View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Tom Rockliff

I'm pretty happy, We got a good team player that will add poise and planning, and be a onground coach and player , Was always in the inclusion group of Mitchell and Rioli/Burgoyne. Any more is cream.

37 minutes ago, Vogon Poetry said:

I'll have one go RD.  GD said the source was Noble, the Operations Manager at Brisbane.  That is not a rumour, that is fact because Noble would know. It's not "a mate who knows someone".

If Noble didn't know then GD made it up.  If he just made it up himself it's not a rumour it's a fabrication and GD knows it's a fabrication.

I like rumours, I don't like fabrications. And all I said is that GD either didn't respect his sources or was a troll. I think that is still correct.

FWIW I wanted Rockliff but respect the FD's call.  

I doubt he'd make it up.

The person he got it off may have made it up, but most people on Demonland are legit.

27 minutes ago, Wiseblood said:

Or astonishing that people will do anything to hold on to a dream, hey Dion? ;)

Rockliff would undoubtedly improve our side. No doubt in my mind, but people have written it off based on Hudson on SEN. Did we all write off Lewis when Wright said he was a required player? Some did, but foolishly. I'm certainly not saying he's definitely coming either, just not writing it off.

31 minutes ago, Vogon Poetry said:

I'll have one go RD.  GD said the source was Noble, the Operations Manager at Brisbane.  That is not a rumour, that is fact because Noble would know. It's not "a mate who knows someone".

If Noble didn't know then GD made it up.  If he just made it up himself it's not a rumour it's a fabrication and GD knows it's a fabrication.

I like rumours, I don't like fabrications. And all I said is that GD either didn't respect his sources or was a troll. I think that is still correct.

I wasn't specifically directing my comment at you, there are several who have blatantly questioned the credibility of information provided by Generation Dee and others. But understand that people like GD and GNF are in a no win situation - either provide their sources and be pilloried for breaching confidence or don't and be declared trolls. Even if the information is completely valid. The only time the poster is cut any kind of slack is in the unlikely event that one of the whispers they hear come to fruition at which point they become an all-knowing oracle. It is completely binary and completely ridiculous.

I don't want to derail the thread any further but IMO these threads should be a place where posters with access to information feel free to share it. Accusations of trolling don't help the cause and those that don't enjoy reading the rumours should leave the rest of us alone to enjoy the theatre of it all.

2 minutes ago, A F said:

Rockliff would undoubtedly improve our side. No doubt in my mind, but people have written it off based on Hudson on SEN. Did we all write off Lewis when Wright said he was a required player? Some did, but foolishly. I'm certainly not saying he's definitely coming either, just not writing it off.

The difference was that there was serious noise about Lewis.  There has been none whatsoever, except for here, on Rockliff.  It's not hard to work out the difference.  It's no chance.

48 minutes ago, Vogon Poetry said:

0a92a851f68c5d10edfd3d584f06082d.jpg

15 minutes ago, A F said:

Once Hudson said that Melbourne have stated that they hadn't even had contact with Brisbane re Rockliff it was CLEAR to any lucid thinker and experienced footy head that the rumours were utter BS.

To equate it to Wright's comments is naive.

I'm genuinely surprised that posters I usually think have a clue have thought this through so poorly.

Don't take up reading tea leaves. 

Edited by ProDee

Not all rumours are equal.  Some are ideas that don't eventuate, some are plans that get stymied for one reason or another, others are complete fabrications.

Obviously I don't have a lot of time for people who post the third type.

Edited by Guest

Mahoney back from holidays looking fit and healthy. 

Admitted there was a bit of interest in Lewis and that he would have a chat with Hawks and see how things go. 

Note that many have said this deal was done already. Mahoney certainly doesn't agree. 

Well if you're reffereing to what I said AF maybe you should read the post as I clearly said take from it what you will,but I guess believing someone that starts rumours is more credible.I never said I believe it 1 way or another I just posted what I seen. I don't believe anything until its signed, sealed & delivered I just updated a post

36 minutes ago, Clint Bizkit said:

I doubt he'd make it up.

The person he got it off may have made it up, but most people on Demonland are legit.

Don't know who that Zanotti Files character is but despite denials he is still going with it. 

There is some interesting info or misinformation out there. 

You can more or less close the thread now. Mahoney doesn't give much away to the media at the best of times, but he acknowledged our interest in Lewis and Hibberd straight off the bat. The way he dismissed the Rockliff question was telling.

I don't want to knock individual posters for presenting rumours on here, as they're fun to read, but I learnt my lesson after riddlegate in 2014. Take all internet rumours with a kilogram of salt. I was a long way off pencilling Rockliff into a 22 for next season!

