The Ox and Marko sacked by SEN

On 18/01/2018 at 23:19, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

Earlier in this thread we had a few headline gems. Today we have a new contender. Irrespective of your politics, this surely has to be accepted as a masterful piece of work:

DTy3EbaUQAA_W0D.jpg:large

Right up there ldc

On 18/01/2018 at 08:37, old dee said:

Funny I have too DJ.

However I am probably a candidate for the funeral ads. Well my wife is for me I guess.

I have been told market analysis shows lots of tradies listen to Smooth FM, which is why you apparently (i have never listened to it - no really) will hear ads for things such as power tools on it

On 18/01/2018 at 23:19, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

Earlier in this thread we had a few headline gems. Today we have a new contender. Irrespective of your politics, this surely has to be accepted as a masterful piece of work:

DTy3EbaUQAA_W0D.jpg:large

He has excellent genes

On 18/01/2018 at 23:35, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

I apologise for doubting you. I don't recall it ever being anything other than 1422. I must have been either too young to have known or am now too old to remember.

It was a long time ago, i just remember because it was a big deal when they changed the frequency

On 18/01/2018 at 23:24, Sir Why You Little said:

That was later

originally 1420

just curious now. currently am stations in oz are tuned on multiples of 9 ?hz and in fact radios are generally fixed in only being able to lockin on 9 ?hz boundaries

as i understand it some countries use multiples of 10 ?hz (eg usa, japan) whereas most 'british' countries use  9

I once bought a portable radio in japan and it was useless here. only a small number of radios have an option to select 9 or 10

So, what's the history wyl. was oz on the 10 system and switched to 9. did people have to buy new radios or did people just tune in on 1422 and the signal of 1420 was strong enough to not make a difference ?

On 19/01/2018 at 02:15, daisycutter said:

just curious now. currently am stations in oz are tuned on multiples of 9 ?hz and in fact radios are generally fixed in only being able to lockin on 9 ?hz boundaries

as i understand it some countries use multiples of 10 ?hz (eg usa, japan) whereas most 'british' countries use  9

I once bought a portable radio in japan and it was useless here. only a small number of radios have an option to select 9 or 10

So, what's the history wyl. was oz on the 10 system and switched to 9. did people have to buy new radios or did people just tune in on 1422 and the signal of 1420 was strong enough to not make a difference ?

I am not sure DC. I have heard people talking in Frequency Multiples before, but will have to do some research

On 19/01/2018 at 02:30, Sir Why You Little said:

I am not sure DC. I have heard people talking in Frequency Multiples before, but will hace to do some research

The change was made in the late seventies, most if not all tuners were manual at that time, so no issues re-tuning. On the push button car radios you had to pull out the button re-tune then press the button fully in. Now that carbon dates me to over 60, guilty your worship.

found this in wiki

1935:

• The Sydney studios of the ABC installs a disc recorder, enabling the recording of programs to occur for the first time.[18]
  • Many Australian radio stations change frequencies on 1 Sep 1935 to accord Australian 10 kHz frequency raster and to resolve interference problems.[19]

1978:

All AM radio station frequencies are changed from 10 kHz to 9 kHz spacing under the Geneva Frequency Plan of 1975. 2WS Sydney begins broadcasting

seems too my issue with tuners fixed on 9/10 frequency boundaries only applies to modern electronic based tuners

On 19/01/2018 at 03:04, daisycutter said:

found this in wiki

• seems too my issue with tuners fixed on 9/10 frequency boundaries only applies to modern electronic based tuners

Yes i think the old rotary Manual Tuners were incremental to all frequencies. Often a reciever would have a “fine Tune” adjustment for single figure adjustments. (To stop sibilence)

On 19/01/2018 at 02:40, ManDee said:

The change was made in the late seventies, most if not all tuners were manual at that time, so no issues re-tuning. On the push button car radios you had to pull out the button re-tune then press the button fully in. Now that carbon dates me to over 60, guilty your worship.

That’s right. You could pull those 5 preset buttons forward. That would be why. 

(Never worked that out as a kid) but my first car did have an 8 track Cartridge Player in it!!!

On 19/01/2018 at 03:39, Sir Why You Little said:

sibilence

There's a word you don't often see on a footy forum. Or anyhere for that matter, Much the shame. 

I have an old JVC boom box in my office, prbably from the 80's, which has a fine tune adjustment. Doesn't seem to do much., like the eq meters!

On 19/01/2018 at 05:28, binman said:

There's a word you don't often see on a footy forum. Or anyhere for that matter, Much the shame. 

I have an old JVC boom box in my office, prbably from the 80's, which has a fine tune adjustment. Doesn't seem to do much., like the eq meters!

The Tech moan is good value

Now here's a sport I'd like to hear them call on SEN. Pure chaos. And people say our Aussie Rules is tough! Apparently the only rule of etiquette is that you cannot kick your opponent when they are unconscious 

On 19/01/2018 at 05:40, Sir Why You Little said:

The Tech moan is good value

Love it! Watched a few minutes, very good. Will watch in full at home. Looks very similar to the one i'm staring at right now. I have detached the speakers to increase the stereo effect. Because that's how i roll.

I had a super cheap boom box as  a teenager in the 80's. Fondly recall a tape a mate gave me - one side with Loudan Wainright III and the other Hendrix. Loved both but it was the first time i'd heard Hendrix (and Loudan for that matter)  and it blew my mind, crap sound and all. 

On 19/01/2018 at 05:50, binman said:

Love it! Watched a few minutes, very good. Will watch in full at home. Looks very similar to the one i'm staring at right now. I have detached the speakers to increase the stereo effect. Because that's how i roll.

I had a super cheap boom box as  a teenager in the 80's. Fondly recall a tape a mate gave me - one side with Loudan Wainright III and the other Hendrix. Loved both but it was the first time i'd heard Hendrix (and Loudan for that matter)  and it blew my mind, crap sound and all. 

Most cheap Boom Boxes had a lot of stickers and LED Lights that did nothing!!

They chewed up D Batteries real fast. 

That said, there were some great Booms but you had to search for them

On 19/01/2018 at 02:15, daisycutter said:

They all had manual tuners DC you could tune any frequency you liked. 

On 19/01/2018 at 06:30, Ethan Tremblay said:

I remember back when radios in cars had dials to change the station. Those were the days.

i remember when a radio was a wireless :o

On 18/01/2018 at 07:22, Mazer Rackham said:

I went to an ice hockey game.

Fair dinkum, the yanks would watch tiddlywinks if it was in a huge stadium with flashing lights, ear splitting music, popcorn, kiss cam, remote control blimps, G-rated strippers cheerleaders, and various other mind numbing distractions for tiny minds.

I'm surprised they were able to concentrate for 11 entire minutes. No wonder they hate cricket.

MR you can add US baseball to the list, plenty of noise and pantomime, not a lot of actual scoring, like 0 vs 0 after an hour, then it will all happens at the bottom of the 6th while you went out to get some more beers! Happened to me when I was in the US watching a World Series final deciding game back in the 90’s. 

On 18/01/2018 at 06:58, Diamond_Jim said:

too many funeral company ads on 3AW ... we are obviously not their target audience OD .... stick to JJJ

Actually I have gravitated to Smooth FM... not too many ads

Well DJ you will not be surprised that every since you said the above I have noticed how many funeral adverts there are on 3aw. There are even a few on smooth FM.