And all before a ball is kicked in anger

I suspect I am around your age OD so thanks for the "younger bodies" comment....just feel that if you go into a season without a little confidence you may as well just pack it in

Get with the rev, smile and be happy.....It's a lot better than being a gloomy gus

I hope you get just a little bit of happiness out of the year

All the best

Now this will sound like BS Bossdog but it is true

The major reason I still have interest and go to training and games is Demonland.

Without it I would have tossed it in a few years ago.

One of the things about humans that never ceases to amaze me is that two people can watch the same thing and have two diametrical opposed opinions.

Sound like Demonland?

PS I have way more confidence than the last two years Bossdog!

I am proudly an old fart, better than being a young upstart

I agree with you Saty except I am so sick of hearing from the players that we are on the right track that I now just ignore it. From what I can see it looks like our defensive side has improved but we still struggle offensivly.

We need to be able to break away from our opposition and move the ball quickly and more freely. It would help having Clark/Dawes/Hogan/Howe leading up the wings.

The players will have to be on the right track now, otherwise a full season at Casey beckons, that is the difference, Roos has drawn a line in the sand, you play, you play your role, you give it everything you have got, you play next week

Are you coming down for the first game Deeoldfart?

Not this year old dee. It will be the first time Mrs Oldfart and I have missed Round 1 for more years than I care to remember. However, we will be there for Round 2, as guests of the Club ...... part of the Ron Barassi Bequest Society. I'll also be catching up with and old Dee mate, who I lost contact with when we moved to this godforsaken town 45 years ago. He tracked me down through Facebook of all things, and I'm chomping at the bit!

All of a sudden people want to get rid of our experienced players (Dunn/Frawley) to get higher compensation in the draft.....I thought that was our downfall when Jr and a few other were delisted or forced into retirement......

And btw, the above is alarmist crud - no-one wants to get rid of these two players. There is disagreement over the supposed irreplaceability of the former and there has been some discussion over the possible compensation for losing the latter.

It does not equate to people 'wanting to get rid of' either.

Hi Reverend I never cease to marvel at your ability to shrug off 18 goal losses.

You must have a mental shell as hard as a turtle.

My wife would say something less kind. She would tell me how stupid I am and that I should just stop watching football or "change clubs for goodness sake." I don't listen to her because she is English by birth and lacks that part of the brain that understands AFL football and the nature of the supporter. I do find this strange given she's from Newcastle and should be infected by an unshakable faith in Newcastle United. Maybe it because she's a woman - I don't know. You'd reckon after 37 years I'd understand her, but no, I'm still struggling.

A "mental shell"? Maybe just mental!

Jazza what is your qualifying age for an "old fart"?

Just curious.... :)

Wyl if you've lived to see a Dees Flag you're an old fart in my book

I wouldn't call all this a meltdown, I'd say it's just the normal chart of feelings that Demonland follows, maybe even a little less stormy than usual!

That made sense...

You must be a witch...

Burn him! Burn him! Burn the witch!!!

How do you know he is a witch? Is he made of wood? Does he float? What else floats?

Please do not jump to conclusions, he may be a very small rock.

I agree, and I feel honoured to officially be one.

Me too on that criteria.

Not this year old dee. It will be the first time Mrs Oldfart and I have missed Round 1 for more years than I care to remember. However, we will be there for Round 2, as guests of the Club ...... part of the Ron Barassi Bequest Society. I'll also be catching up with and old Dee mate, who I lost contact with when we moved to this godforsaken town 45 years ago. He tracked me down through Facebook of all things, and I'm chomping at the bit!

Mate you know you will most like miss the first round 1 win in years.

I caught up with some old mates in the country last year it was great.

We were all going to play hell but were home by 11.30

The ageing process bought us all back to earth with a thud.

Enjoy the weekend.

Jazza what is your qualifying age for an "old fart"?

Just curious.... :)

I have no idea wyl but I have no doubt I qualify.

I'm in the same boat.

I am proudly an old fart, better than being a young upstart

qualifications to be an old fart

1/do you look for your glasses around the house and find them on your head

2/occasionally start sentences with"when i was a young bloke"

3/grey,balding,and horizontally challenged

4/growing hair on your nose

5/growing hair out of your ears

6/wonder why most young people walk around with hearing aids.

7/feel the cold more than when you were a kid

7/feel the heat more than when you were a kid

8/get up twice during the night to water the garden

9/enjoy the taste of alcohol ,instead of guzzling it.

10/wear the cardigan to the paper shop on sunday mornings.

answer yes to more than 3 of these questions and your an old fart.

I miss only on 1,8 and 10

1 I don't take them off

8 no problem

10 don't own one, even if I wanted one my wife would burn it on arrival.

So that makes me a rock sold " Oldfart"

you left out - fart more than your 4yo grandson :lol:

thats a given.

any man that doesnt wear a cardy is definately not welcome in the otways.

still got flares for a big night out.

thats a given.

any man that doesnt wear a cardy is definately not welcome in the otways.

still got flares for a big night out.

Well I am stuffed

put your false teeth back in and go for a walk.

That is another thing I don't have.

Still have a lot of my own supplement by implants from Bangkok.

Yes Yes Yes!!

But not all of them... :)

I think I might (sort of qualify) on all of those grounds but:

1/ I look for my glasses around the house, and my wife finds them on my head.

2/ I almost always start sentences, but forget how they are supposed to end.

3/ I'm no longer grey, balding or horizontally challenged, but I probably was 10 or 15 years ago.

4/ & 5/ I think I just worked out where all the hair went!

6/ I wonder how young people can afford hearing aids. Mine cost a bloody fortune, and they are much smaller than the ones the youngsters use.

7. I feel the cold much more these days, but I've learned that a cup of hot coco and a hot water bottle work well for me.

8/ I get up three times a night to water the garden, but keep wondering why the shrubs two doors down the road are thriving while mine still struggle in parched earth.

9/ I still enjoy the taste of alcohol, but more to the point, I need my nightly brandy to help me sleep.

10/ I still put on the red and blue cardi for my Sunday morning walk to the paper shop, which closed 5 years ago

Bring on the footy for Christ's sake!