe the team finds it's identity and the club then swings in to gear. That seemed to happen with Richmond and the Dogs, from almost nowhere the team is winning and the club has a great feel to it. The Dogs have now completely lost that by the way.

Nath Jones' 250th was a nice club moment, we need to keep that stuff rolling. I'd like to see Goodwin be less clinical and more emotional and I'd like to see a bit less 'brand' and bit more 'club'.

Rough week, Dee?  It seems like you're clutching at as many straws as possible to be negative about Monday in as many ways as you can.  Examples:

- The club has always shown the speech, or at least some of it, that Daniher gives to the players.  Did you complain about it last year?  Probably not as we won.  But now that we've lost it's a point of contention?  Please.

- Goodwin wasn't mocking members, he was mocking the stereotype.  We all hate it, and for the slide he embraced it.  I didn't realise we needed to get the fun police out for this one.

- A total assumption that Collingwood played for Neale.  How do you know this?  Again, clutching at straws.

- And we have very good defensive substance.  We've seen it action plenty of times this season.  The loss of our general, Jake Lever, will impact on this until we can settle again.

I don't know why this game has gotten to you so much, but the only thing I agree on above is that we wilted under the pressure of a big game.  It's happened a few times (and a few times we've stood up over the last 18 months) and no doubt it needs to be addressed.  But the rest, in my opinion, is you acting like a petulant child and throwing your toys out of the cot.

The order of these things is always, the winning comes first, and the jostling to explain the "identity" or the "brand" comes later.

Everything is contingent on winning. We used to be accused of "not standing for anything". What do Melbourne stand for? The question is completely meaningless. It is code for they are contemptible losers.

Now the question isn't asked of us, it's asked of Brisbane and GCS. What changed? The winning.

As an example of the retro-fitting of "brands", the Tigers are the current premiers, so everything they do is automatically the best, and they are invincible. A year before it was the Dogs. Apparently the Dogs were invincible all through 2016 even though they finished 7th on the ladder. Now, because they're losing, they are in disarray and soon will be accused of not standing for anything.

TL,DNR: winning cures everything. "Brands" and "identities" takes care of themselves, afterwards.

I'd like to see Goodwin be less clinical and more emotional and I'd like to see a bit less 'brand' and bit more 'club'.

You will find that his more clinical and less emotional ways magically become virtues as we win more. The winning makes it "the brand". "Super cool coach Goodwin can't be shaken by outside distractions", "unflappable ice man Goodwin", etc.

It's outside yours, mine, the clubs control. If you win, a narrative is made up about you and that becomes your brand.

On 13/06/2018 at 22:11, Wiseblood said:

Rough week, Dee?  It seems like you're clutching at as many straws as possible to be negative about Monday in as many ways as you can.  Examples:

- The club has always shown the speech, or at least some of it, that Daniher gives to the players.  Did you complain about it last year?  Probably not as we won.  But now that we've lost it's a point of contention?  Please.

- Goodwin wasn't mocking members, he was mocking the stereotype.  We all hate it, and for the slide he embraced it.  I didn't realise we needed to get the fun police out for this one.

- A total assumption that Collingwood played for Neale.  How do you know this?  Again, clutching at straws.

- And we have very good defensive substance.  We've seen it action plenty of times this season.  The loss of our general, Jake Lever, will impact on this until we can settle again.

I don't know why this game has gotten to you so much, but the only thing I agree on above is that we wilted under the pressure of a big game.  It's happened a few times (and a few times we've stood up over the last 18 months) and no doubt it needs to be addressed.  But the rest, in my opinion, is you acting like a petulant child and throwing your toys out of the cot.

I think Dee was talking about the Magpie supporter in the wheelchair. The ex Fireman that has MND

This thread confirms to me that it was a good idea to switch off Demonland for a few days after the loss lest I make a grade A d-head of myself.

On 13/06/2018 at 23:02, Colin B. Flaubert said:

This thread confirms to me that it was a good idea to switch off Demonland for a few days after the loss lest I make a grade A d-head of myself.

I've deliberately kept a wide berth of this place since Monday until now...

Like you, it seems I was wise. 

What a ridiculously negative thread after 1 loss in 7 games. Absurd. 

On 13/06/2018 at 23:01, Docs Demons said:

I think Dee was talking about the Magpie supporter in the wheelchair. The ex Fireman that has MND

Yes, you're correct there.  My mistake.  Still, I don't think they were playing just for him.

Take a deep breath and stay off DL for a week. Your comments are beyond ridiculous. As others have said, you are clutching at every straw possible to be as negative as possible about Monday.

In fact, you having a go at Simon for "mocking our supporters" may just be the dumbest thing I've read on DL - and after a decade of reading comments here through some of our darkest times, that's pretty damn impressive.

To the well rounded people here - Monday was pretty average, but how good is it going into the bye 8-4! I'll back us to respond well against Port for sure. I'm sure the players are burning up inside right now. 

