McGuire is impossible - Just a Grandstander

OK I'll drop the flood analogy, though please acknowledge there can be exceptional circumstances which can require external assistance and tell me why the current case doesn't qualify.

The Pres and the board made a huge decision to drop EW. No doubt this decision was correct and based on on principle. They would have known the financial implications. Let's show a little support for them and give them time to sort out a replacement. It has after all only been a few days.

The Pres and the board made a huge decision todrop EW. No doubt this decision was correct and based on on principle. They would have known the financial implications. Let's show a little support for them and give them time to sort out a replacement. It has after all only been a few days.

Sure. That's why my preferred option is interim help from the AFL. It is not needed this week - presumably we can pay the bills, and maybe it will never be needed. I'd expect/hope the AFL would be embarrassed if it had to be left to EE to organize such help, so they'd step in. I'm no fan of EE at all, I just don't see a reason to bag him over this.

(1)Now you're using the word "interim" so your argument has changed. End of discussion.

(2) If you wonder why he is bagged then think back to his opportunistic use of Liam Jurrah and ask youself what his motives might be.

(1)Now you're using the word "interim" so your argument has changed. End of discussion.

(2) If you wonder why he is bagged then think back to his opportunistic use of Liam Jurrah and ask youself what his motives might be.

Correct. Eddie is looking after the Filth. They have 70,000+ members & there is only one ground that can handle that. Our home. Fight our own Battles MFC...

For all those that didn't hear this, what exactly did he offer to do?

Nothing.

It's a campaign to deteriorate the image of the MFC under the premise of some sort of ambiguous charity.

Yes. I have grave concerns for all that right now. People are talking of another 5 or so years to get this list up to scratch. We don't have anything like that amount of time to wallow at the basement of the competition.

The first of the vultures has already smelt a victory & is circling.

We took 6 flags off the Filth, they would love to be the first in with a fresh blade. Make no mistake of that.

What WYL???

We don't need 5 years to rebuild the list

We need 3 years of development as we climb the ladder.

We will be playing finals next year, 2013...!

We need to get this gamestyle down & intuitive. We need more Pre Seasons jn our players, & a bit more size across the younger players.

Part of the biggest problem is the supporters speculation that first were going to be top 7,,,, and then we see our struggles after Jimmas funeral, & a trip across the Nullabor, to not Freo, But the 2nd or 3rd best side in the Comp currently.

Then everyone Panics & spreads Demise. I thought we want our players to show some spine. Well it should start with ours as well. Honesty plus support.

Nothing.

It's a campaign to deteriorate the image of the MFC under the premise of some sort of ambiguous charity.

Ok so just the usual McGuire [censored] then.

Nothing.

Spot on AW and as I say, if he was really genuine he would work in the background not grandstand, make emotive statements and build pressure on our board and admin. P*** off Eddie!

What WYL???

We don't need 5 years to rebuild the list

We need 3 years of development as we climb the ladder.

We will be playing finals next year, 2013...!

We need to get this gamestyle down & intuitive. We need more Pre Seasons jn our players, & a bit more size across the younger players.

Part of the biggest problem is the supporters speculation that first were going to be top 7,,,, and then we see our struggles after Jimmas funeral, & a trip across the Nullabor, to not Freo, But the 2nd or 3rd best side in the Comp currently.

Then everyone Panics & spreads Demise. I thought we want our players to show some spine. Well it should start with ours as well. Honesty plus support.

You really think this list club will play finals in 2013 do you?

HOW? & who shall we displace???

Be honest now.

Sorry, I had used 'interim' in another thread and forgot I had omitted it here. But I think it was at least implied with my flood analogy where you don't send money to flood victims forever, just in the interim to tide victims over. Whoever funds comes from, it will be 'interim' - noone would be prepared to donate more than that needed to tide us over any gap in payments from EW.

But even if I had suddenly added 'interim' - I don't see how that justifies an arrogant 'end of discussion' statement. That is just being rude.

Geez, I never thought I'd be cast in the role of an EE defender…

In the early 90s Essendon and Carlton player a preseason practice match and the proceedes went to collingwood. Their finances were shot, they lost money with a soccer team and on an ex school they bought.

It just shows you that the wheel turns. Sounds like a soap opera.

I think Eddie's pro-Melbourne sentiment yesterday is more indicative of good PR than it is of good ol' patrionising Eddie just making a mockery of the club. I think after some particular anti-Melbourne rhetoric ("This isn't Melbourne where you can just come in and take out players"), Collingwood media team probably told him to tone down the patrionising negativity towards the club.

I believe he's genuine. I don't think anyone likes seeing this club being consistently awful.

