Posted

the AFL wont move us anywhere the oldest club named after the capitol city of the heart of football stands for too much and means too much in a promotional and marketing sense.

just because you and i think that, doesn't mean that everybody else does....

The stronger clubs in Melbourne could easily cover any financial loss, after our relocation.... In fact... The stronger clubs would appreciate the expansion space....relocating us allows them space to grow....

Your dreaming if you think that being the oldest or being named Melbourne will stop our relocation.... Footy is a business now... Not a charity....

Posted

just because you and i think that, doesn't mean that everybody else does....

The stronger clubs in Melbourne could easily cover any financial loss, after our relocation.... In fact... The stronger clubs would appreciate the expansion space....relocating us allows them space to grow....

Your dreaming if you think that being the oldest or being named Melbourne will stop our relocation.... Footy is a business now... Not a charity....

The other teams are hurting financially because of our rubbish performances of the last 6 years and Demetriou said this. It will be less costly in the long run for the AFL to bail us out instead of relocation and this will be more beneficial for all Melbourne clubs. To relocate millions would have to be spent, stadium logistics etc would have to be considered. It won't happen.

Posted

The other teams are hurting financially because of our rubbish performances of the last 6 years and Demetriou said this. It will be less costly in the long run for the AFL to bail us out instead of relocation and this will be more beneficial for all Melbourne clubs. To relocate millions would have to be spent, stadium logistics etc would have to be considered. It won't happen.

thats why they will be leaning toward Tassie, who are crying out for a footy team the AFL.... Their crying is so loud that their government might even foot the bill....

If it were north in our position.... Do you think merging or relocation would be on the cards?

Posted

if north were in our position they would move, but we are a better promotional tool if we stay at the MCG

Posted

thats why they will be leaning toward Tassie, who are crying out for a footy team the AFL.... Their crying is so loud that their government might even foot the bill....

If it were north in our position.... Do you think merging or relocation would be on the cards?

Tassie are not big enough to stand alone.

A relocated team in Tassie will always be on the teet.

It is better to get the MFC punching again from the MCG. it is what is happening.

Posted

i would love any of the above jumbo, maybe not as senior coach but definately as assistants especially kirk

Posted (edited)

Why not Eade BBO?

I can't really give a logical answer. I have watched Roos " on the couch" and he has impressed me with his calmness, his knowledge, his incisive questions and comments, his humanity and his obvious, if understated, charisma. Eade simply doesn't raise my interest. I do not doubt his credentials etc, and if we had a halfway decent side, I wouldn't object. However we do not have a halfway decent side and we need more than a terrific coach.

Edited by Bitter but optimistic

Posted

Tell me a Brett Kirk or a Gavin Brown or a Shane Woewodin wouldn't excite you?

As an assistant definitely.

Posted

Brett Kirk would frighten more than excite me, less than a years experience in coaching having spent time in the media after retiring from senior footy. Would be a crazy idea and has danger written all over it given our current situation.

Woey did a very good job at East Fremantle but there are better out there.

Gavin Brown can't say much about him, assistant at Carlton was a good player who was a leader

Posted

Brett Kirk would frighten more than excite me, less than a years experience in coaching having spent time in the media after retiring from senior footy. Would be a crazy idea and has danger written all over it given our current situation.

Woey did a very good job at East Fremantle but there are better out there.

Gavin Brown can't say much about him, assistant at Carlton was a good player who was a leader

Born leader.

Players respect him and would do anything for him.

Imagine a triad of big, big names and the place would start humming again.

We're a laughing stock and Eade, Williams, blah blah wouldn't cut it.

Posted (edited)

Here's a question:

If we secured Roos as senior coach and after 18 months/36 games of coaching he only had 3 wins on the board, should he be sacked?

I suspect that nobody would be around to care....IF the club was still in existence :-((((((

PS rumour heard in the west today was that Roos is heading for WCE. Said to be a big house already set up for him and family.

Posted

Born leader.

I have no doubt you're right and they would be great coaches, but i think appointing an untried coach would be a huge risk, i'd love Gavin Brown in a succession plan with Williams and Eade but in all honesty if we were to go untried i would take Adam Simpson.

Posted

Born leader.

That is nonsense Tim Watson was a leader but couldn't cut it as a senior coach, neither could Schimmelbusch who was another leader as a player, Royce Hart, Danny Frawley I could go on. Mick Malthouse and Kevin Sheedy dour defenders who ended up being great coaches. Ross Lyon & Alistair Clarkson average footballers but A grade coaches.

I wont argue with you any more it is clear you don't rate Williams or Eade but I do and we are all entitled to our opinion

Posted

That is nonsense Tim Watson was a leader but couldn't cut it as a senior coach, neither could Schimmelbusch who was another leader as a player, Royce Hart, Danny Frawley I could go on. Mick Malthouse and Kevin Sheedy dour defenders who ended up being great coaches. Ross Lyon & Alistair Clarkson average footballers but A grade coaches.

I wont argue with you any more it is clear you don't rate Williams or Eade but I do and we are all entitled to our opinion

Flawed comparisons.

Old, cold era.

I'm not arguing with you or anyone, I'm debating. Williams is finished, Eade is washed up, Roos is unavailable. Jeez, we're desperate.

Posted

Unless its as an assistant, Christ NO!

I'd give up on the MFC cos I'd know we are truly [censored] beyond repair.

Posted

Well, you are going to disappointed jumbo.

We will go for an experienced head coach.

Oh, and just a big bag o crazy to think that the AFL wants another market at the moment. They are pumping money into two places at the moment.

They just want us to get our act together.

I really don't know where this crazy is coming from?

Posted

Oh, and just a big bag o crazy to think that the AFL wants another market at the moment. They are pumping money into two places at the moment.

Mate, we support Melbourne, it would be more of a worry if we were making sense.

Posted

rpfc, everyone's chatting, having a discussion.

Nothing's personal. I don't like the potential incumbents as they all look tired to me.

Paul Roos just breaks my heart as he aint coming, and I don't trust PJ.

It's all good.

Posted

It's personal when people intimate a CEO I has designs to move the team.

Stop being so precious and placing blind faith in PJ.

I don't trust him, you do.

I don't like Eade, Craig or Williams, you do.

Move on.