WELCOME TO THE MELBOURNE FOOTBALL CLUB - DOM TYSON

Posted

I have just heard a rumour from a mate closely connected to another afl club (he has a 60% track record of being right over the last 15 years) that Dom Tyson, this week's rising ster nominee, wants to come to the MFC to join former teammate JV.

60% and from another club other then MFC or GWS?

I have just heard a rumour from a mate closely connected to another afl club (he has a 60% track record of being right over the last 15 years) that Dom Tyson, this week's rising ster nominee, wants to come to the MFC to join former teammate JV.

I'd love to see Tyson @ the Dees

If true, we should Try to convince Liam Jurrah to go to Sheeds in an exchange somehow with GWS.

Sheeds would be great with Liam IMO, & may be able to set him Straight.

That would be great!

But what would he cost?

He was a Pick 3!

He is a first year player how can he be out of contract?

Well obviously the commentators stuffed that up then. Can't remember which one it was now. Anyway that's why I thought he was out of contract.

G'Day,

New member here first post, your thread topic sparked me to join :)

I heard on TrippleM last year just before the draft that Dom Tyson was actually coached by Garry Lyon at some point during his junior carreer. So it wouldn't suprize me if the old Lyon has been in his ear. Also as stated previously he is only a first year player, however GWS have been signing their players a year early to avoid the vulturing clubs circuling... interestingly if your source is correct I believe we would be seeing him come at the end of the 2013 season (unless if he and GWS agree to cancel contracts and sort a trade with the Dees). Would be nice if the cost was right!

Tyson would be a great get if anything it might reinstall some faith that there are people out there that are willing to come to MFC.

I've liked the the bit of him that I've seen. Only problem is my brain can't compute 'Dom Tyson' and insists that it's Tom Dyson.

Well obviously the commentators stuffed that up then. Can't remember which one it was now. Anyway that's why I thought he was out of contract.

The SEN fools were rabbiting on all Saturday afternoon about how he was yet to sign. I had to switch it off. It makes me sick how these clowns in the media are on six figure sums yet can't be arsed even getting basic facts right.

Is contracted so i think it would take either pick 3-4 to do it, which is what he is worth, depends on if he is valued higher than say MD pick 1/2 or who is going to be their at picks 3/4 this year? i think Toumpas will be gone at this stage so he could well be the best available with a year under his belt.

The SEN fools were rabbiting on all Saturday afternoon about how he was yet to sign. I had to switch it off. It makes me sick how these clowns in the media are on six figure sums yet can't be arsed even getting basic facts right.

They are correct still mate, he has not signed an extension and is pretty much the only high profile Giant not to do so at this stage which is where i think his contract confusion is coming from......he still has his second year to run at this stage though.

So maybe just a miscommunication talking about him not signing but ignoring to mention it is an extention beyond 2013 not this year.

Actually you're spot on. Thats exactly where I heard it from. Thanks. I shouldve known better but for some silly reason I thought they signed him up in 2010 early.

They are correct still mate, he has not signed an extension and is pretty much the only high profile Giant not to do so at this stage which is where i think his contract confusion is coming from......he still has his second year to run at this stage though.

So maybe just a miscommunication talking about him not signing but ignoring to mention it is an extention beyond 2013 not this year.

OK, here goes, If he was a pick 3 last year & we give our Pick 3 for the (Mini draft P1),,, then trade that Mini Draft Pick 1 back to GWS for Tyson this year.

Then P4 we use on another Mid.

OK, here goes, If he was a pick 3 last year & we give our Pick 3 for the (Mini draft P1),,, then trade that Mini Draft Pick 1 back to GWS for Tyson this year.

Then P4 we use on another Mid.

Pretty sure there is a rule against that, as last year GWS were planning on doing that to secure O'Meara and were called out on it

100% Correct. They got away with plenty, but not that!

Oh well, can we then trade our (Mini Draft 1st Pick) to West Coast for Gaff? if available?

Maybe just 3 way trade, 3 for gaff for MD pick

He is happy at GWS.

Source: family member

Concur. A very very loyal bloke, ill be very surprised if he ever left GWS, his head is screwed on the right way.

And he was coached by Lyon in u15 for the local footy club

I really believe there are quite a few boys at GWS & GCS who are homesick.

They are private school types and wish to continue their education back in Melbourne.

Where they have the family support.