View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Anyone know how Ellie Blackburn went?????....

Edited by Bossdog

We'll find out when the video gets uploaded, assuming it does.

I have to say I was pretty annoyed that there wasn't a team list in the Footy Record. How hard would it have been to do a couple of articles and respective sides for the Women as well as the men? It was frustrating as hell sitting there trying to figure out who was doing what.

There was one, but it was well buried -- page 49 in the middle of nowhere, basically. I didn't find it until after the game!

Was good of HB early. Kicked the first ever score in an AFL women's game. I think I saw that she also got the first ever goal. You'd take that right?

Took the family to the women's game last night. I was really proud of our football club. Their involvement is to be applauded. I can't tell you what a buzz my daughter got seeing young women playing footy so well on the MCG. Congratulations to all involved and for a historic win to the Melbourne Football Club.

Edited by NowWeKnow

If your daughter is any good at football it appears there is a need for 18 stand in players in the last quarter.

As the Boys need to get ready their night out on the Town about 20 minutes before the end the game.

It would be great if someone could stop the opposition scoring at that time.

But hey, its Melbounre, and they will always do it differently.

It was great to see the MFC becoming a real family Club.

Game is now available:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LlCJPrqv7_w

Enjoy!

Fantastic!

I can't believe this wasn't broadcast - at least on Foxtel or 7mate or something!

I couldn't even watch the game on the AFL subscription app on my tablet, such a disgrace.

Thanks so much for the link. Right after dinner I'm going to set myself with YouTube and some popcorn.

Just curious since I haven't seen it yet - how many of the players would look at home in a men's AFL side?

im just rapt we won 2 games on the same day

FIRST for any club in the history of the game

HISTORY

Just curious since I haven't seen it yet - how many of the players would look at home in a men's AFL side?

Not many. Chealsea Randall would be as close as you'd get. She was pretty physical and attacked the contests hard and at full pace. It's those two things more than the skills that would be the difference.

I'll also note that there is no way in hell Daisy Pearce was BOG. She was involved in a lot of the congested stuff but didn't actually do much in there. She had very good disposal when she got clear, but there were other players who had far more impact. I'd have gone for Randall or Blackburn.

Not many. Chealsea Randall would be as close as you'd get. She was pretty physical and attacked the contests hard and at full pace. It's those two things more than the skills that would be the difference.

I'll also note that there is no way in hell Daisy Pearce was BOG. She was involved in a lot of the congested stuff but didn't actually do much in there. She had very good disposal when she got clear, but there were other players who had far more impact. I'd have gone for Randall or Blackburn.

Had a look. Agree with all that. The Dogs skipper was pretty good too.

Gee a colt by Schwartz out of Randall would be worth following !

Congratulations to the Dees womens team - they were terrific. I thought Chelsea Randall (3) was outstanding and loved the tackling machine - Kiara bowers (17).

There was a team list in the Footy Record - it just wasn't anywhere near the other pages about the women. I'll see if I can find the page number later I when I'm home.

Was good of HB early. Kicked the first ever score in an AFL women's game. I think I saw that she also got the first ever goal. You'd take that right?

Thanks for that....Is the daughter of a good mate of mine....Glad she played well...

If you have a look at the replay, she was in everything. Had a really good game.

she my new favourite Melbourne player..... Was in the thick of it from the start and was BOG for me....

i agree totally! Some people aren't willing to put 100% into this idea ... There should have been way more publicity on this than there was!! AFL! Put in or shut up!! And the media dropped the ball on this one.... Their so busy searching for negative stories about players lives, that we don't give a [censored] about! to see when a truly positive monumental story about football comes along...... Was it a women in footy thing? Or another hate MFC move.... Who knows... What I know is they missed what could have been the best story in football for the year!!
  • 1 year later...

Seriously: Been at both(?) of the games so far. Stirring stuff (possibly - but hopefully not totally - cos we won). This is something MFC MUST retain a pre-eminent role in. Nailing my colours to the mast, I reckon a womens comp should be the curtain raiser comp to the AFL.

T