Players to target at the end of the year

• Author

He was a near certainty, they just couldn't get the deal done. I think they will be reviewing that one as a poor decision, the Tiges that is.

Judging by a few posts it seems because Dom came from GWS then his mates will want to join him. I'm not sure that's a compelling reason and who knows which players are his mates anyway.

There is a good reason to join us now though and that is the development and opportunity you would get at Melbourne with the quality of Roos, Stone and Allison and onfield leadership now in place to help grow a career.

Another good reason is the brand of footy we are beginning to play.

Who wouldnt want to come to a club that prides itself on relentless pressure

Right... source?

Was on the latest AFL Grill video. Only one who didn't rate Roos in the media, even above BT or Baz Zempilas. Whatever that means.

Has Jono O'Rourke signed a new contract?

He was a near certainty, they just couldn't get the deal done. I think they will be reviewing that one as a poor decision, the Tiges that is.

Judging by a few posts it seems because Dom came from GWS then his mates will want to join him. I'm not sure that's a compelling reason and who knows which players are his mates anyway.

There is a good reason to join us now though and that is the development and opportunity you would get at Melbourne with the quality of Roos, Stone and Allison and onfield leadership now in place to help grow a career.

and a hurt & hungry club determined for success.

Dan Robinson.

Swans NSW zone rookie in his second year. Sydney kid, but Paul Roos would've heard about him ?coached him in their academy and we could offer him cash and a much easier path to games than Sydney can. He played well in the NEAFL, do that at Casey and you're half a shot for a game the next week, do that for the swans and you're stuck behind the 64 touch Tom MItchell. If Roos rates him I'd be keen.

http://www.sydneyswans.com.au/news/2014-05-20/neafl-wrap-round-8

By the way I think I'd prefer something similar as the Casey wrap highlighting good players rather than the detailed VFL report. Yes we love the honesty but I don't think guys in the reserves deserved to be publicly scrutinized. Imagine if you were a junior employee at whatever job you do and you had your performance publicly scrutinized each week.

Dan Robinson.

Swans NSW zone rookie in his second year. Sydney kid, but Paul Roos would've heard about him ?coached him in their academy and we could offer him cash and a much easier path to games than Sydney can. He played well in the NEAFL, do that at Casey and you're half a shot for a game the next week, do that for the swans and you're stuck behind the 64 touch Tom MItchell. If Roos rates him I'd be keen.

By the way I think I'd prefer something similar as the Casey wrap highlighting good players rather than the detailed VFL report. Yes we love the honesty but I don't think guys in the reserves deserved to be publicly scrutinized. Imagine if you were a junior employee at whatever job you do and you had your performance publicly scrutinized each week.

I'd rate the NEAFL as the equivalent of the VFL development league.

Dan Robinson.

I prefer the current system now that the reports are real. I couldn't stand the puff pieces of the past.

It's been covered before, but he can help us in that he has an existing personal relationship with GWS players, so can vouch for the club as a trusted source.

Also he serves as a clear example of what a young player can do under Roos at MFC - quickly transform from a fringe youngster into one of the highest rated youngsters in the game.

As someone who has ghosted puff pieces in the past for a struggling organisation, it was very hard to get the balance right btw critical and objective.

I think the BA reports are doing a reasonable job of it.

more info on Jono O'rourke

It's been covered before, but he can help us in that he has an existing personal relationship with GWS players, so can vouch for the club as a trusted source.

Also he serves as a clear example of what a young player can do under Roos at MFC - quickly transform from a fringe youngster into one of the highest rated youngsters in the game.

...and that's the point I'm making, it's what the club can do for the player exhibit one Dom Tyson. It's not local footy where you come and play with your mates.

"If I was lucky enough to go to the Doggies, I'd be stoked to remain in Melbourne."- Interesting.

I reckon he would be very interested in a move back to victoria.

I was interested when Tyson said last week that he always intended on returning to Victoria, and it just ended up happening sooner than he'd expected. I wonder how many GWS players have the same mindset.

Jono O' Rourke is best mates with Tyson, and has played footy with both Toumpas and Viney. Just there alone would make a solid midfield for years to come.

Good enough for me. Sign him up Roosy.

He is also 188cm tall. The perfect big tall midfielder Roosy dreams of.

He has a great worth ethic, he's a very good inside mid fielder but his speed and elite kicking alot like salems is amazing and that's where he really damages teams.

So why is he struggling at GWS? I don't know much about him

He had injuries in his first year but I think alot of his trouble is that like Tyson he is competing with a whole bunch of young guys and not a heap of experience, also I think he was hoping he'd get picked by us or doggies so he could stay in vic

I really do hope we push for him. He only has to look at his mate Tyson to see how he has flourish under Roos. This is a big call but I could see more upside in O'Rourke then Tyson. Is tall with elite kicking skills and speed. Can play inside or out. Like Tyson injuries have hurt him. Cannot see the dogs going after him as their midfield is fine. We could even use him off a half back to set up play with his kicking skills.

What would you guys give up for O Rourke? What would GWS accept for him?

If we lose chip and get an extra priority pick I would nearly bite the bullet and go with that. But I would also ask back another first round draft pick like we did with the Tyson deal. We did the trade with Tyson because I believe the club knew he had serious potential and bit the bullet. Look how its turned out. I believe we should do the same with O'Rourke.

Pick 5 and Sam blease for o'Rourke and tommlinson