Posted

Would you feel happy if Goodes retired? Which of course he'd be labelled a sook for but would be a move most of us would take if we faced the same sort of harassment in our workplace?

Posted (edited)

I think that's what clear out of all of this, is that irrespective of your thoughts or Goodes, the people booing, the commentators, the AFL, whatever, the football community is now divided. It's ugly. This is not what football is about.

And you know what's funny? The most engaged people in this debate are...white.

From the white rednecks who tell him to "harden up", to the condescending self-hating white people that speak like as if they know what's best for the indigenous. Both sides are white. It's comical. White people debating the feelings of...a black man.

I am so sick and tired of hearing people say "Australia is racist", and I'm sick of people pretending like they're not offended by Goodes' past comments.

And seriously, please spare the rest of us your guilt-riddled self-hating trash about how ANYONE -- white, black, pink, yellow -- is EVER justified in dividing by race. I don't give a [censored] what you have been through: racism is antagonism as much as it is discrimination, and if you even attempt to paint me as morally inferior because of the colour of my skin, I will shout you down like the hypocritical moron that you are. I am not responsible for another person's plight. I judge a person on their character and their actions. Spare me the "white people can't be victims of racism" crap. You're just justifying a barbaric, vile narrative that fuels the fire.

That said, everyone, please, shut up, get over it, and get back to feeling miserable about Melbourne Football Club.

Trust me, you'll all feel better for it. At least then we can (mostly) agree on something and get along.

Go Dees.

Edited by praha

Posted

If you just stopped arguing against the far-left for a second Munga and thought about it in terms of what is actually happening and how that makes another individual feel, do you continue to support ideology over ethics and feel good and noble about your stance to defend it?

I support everyones right to be able to express themselves without fear of being labelled racist. I said earlier I believe any undertones of racism in the crowd should definitely be stopped by other patrons and security, but if you want to boo at the footy then you should be able to without the media labelling you racist. Of course some of it is racist but its a minority. Most of it today is due to the media storm its created and everyone jumping in because they've been told they can't.

Before that it was mostly due to an ordinary bloke getting political when to begin with his audience really didn't rate him as a good bloke. Are they right or wrong who knows. But this isn't all about race.

Posted

I can't believe the number of posts supporting the booing of Adam Goodes.

Well if you feel so supportive of the booing, I suggest you go to the Swans games and boo your hearts out. Grow up.

Posted

So it's not about race. The point has been made. So then it's about endless harassment. Are you comfortable with that?

Posted

I certainly want to say, im no racist, i have many mates, relos, yellow, black, white, red, pink(wink wink) and when I boo Goodes, him being black is certainly furthest from my mind, and i categorically can say that, as im sure many others are the same.

I wish someone would boo one of our players, means hes making an impact - and not in the Grinter or Rhys Jones or Lee Matthews-Carl Ditterich sense.... although these players could hit & play, but thats another story

Posted

Stats taken from that bastion of eternal knowledge Wikipedia actually dc. Doesn't matter where the facts came from. Goodes has had a fantastic career and is a champion. To boo him is small minded and pathetic. How many multiple brownlow winners get booed on the field to such an extent? I have no doubt there are racial undertones for some, most however are simply dumb sheep.

This thread is so predictable, like a number of previous threads on Goodes.

think you might have missed the point, but ah well it was worth a try.......

Posted (edited)

So it's not about race. The point has been made. So then it's about endless harassment. Are you comfortable with that?

Are you kidding?

This is a competitive sport. Goodes has it easy.

Edited by praha

Posted

No skuit. Im not. hence i wouldn't boo and if the media and AFL came at it from that angle it would be much more productive and beneficial.

Posted

Are you kidding?

This is a competitive sport. Goodes has it easy.

Right, so both one off situations that happen against one team in one place for entirely different reasons to Goodes.

But you know, exactly the same situation...... FMD

Posted

Right, so both one off situations that happen against one team in one place for entirely different reasons to Goodes.

Actually, no, he was booed relentlessly all season across the country. And there were plenty of racially-motivated attacks on the way he left Cleveland, suggesting that the way he did it was "totes black".

He responded with two championships.

Posted

Actually, no, he was booed relentlessly all season across the country. And there were plenty of racially-motivated attacks on the way he left Cleveland, suggesting that the way he did it was "totes black".

He responded with two championships.

No he wasn't, and no there wasn't.

Why do you people keep making stuff up?

Posted (edited)

Lebron James is constantly booed and it's happened for years. Watch a game.

Don't know if you're just stubborn or stupid Stuie.

Edited by Ethan Tremblay
Posted

BOOOOO !

Posted (edited)

Iconic Australian image.

Said earlier never recall Winmar copping ongoing abuse for his dignified, principled stand.

There is something about Adam.post-272-0-12673700-1438080538_thumb.jpg

Edited by radar

Posted

Lebron James is constantly booed and it's happened for years. Watch a game.

Don't know if you're just stubborn or stupid Stuie.

Mate, I've followed the NBA since watching Isiah Thomas battle Bernard King in an epic conference finals series in 1984.

LeBron doesn't cop anywhere near the consistent booing Goodes is.

Posted (edited)

Raheem Sterling was just booed by 99,000 at the G, and on the Gold Coast before that.

I suppose that was because he isn't caucasion.

Edited for PC reasons.

Edited by Deestroy All
Posted

Yes, he is. And yes, there was. There was certainly a racial undertone from some media outlets in their commentary.

He responded with a smile and 2 championships.

Posted

LBJ is constantly booed.

What the?

Posted (edited)

Mate, I've followed the NBA since watching Isiah Thomas battle Bernard King in an epic conference finals series in 1984.

In his first season with Miami, he was booed hard and loud at every away game.

Were you watching the NBA or the Phillipino league?

He still gets booed.

Edited by praha

Posted

:wub:

Posted

Yeah but watch a LeBron game. If you did you wouldn't be arguing.

Posted

Not sure you can say black anymore.

Fixed. And apologies to all humans.

Posted

BOOOO !

Posted

Men should be what they seem

Or those that be not

Would they might seem none.