Posted

I dont like the Neeld approach of regular changes of 2 or three players each week. You end up with the Blease situation where the playrs never settle and never learn.

That being said if Gawn is fit he needs to come in. I prefer to see Viney come back through Casey.

I would change out Bail for Gawn.

I would also play Toumpas on the bench and start with JKH. If I was tempted with a second change it would be for Kent over Toumpas.

Posted

Gawn was talking in the bar before the game. He indicated that he should be in full training this week and availbel this weekend. I hope he is right we need him.

Posted

I watched Dunn in the forward half yesterday.

When we had possession he followed the WCE defender around. When they had possession he was 20 metres clear?? He repeated this effort.

I seriously doubt that he understands the principles of football, sadly he is not alone.

Why won't they kick it to Watts. Saw him on his own and leading over a dozen times and they kicked it to him maybe 3 times.

PS. I was calling for Dunn forward at the StK game. Not any more.

The bad thing is we have no talls and the talls we have need to be dropped.

Certainly agree re Watts as a leading forward especially with Howe leading up to the wing to create some space in the forward 50. Dunn has been one of our best and I assume you don't have Dunn as one of your talls needing to be dropped.

Posted

Deck chairs until we get 2 of Dawes Clark and Hogan back.

A long month or two.

Posted

Certainly agree re Watts as a leading forward especially with Howe leading up to the wing to create some space in the forward 50. Dunn has been one of our best and I assume you don't have Dunn as one of your talls needing to be dropped.

I can answer why they don't kick to Watts, it's the same as why they don't kick to Toumpas, these two lead to dangerous spots, spots that give us the best chance to score but also spots that if turned over you will get scored against. Our players are scared to kick to those spots, they have been for years, we take the safest option until we turn it over.

What is the point playing ineffective talls, you are better of dropping them and bringing in some more run. Have Spencer and a back up hopefully Gawn. Get Pederson, Bail and Fitzy out bring in Gawn, Kent, Blease. Blease and Kent have the ability to run and carry the footy and both love a goal. Go shorter is better than playing players that are a liability.

Posted

I can answer why they don't kick to Watts, it's the same as why they don't kick to Toumpas, these two lead to dangerous spots, spots that give us the best chance to score but also spots that if turned over you will get scored against. Our players are scared to kick to those spots, they have been for years, we take the safest option until we turn it over.

What is the point playing ineffective talls, you are better of dropping them and bringing in some more run. Have Spencer and a back up hopefully Gawn. Get Pederson, Bail and Fitzy out bring in Gawn, Kent, Blease. Blease and Kent have the ability to run and carry the footy and both love a goal. Go shorter is better than playing players that are a liability.

Agree, whilst I like the possession game our lack of confidence in players saying to themselves I'm going to take this on could see us creating scores with quick ball movement countering our Key position deficincies

Posted

So so true... We look for the safe option for fear of turning it over and turn it over in the process.

The teams lack of trust and belief in one another shows up glaringly.

Go for the hard option and turn it over I say... At least you can say they were having a go.

Posted

I would like to see Howe play as our CHF. Get the ball in his hands because at the moment who ever plays deep doesn't get a touch. Howe has great foot skills as well. If pedo has to play it must be down back and for the time being have Dunn up forward. JKH to get a full gig and if gawn, Evans, blease and viney are remotely fit play them. Fitz and bail have to go and if we had a competent ruck spencer would never return.

Posted

Perhaps we could rename this thread "Shuffling deck chairs on the Titanic"

Posted

Big statement 1. Pederson would not get a game in any other side in the AFL.

BS2 Time to play an under done forward, bring in Dawes or Gawn, even Garland as a forward half done better than Pederson.

BS3 Play Jamar out of the square, and I don't rate Jamar anymore but better than Pederson.

Saw Robbo at half time, I reckon he would do better than Pedo.

I don't know if you mean Russell Robertson or Mark Robinson. Either way, I still think you might be right.

Posted

Why won't we shepherd our teammates properly? Drives me insane.

It's the easiest of all the skills yet we try for dicky handballs instead.

Posted

So so true... We look for the safe option for fear of turning it over and turn it over in the process.

Go for the hard option and turn it over I say... At least you can say they were having a go.

Exactly. This is what we did different under Bailey. We died by the sword rather than dying like a whimpering dog scared of it's tail.

We were horrendous defensively, but at least when we had the ball we had a crack...

Posted

heres a squad I'd like to see approaching Rnd 3.

FB: Georgiou Frawley Terlich

HB: Cross McDonald Grimes

CL: Tyson Trengove Watts

HF: Howe Dunn Viney

FF: Byrnes Garland Jamar

Foll: Spencer Vince NJones

Int from: Blease Clisby Evans Michie MJones Tapscott Toumpas

Posted

I agree but would like to change one thing, it is not trust and belief in one another it is trust and belief you their own skills to hit the target. I hate to blame past coaches but I think our players were drilled so hard over the past few years on the safe down the line option that they have lost belief in themselves to attack and take risks.

Posted

I agree but would like to change one thing, it is not trust and belief in one another it is trust and belief you their own skills to hit the target. I hate to blame past coaches but I think our players were drilled so hard over the past few years on the safe down the line option that they have lost belief in themselves to attack and take risks.

... and when someone did take risks, they were hammered (even if it actually worked). That was the killer.

Posted

I think it goes hand in hand. Weather its their trust in their own skill or that of a team mate its something that must change quickly.

As Roos said "they are a better team than they think they are". Once they start playing freely and taking some risk like the first NAB game vs the tigers they will look and play like a whimpering mess.

Posted

I think it goes hand in hand. Weather its their trust in their own skill or that of a team mate its something that must change quickly.

As Roos said "they are a better team than they think they are". Once they start playing freely and taking some risk like the first NAB game vs the tigers they will look and play like a whimpering mess.

The problem is we have to many players that over a period of time have shown they can't hit targets. We carry to many players that can't execute the skill that the game is all about. You can carry a couple into a game, we carry 6-7 players that with Footy in hand are a massive concern. 5 off these players are in our back half at the moment, most teams set attack off Half Back take Dunn out we have no body back there that you have 100% confidence in with footy in hand.

Posted

heres a squad I'd like to see approaching Rnd 3.

FB: Georgiou Frawley Terlich

HB: Cross McDonald Grimes

CL: Tyson Trengove Watts

HF: Howe Dunn Viney

FF: Byrnes Garland Jamar

Foll: Spencer Vince NJones

Int from: Blease Clisby Evans Michie MJones Tapscott Toumpas

i'd go

Georgiou Frawley Garland

Dunn Mcdonald Grimes

Watts Jones Toumpas

Vince Fitzpatrick Blease

Howe Gawn Pederson

Jamar Cross Tyson

Viney Kennedy-harris Byrnes

Kent

Posted

Surely Trengove gets a spell before Toumpas? Either way its one very slow race to the finish line. Their lack of leg speed is a major concern, if you were an opposition coach you would just be playing an explosive attacking player against either of these with instruction to spread quickly from stoppages and burn them on the outside.

Posted

The most worrying thing about GWS is their speed and their willingness to attack the contest.... Its a stark contrast to our boys.

Posted

This is true in both defence and offence the players don't trust each other. We end up with slow ball movement and a turn over. Then in defence we have two and three people trying to tackle one person which leaves big hole. Deciding to come off your man in congestion or trusting your team mate to the job is a hard choice to make but we seem to to make the wrong choice each time.

The other trust issue is with themselves, if you don't have confidence in your own abilities then you have already lost the battle.