Posted

Lol this is a joke. Has the AFL jumped the shark? 

Please don't play Petracca tomorrow, a serious injury in this less than Mickey Mouse comp would plunge me in to an irretrievable bout of MFCSS.

Posted
12 minutes ago, Dappa Dan said:

Looked good Jack. As did Dom Barry with his speed. Toumps was Toumps.

Slow, uncoordinated, with no awareness?

This style of game certainly does not feel like the "footy is back"

Posted

Loved the stadium commentary and the flashing goal posts.  If only they'd add soem clowns and trapeze artists and a few lions and elephants I'd forget normal AFL, this is unmissable. 

Posted
1 minute ago, faultydet said:

Slow, uncoordinated, with no awareness?

This style of game certainly does not feel like the "footy is back"

Yeah nah. The players have to care for it to be interesting. I feel like it might be good to see some skilled players do their thing once we see red and blue. But that's not really footy either, just skill. You probably see more valuable things in any regular training session.

And yeah, Toumps just looked a touch slow to the punch the whole time.

Posted
Just now, sue said:

Loved the stadium commentary and the flashing goal posts.  If only they'd add soem clowns and trapeze artists and a few lions and elephants I'd forget normal AFL, this is unmissable. 

Anything to distract the spectators from what is happening on the field 

The only redeeming part so far is listening to the boofhead commentators having to say "Zooper" goal with a straight face. Oh and also having to act like "Lehmo" is not a [censored].

Posted

I'll say one thing for the AFL, at least they're able to attract the big name sponsors even to this bastardised version of a preseason game. I mean who would've thought we'd see the day when a global brand like Zooper Doopers would be sponsoring our home grown game.

Posted

I mean the idea is ok but the AFL can't claim it as original. Pretty sure I saw the same thing in the cinemas 20 years ago only it had those guys from South Park in it 

Posted (edited)

I like that the AFL are doing things to vary the game and bring interest into it T20 style... From what I've seen though, I wouldn't be surprised if we never saw AFLX again once this is done.

Edited by Dappa Dan

Posted

JB and BT are trying so hard to talk it up, but even the players seem like its nothing more than a drill.

The crowd is dead and judging by the feedback, I cant see this coming back to TV.

Posted
On 14/02/2018 at 1:24 PM, hardtack said:

I love the way people dismiss this without having actually seen the game being played. 

Sure it's not the real thing, but who cares... it may still be an entertaining event and it will, if nothing else, give us a bit of a look at some of the skills that the likes of Baker, Spargo and Fritch are bringing to the club.

I'm no fan of rugby league or union, but the stripped down versions (7's) of their games are very watchable.

I’ve seen a quarter. I’m about ready to watch darts instead. 

May have fallen into a coma there at one stage. Soooooo dull!

Posted

For a game built around fast ball movement and high scoring, this is amazingly...well...boring.

Part of what makes AFL (the original format) great to watch is the build-up and tension created before and after each goal. The excitement of kicking a goal is non existent in this format as play resumes immediately after each score. There's no opportunity to breathe and reflect on what's happened.

Also, I can't say that the BT and JB commentary combo is doing much to boost my enthusiasm.

Posted

Thats it for me. I can see this working as a indoor cricket alternative style game, but as a televised game its boring as hell.

Big no from me.

Posted
12 minutes ago, Jack son 5 said:

Most are bagging it, but 90% of the posters here will watch it tomorrow night.

Doesn't mean much. Its been the longest off season in recent memory, and I want to see the skills of the kids. Doesn't mean I care about the result.

Posted (edited)

I reckon it's quite good ... the gaudy advertising needs to go though (or at least severely reduced)

It's entertaining,  the skills are great,  the game is open,  the rectangle is irrelevant (this version of the game is going to be played in the corridor) Long kicks,  play on at all costs. 

I'd tweak a few areas to make this version more of a contest - maybe 9 a side could achieve that. 

Posted
49 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Lol this is a joke. Has the AFL jumped the shark? 

Please don't play Petracca tomorrow, a serious injury in this less than Mickey Mouse comp would plunge me in to an irretrievable bout of MFCSS.

If he can get hurt in an uncontested skills drill like we're seeing in this... then he can do a one at training just as likely. 

Posted

It just feels like a schoolyard session of kick to kick. 

At least the speed of the game seems to have eliminated the stupid niggle of players punching each other in the back whilst waiting for play to resume after a goal. 

:rolleyes:

Posted
11 minutes ago, Macca said:

I reckon it's quite good ... the gaudy advertising needs to go though (or at least severely reduced)

It's entertaining,  the skills are great,  the game is open,  the rectangle is irrelevant (this version of the game is going to be played in the corridor) Long kicks,  play on at all costs - what's there not to like? 

It’s the stupid gimmicks that build it up like a sideshow. Neon lights on the posts, silver balls, fluorescent advertising on the ground, the term “zooper”, the loudspeaker commentary in the back ground, the circus acts and more.

Take away all this childish rubbish and the AFL might have a product. 

Posted

And they bring out the yellow ball anyway. Who would of thought a silver ball wouldnt work?

Posted (edited)
10 minutes ago, Jack son 5 said:

It’s the stupid gimmicks that build it up like a sideshow. Neon lights on the posts, silver balls, fluorescent advertising on the ground, the term “zooper”, the loudspeaker commentary in the back ground, the circus acts and more.

Take away all this childish rubbish and the AFL might have a product. 

I agree but I've trained my eyes (already) to block all that nonsense out. 

I'm watching the players and the ball only J5.