On 13/06/2018 at 12:13, Deemented Are Go! said:

Well that’s a bit boring, I reckon the all-suffering Dees supporter would need something a little stronger.

“...uppers, downers, screamers, laughers...”

A decent glass of Talisker with two ice cubes per pour is strongly recommended for all occasions.

On 13/06/2018 at 23:27, Wiseblood said:

Yes, you're correct there.  My mistake.  Still, I don't think they were playing just for him.

True. They were just to good on the day. Let's hope we get another chance at them IN FINALS.

On 14/06/2018 at 00:23, timbo said:

Balvenie please

Nope, Talisker is my clan scotch, from the Isle of Skye. Thus, genertically linked to its absorption and sensitised to its perfect effects. Plus, I bloody well love it and it is so much more available, these days. It's like barracking for a football club: loyalty, expectation, enjoyment, heaps of pleasure ... no need to go on?

Pretty sure Goodwin said a number of times in interviews that the costume was left up to the supporters to chose, so we are basically mocking ourselves.

Even if we had gone on an Essendon 2000 run and lost in the last round, someone would still come out and say our season's over. 

On 13/06/2018 at 10:14, deefella said:

I will stand by my post earlier in the year we still will not make finals again. Again we have crucial Injuries to key personal, the stars again seem not to be aligning for us.... just like since 1964.

Another silly Darwin game in smack bang in the middle of Winter will kill us more than we think. I smell another burnt out like last year and in 2016. I can’t see us winning many games to finish off the year.

Its astonishing, how a club can stuff up so much and continue to be laughing stock.

Until this club decides like Geelong did in 2007 to mean something and change, its the MFC of old.

I think it has become one of the great myths that Geelong just magically flicked a switch and created a dynasty in 2007.

In 2004 and 2005 that group played finals and won two finals across the two years. The group had a shocker in 2006 and 2007 was a rebound from that but a lot of that group had finals experience and the club had been through a sustained period of making, playing in and winning finals. 

For all the hype about the talent on our list and how good we look when we play our best our club hadn’t made finals in 12 years, only one player on our list has played in finals in the past 5 years and none of our young group has had regular experience in pressure cooker games. Things like Queens birthday will happen, our main concern should be winning enough to make finals so our young group can build their experience. From there who knows we could pull off a Bulldogs or a Richmond? But Geelong in 2007 was built on the back of years of grind not a magical switch flick.

From here, lose to Port and we’re back with the pack, beat Port and we’re four wins from finals with games against St Kilda, Freo, Gold Coast and the Bulldogs in the second half of our year. It’s not all doom and gloom, we could’ve set our season up against the pies and it was bitterly dissappointing but unless we lose to St Kilda in 3 weeks time we’re on track to improve on last year and make finals.

On 13/06/2018 at 10:14, deefella said:

I will stand by my post earlier in the year we still will not make finals again. Again we have crucial Injuries to key personal, the stars again seem not to be aligning for us.... just like since 1964.

Another silly Darwin game in smack bang in the middle of Winter will kill us more than we think. I smell another burnt out like last year and in 2016. I can’t see us winning many games to finish off the year.

Its astonishing, how a club can stuff up so much and continue to be laughing stock.

Until this club decides like Geelong did in 2007 to mean something and change, its the MFC of old.

I wouldn't want to be at any Melbourne game with you.  You must be one miserable SOD!  Are you sure you are not a CLOSET COLLINGWOOD SUPPORTER?           Pity.

Deefella you can stand by your post as many times as you like, the reality of it is that you’re just having a Tantrum in the Supermarket aisle with your mummy. 

[censored] just didn’t work out the way you wanted it too

On 13/06/2018 at 22:11, Wiseblood said:

I'm actually not all that negative about Monday or where the club is at. I just think we need to keep making some big strides. Climbing back out of the dungeon we were in has been a mighty effort but if we don't keep making big progress things will stall.

I get what Goodwin was doing but I didn't like it. The best thing he can do to represent the club is bring up a bad stereotype? There's nothing else he could find? I fear there's still an absence of solid Melbourne people in and around the team. Goodwin is very keen on a new era to distance the team from the failures of the recent past, I get that, but the best clubs are supported by their history. Roos manufactured the 'bloods' culture for the Swans, who hadn't been at South Melbourne for decades. Against good teams this year we have been a very passive team. No aggression against Hawthorn, Rich or Collingwood. 

Collingwood were certainly playing for the fireman. You can't manufacture those kinds of stories but they are what footy clubs should be about.

I'm not convinced by any part of our defensive set ups. Our forward pressure has been lousy all year. Look at the number of forward 50 tackles we have every week. Bugg had a good game, Garlett one good game in Brisbane, otherwise it's a lot of ordinary pressure. Lazy kick in defending as well. The midfield spread still isn't up to scratch, it was better than the first month but took a step backwards on the weekend. And Lever wouldn't have done anything against the Pies. He would've been a deer in the headlights with the way the ball was coming in. Unfortunately none of the defenders could do much at all under pressure.