Posted
2 minutes ago, FireInTheBelly said:

'I had no idea what I was selling, I just knew it cured cancer.'

i'm sure that argument would sound reasonable to most efc supporters

Posted (edited)

44 minutes ago, Satyriconhome said:

Oh no it'happening again, Weid, Tim Smith and AVB have all put on size but Gawny lost it, now something smells,    maybe it is this topic

It was noticeable across one pre-season as most players went from being ordinary / stringy in size to very muscular and beefy.

As for The first three mentioned I can't see a massive difference that would make me look twice from last season sorry.  Gawn lost a fair bit of weight and put back a little in muscle which was noticeable but hardly a Bruce Banner change up.   The comparisons you make are not even close to the noticeable difference in size overall of the Cats (Late) 06 vs early 07.

Posted (edited)
31 minutes ago, george_on_the_outer said:

8-900 gram of MDMA as well.....

Enough for every AFL player in the country to overdose. Thought 360 last night was a bit soft, what are the chances that some of these drugs he is shifting ends up with AFL players. Cry me a river, this bloke is greedy, full stop, he will get a 4-5 year custodial sentence and do 2 at the very most. If the molly is pure then he is up for large commercial quantity (could get 8 years) but if its 'in mixture' then he just gets done for commercial quantity. Note, sentencing comments  are my own guess - not the legislated maximums. there is no good behaviour bond for this [censored]. If I was him I'd be paying one of the other bloke huge money to take the fall.

edit - Victorian sentencing manual, am not a sentencing expert, but seems a good case for a category 1 offence.

http://www.judicialcollege.vic.edu.au/eManuals/VSM/index.htm#64404.htm

Edited by DaisyDeeciple
further info
Posted

Mods, may I take the liberty of urging caution on the turn this topic has taken?  This is now a criminal matter and certain rules apply.  

Posted
4 minutes ago, DaisyDeeciple said:

Enough for every AFL player in the country to overdose. Thought 360 last night was a bit soft, what are the chances that some of these drugs he is shifting ends up with AFL players.

With "Essendon's Friend" (Slobbo) and Gerard "there is no controversial subject too soft for me to shy away from" Twatley, it is only to be expected.

Whately tried to pour cold water on the EFC drug thing when it came out, and joined in the attacks on ASADA. And when it comes to horse racing, he seems to live in a fantasy world of majestic foam flecked stallions and thrilling thundering hooves. And does not want to know that there is an enormous underbelly. Fair dinkum he must sleep with the light on.

Posted

Rumours have been going around about Thompson for years. But people would say, yeah nah, it must be that he's eccentric, or this is what being a coach will do to you, or look what Tird's put him through.

Posted
2 minutes ago, Jumping Jack Clennett said:

Geelong seemed pretty "pumped" during their premiership years under "Bomber"

I dunno if Geelong did or didn't drug up.

But if it hadn't been for the ACC tipping off ASADA, we would now be talking about EFC's drug scandal the way we're talking about Geelong's. IE, not.

The AFL broom and carpet were ready and willing but the game got away from them.

Posted
24 minutes ago, iv'a worn smith said:

Mods, may I take the liberty of urging caution on the turn this topic has taken?  This is now a criminal matter and certain rules apply.  

They most certainly do. We are though i would have thought able to discuss whats in the public domain without infringement ?

Posted
1 hour ago, Satyriconhome said:

Oh no it'happening again, Weid, Tim Smith and AVB have all put on size but Gawny lost it, now something smells,    maybe it is this topic

Maybe it isn't. 

A number of teams over the journey ( Bomber , Robinson et al ) have mysteriously "re-invented" themselves over a summer.We arent talking a few kg of mass or tone...and certainly no one in these cases dropping weight.

There's a real world out there Saty... you're most welcome to join it.

Posted (edited)
28 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

They most certainly do. We are though i would have thought able to discuss whats in the public domain without infringement ?

In any criminal case - like it or not - the presumption of innocent until proven guilty is an inviolable tenet.  Debating a football clubs's supplement program is an entirely different issue.

Edited by iv'a worn smith
Posted (edited)

Quite an interesting read 

https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/what-happens-next-for-mark-bomber-thompson-and-why-he-is-unlikely-to-face-jail/news-story/05f8309e627611affd5a2960df12c8c9

Possibly the 8-900 g of MDMA might alter this ?

Edited by beelzebub
Posted
19 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

i can almost guess who the anonymous lawyer would be, bub

would have had no connection to the essendon saga......not 

Posted
2 hours ago, Rusty Nails said:

Correct Tracc.  The size difference between 06 / 07 was significant across the team and something I noticed when I first saw them run out in 2007.

I don't remember this being the case with Geelong...

I do remember it with the West Coast in the 90's though.

In Geelongs case it seems to be guilt by association...the weapon and bomber.

Posted
3 minutes ago, daisycutter said:

i can almost guess who the anonymous lawyer would be, bub

would have had no connection to the essendon saga......not 

So you're saying he's wrong then?

Posted
1 minute ago, iv'a worn smith said:

spinning the positive side iv'a and probably invested in a good outcome for a bomber legend

Posted (edited)
10 minutes ago, daisycutter said:

spinning the positive side iv'a and probably invested in a good outcome for a bomber legend

Or his reading of things have precedent.  Oh, nothing better than a good conspiracy theory though.

Edited by iv'a worn smith

Posted
13 minutes ago, iv'a worn smith said:

Setting the tone

Establishing faux boundaries

Posted
2 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

Setting the tone

Establishing faux boundaries

Yep, Lawyers do that all the time and magistrates/ judges are just too dumb to see through the charade. ?

Posted

....not to mention giving Port a bad name.....

Posted
1 minute ago, iv'a worn smith said:

Or his reading of things have precedent.  Oh, nothing better than a good conspiracy theory though.

if he's just talking precedent why the need for anonymity

no doubt we will see more of this as we did with the essendon supplements support campaign

Posted
1 minute ago, daisycutter said:

no doubt we will see more of this as we did with the essendon supplements support campaign

We could call it "Oxford Analytica".

Posted
2 minutes ago, daisycutter said:

Because it is his choice as a professional,  As we are virtually anonymous on here, he has a right to be the same if he so chooses.