Reason why an experienced proven coach would take the Melbourne job

Posted

Didn't you know that Walter Mit...err, GNF, has two sources - a player manager AND a board member. The player manager has told him that Watts has received interest from Carlton and that Frawley and a number other others are set to go in a mass walk out (unless I missed them, no other names were mentioned, funnily enough - despite him saying he has provided names in other threads)... the board member told him that Roos is talking to the club about coaching next year... this despite the fact that he has come out and categorically stated he is not interested in coaching at all next year and certainly not interested in coaching Melbourne in any way, shape or form in the short term; but of course GNF will tell you that this is a "professional lie" because Neeld is currently under contract.

Hardtack if Frawley, Watts and Sylvia are not thinking about going to another team I would be amazed.

Sylvia is the only one who could walk, the other two would need the assistance of the MFC.

Cannot see that happening.

Would either of them be taken by a team if the MFC said first two round draft picks please?

If they stand out for the pre season draft chances are the MFC will have first pick and can threaten to draft them back.

That of course assumes the MFC want them?

Posted

Hardtack if Frawley, Watts and Sylvia are not thinking about going to another team I would be amazed.

Sylvia is the only one who could walk, the other two would need the assistance of the MFC.

Cannot see that happening.

Would either of them be taken by a team if the MFC said first two round draft picks please?

If they stand out for the pre season draft chances are the MFC will have first pick and can threaten to draft them back.

That of course assumes the MFC want them?

I am not doubting that OD, but I get the feeling Watts will be fine and that he and Neeld will settle their differences (if there are in fact any to begin with).

Sylvia may go and many will say he will not be missed, but I get the feeling he would like to see his time out with the Dees and that a lot of people underestimate his loyalty to the club. I for one hope he will remain at the club.

As for Frawley, I think you will find that GNF is basing his whole theory on him leaving the club around that still unsubstantiated rumour of a nightclub altercation between he and Sylvia.

Posted

I am not doubting that OD, but I get the feeling Watts will be fine and that he and Neeld will settle their differences (if there are in fact any to begin with).

Sylvia may go and many will say he will not be missed, but I get the feeling he would like to see his time out with the Dees and that a lot of people underestimate his loyalty to the club. I for one hope he will remain at the club.

As for Frawley, I think you will find that GNF is basing his whole theory on him leaving the club around that still unsubstantiated rumour of a nightclub altercation between he and Sylvia.

I am basing my ideas on the fact that the MFC now and for the next few years is not going to be a fun place.

Any one of the half decent players at the Dees must be thinking almost anywhere is better than here.

Now that "Half decent group" is probably only ten in total which says lots to me

Posted

I am not doubting that OD, but I get the feeling Watts will be fine and that he and Neeld will settle their differences (if there are in fact any to begin with).Sylvia may go and many will say he will not be missed, but I get the feeling he would like to see his time out with the Dees and that a lot of people underestimate his loyalty to the club. I for one hope he will remain at the club.As for Frawley, I think you will find that GNF is basing his whole theory on him leaving the club around that still unsubstantiated rumour of a nightclub altercation between he and Sylvia.

Geez I hope you're right hardtack - I would love to see Sylvia play out his career at the Dees.

I'm thoroughly sick of seeing the treatment of our senior players over the last decade - it's got to change.

Posted

Geez I hope you're right hardtack - I would love to see Sylvia play out his career at the Dees.

I'm thoroughly sick of seeing the treatment of our senior players over the last decade - it's got to change.

It will only be different if he wants to stay RB

Would you?

Posted

4) We are likely to land a Priority Pick in 2014, which in the right hands would be pure gold and we may go in with picks 2 and 3

Why do people keep talking about a priority pick...they no longer exist, unless the AFL itself sees fit to hand one out.

Posted

I think the club should have 2 priorities:

1. Secure Peter Jackson to a 3 year contract. The league love him, whose help we need desperately.

2. Get AFL approval (not publicly, yet) on a priority pick.

If we can shop those around we can land a great, experienced coach. Once we get an experienced coach we can use that priority pick to our advantage and start shopping our early picks around for experienced mids. Mids that will want to come to the club and play under a proven coach.

Posted

Too right there are many reasons.

Hogan

Some very young gun draft selection in the system lead by Jimmy Toumpass.

A chance to wear the red and blue-make us all cheer again.

Lots more....just going for a coffee

Posted

ive given up

spoke to a good mate last night and the verdict was its all over for mn

so now thats out of the road whos available

only one with the goods and senior ready is brett ratten

couple of draft picks<the right ones>

another preseason under misson

cam ling new midfield coach

fit list with a new skipper<clark>

ratten will give them the chance to play free footy

renowned at getting mids right

i guess theres a lot of things we wish for but really this is the easy and cheapest option

hopefully it will end the penalty for the last 6 games of 2011

Posted (edited)

All good reasons for someone to take on the job.

The main problem is that the best candidates are already currently coaching at the better clubs and unlikely to walk.

I have my reservations about Roos should the job become available because I'm unsure as to whether he has the right attitude to take on the Melbourne Football Club. I'm not even sure if he has a hard enough edge to take us where we want to go after a few years out in comfortable retirement with his two mates on the couch.

Blokes like Eade and Ayres don't appeal as being quite right. So who's left?

John Swooper Northey for 3 years?

Will bring in an us v the rest hard edge mentality and would be cheap. Surround him with some quality assistant coaches like Tudor/Sumich who are up with the modern game that we could throw more money at given Northey's no doubt cheaper price tag?

Won't happen, but I reckon it would be a great story!

Edit: Spelling

Edited by Tall Defence
Posted

ive given up

spoke to a good mate last night and the verdict was its all over for mn

so now thats out of the road whos available

only one with the goods and senior ready is brett ratten

couple of draft picks<the right ones>

another preseason under misson

cam ling new midfield coach

fit list with a new skipper<clark>

ratten will give them the chance to play free footy

renowned at getting mids right

i guess theres a lot of things we wish for but really this is the easy and cheapest option

hopefully it will end the penalty for the last 6 games of 2011

I reckon Ratten would be an excellent choice. I rate him as a coach. Very unlucky to be axed at Carlton and wouldn't have if Malthouse wasn't available.

Coached senior footy last year and is a senior assistant this year (at a top club) so has both up to date knowledge about the game (as opposed to Roos who has been out of day to day AFL for 2-3 years) and would also know Melbourne's list pretty well.

Posted

The other thing about Ratten is if Neeld was sacked now i reckon the Hawks would release him and he could slot straight in, obviating the need for a care taker coach.

Posted

the thing about ratten is Carlton started last year playing some fantastic attacking football, then they had injuries to key players and they couldn't play like that without them, he was very unlucky in my opinion.

Honestly i'd rather Paul Roos or Mark Williams, but i wouldn't be crying in a corner if we got ratten,

and really why wouldn't they want to come?

good forward line, if we chase prestia and thomas maybe another during the trade period and possibly a priority pick, we could turn things around pretty quickly under a different coach.

Posted

had a long chat to a good footy person last night about this

i dont know all the answers and dont want to predict this that or the other and dont want to wish

it just seems financially and pratical

roos mathews are a no go

cameron ling speaks sparingly but right every time

i dont want the coach sacked , but its pretty glaring now that its all over

glad you agree binman

sick of the negatives and i think we do have positives within the club