I think Eddie's pro-Melbourne sentiment yesterday is more indicative of good PR than it is of good ol' patrionising Eddie just making a mockery of the club. I think after some particular anti-Melbourne rhetoric ("This isn't Melbourne where you can just come in and take out players"), Collingwood media team probably told him to tone down the patrionising negativity towards the club.

Could you really imagine anyone at Collingwood (or elsehwere) telling Ed what to say?

He just needs to shut up. It has nothing to do with him, there is no proof of any genuine concern (as you point out most recently he has behaved to the contrary).

Ed's PR brief is about him, his show and his club.

He will continue to drive his own agenda on it and probably couldn't be happier than to see the MFC under the pump.

Not a fan of Ed's but the bloke has a footy show of sorts, he brings on Harold, it would seem he's pretty influential around town and well off, they then talk about how company's should take the opportunity to sponsor us, basically, THEY WERE TRYING TO HELP US.

I was bought up to thank people who, TRY, to help, we can listen and accept or listen and say no thanks.

Not a fan of Ed's but the bloke has a footy show of sorts, he brings on Harold, it would seem he's pretty influential around town and well off, they then talk about how company's should take the opportunity to sponsor us, basically, THEY WERE TRYING TO HELP US.

I was bought up to thank people who, TRY, to help, we can listen and accept or listen and say no thanks.

Trying to promote his club and himself under the guise of trying to help us.

It's all a PR exercise about him being a good bloke and Collingwood having the strength to help us, when really they have none.

He has done no more for our cause that hasn't already been done by the media firestorm publicising our plight, following the EnergyWatch debacle.

Just wait til we get a new sponsor - he'll be all over the place trying to claim responsibility for it.

Trying to promote his club and himself under the guise of trying to help us.

It's all a PR exercise about him being a good bloke and Collingwood having the strength to help us, when really they have none.

He has done no more for our cause that hasn't already been done by the media firestorm publicising our plight, following the EnergyWatch debacle.

Just wait til we get a new sponsor - he'll be all over the place trying to claim responsibility for it.

He's too rat cunning for that. He'll give a bashful smile and say "it was nothing really just doing my bit"

I just want us to survive. I don't care about the means to that end.

I would rather eat a hefty serving of humble pie than die. You know what they say about pride? Muppets lol!

I just want us to survive. I don't care about the means to that end.

I would rather eat a hefty serving of humble pie than die. You know what they say about pride? Muppets lol!

"Eating humble pie" and waiting for Eddie to solve our problems will lead the club to death.

Only we can and will get ourselves out of this pickle, anything else is pure fantasy.

And it's not half as bad as it may appear.

I wasn't suggesting we wait for Eddie to solve our problems, my comment was more a general one- I don't are how we are saved. And it is just paranoia if you think a particular person saving us will lead to the death of us.

People care too much about how we are perceived. FWIW we are seen as a joke. Is that a position we have put ourselves in? Probably. How do we remedy it? Start winning. Can we do that if we sink? No. Am I being annoying by asking questions and them answering them myself? Yes. Do I care? Not on your life.

I wasn't suggesting we wait for Eddie to solve our problems, my comment was more a general one- I don't are how we are saved. And it is just paranoia if you think a particular person saving us will lead to the death of us.

People care too much about how we are perceived. FWIW we are seen as a joke. Is that a position we have put ourselves in? Probably. How do we remedy it? Start winning. Can we do that if we sink? No. Am I being annoying by asking questions and them answering them myself? Yes. Do I care? Not on your life.

Once again, humble pie has nothing to do with bettering the club's current situation.

No paranoia - pure fact.

Waiting for Eddie to save the club will be the death of it, because that will never happen.

You are missing my point. Moving on.

Maybe it's you that missed mine?

Either way, I don't think we'd necessarily agree if we did.

Once again, humble pie has nothing to do with bettering the club's current situation.

No paranoia - pure fact.

Waiting for Eddie to save the club will be the death of it, because that will never happen.

Agree. In the short term, this is an AFL matter, not an Eddie matter. Thanks for the offer mate but no thanks.

I suspect that deep down some within the footy world might be a little jealous of our boy Jim getting the magnificent recognition and send off that he did. Don't fool yourselves, Acker may not be alone in this. Watch your back Demons....watch your back.

As for new major sponsors, there's no other AFL club that gets as much publicity for it's off field dramas than us on such a regular basis :blink: ... and i'm betting there's more than one decent sponsor out their willing to take us on. They'll get some pretty good bang for their buck.

We'll be taking it up to the rest of the comp, including Eddie's mob, within 2 to 3 seasons both on and off the field i reckon.

Keep the faith fellow demonoids

B)