29 minutes ago, Demon from Sydney said:

Well if you're reffereing to what I said AF maybe you should read the post as I clearly said take from it what you will,but I guess believing someone that starts rumours is more credible.I never said I believe it 1 way or another I just posted what I seen. I don't believe anything until its signed, sealed & delivered I just updated a post

I wasn't actually.

20 minutes ago, Sylvia Saint said:

You can more or less close the thread now. Mahoney doesn't give much away to the media at the best of times, but he acknowledged our interest in Lewis and Hibberd straight off the bat. The way he dismissed the Rockliff question was telling.

I don't want to knock individual posters for presenting rumours on here, as they're fun to read, but I learnt my lesson after riddlegate in 2014. Take all internet rumours with a kilogram of salt. I was a long way off pencilling Rockliff into a 22 for next season!

That's because both of those deals are effectively done and both players have nominated Melbourne. What would be the point of denying it at this point? Whereas with Rockliff, we've heard nothing from player, manager or Brisbane.

Just now, A F said:

I wasn't actually.

That's because both of those deals are effectively done and both players have nominated Melbourne. What would be the point of denying it as this point? Whereas with Rockliff, we've heard nothing from player, manager or Brisbane.

When asked about it today, what does Mahoney gain from denying it?  With a few days left, why would it harm the deal for him to say that we have some interest and we are currently looking at all options etc.  Instead he said we have no interest whatsoever.  I believe him, but at the same time, I'm kind of surprised you don't.  Every credible source out there has either said they've heard nothing or have heard there is zero interest from us, we haven't spoken to Brisbane etc.  That's more than enough for me.

4 minutes ago, A F said:

I wasn't actually.

That's because both of those deals are effectively done and both players have nominated Melbourne. What would be the point of denying it at this point? Whereas with Rockliff, we've heard nothing from player, manager or Brisbane.

Sorry I meant Lewis last week when the rumours broke and Hibberd months ago.

21 minutes ago, Wiseblood said:

When asked about it today, what does Mahoney gain from denying it?  With a few days left, why would it harm the deal for him to say that we have some interest and we are currently looking at all options etc.  Instead he said we have no interest whatsoever.  I believe him, but at the same time, I'm kind of surprised you don't.  Every credible source out there has either said they've heard nothing or have heard there is zero interest from us, we haven't spoken to Brisbane etc.  That's more than enough for me.

All I'm saying is something is in the works. Otherwise, the Hibberd and Lewis trades would have probably been done by now.

I've learnt not to trust a word Mahoney says. Much like Roos, he's a politician. Why reveal your hand at all? Keep the opposition guessing.

22 minutes ago, Redleg said:

Don't know who that Zanotti Files character is but despite denials he is still going with it. 

There is some interesting info or misinformation out there. 

Mr Leg please. You are, are you not, a member of the honourable profession of barristers-at-law.

Surely, you know when your leg is being pulled, Leg?

Just now, rumpole said:

Mr Leg please. You are, are you not, a member of the honourable profession of barristers-at-law.

Surely, you know when your leg is being pulled, Leg?

Obviously not. Is he one of those self styled comedic types?

36 minutes ago, ProDee said:

Once Hudson said that Melbourne have stated that they hadn't even had contact with Brisbane re Rockliff it was CLEAR to any lucid thinker and experienced footy head that the rumours were utter BS.

To equate it to Wright's comments is naive.

I'm genuinely surprised that posters I usually think have a clue have thought this through so poorly.

Don't take up reading tea leaves. 

your attitude is rubbish, this one might not have panned out as it said but this is EXACTLY why posters stop sharing the information, 

treating SEN as confirmation of anything is a recipe for disaster. 

20 minutes ago, Abe said:

your attitude is rubbish, this one might not have panned out as it said but this is EXACTLY why posters stop sharing the information, 

Indeed. SEN is the BF of radio stations. You only have to listen to their talk back stuff.

Just now, A F said:

Indeed. SEN is the BF of radio stations. You only have to listen to their talk back stuff.

Definitely, clearly the Rockliff trade isn't going to happen, and that's fine. 

but insulting posters should never be acceptable in my opinion. 

11 minutes ago, Abe said:

I like Anthony Hudson and can differentiate between him and the station he reports for.  So my views were confirned once I heard Anthony Hudson, not SEN.

Sorry for the attitude :)

I love this time of the year.  Really, I do.

We've heard from one poster about Rockliff.  Even Chook in Perth, who has more cred than anyone here, said we had no interest.  But as some here having nothing else to do (Abe, have you posted 1,000 times in the last 2 days?) it gets some traction and people get excited.  Mahoney saying we have absolutely no interest at this point of the trade period is more than enough confirmation.  Saying you can't trust him is a way of trying to keep the belief alive.

It 'aint happening.