Posted

He was where a senior coach has to be - straddling both sides.

Agree, it is my view that he was too far one way.

He had to live or die by his decisions and we know what happened.

I just get to sit here in the outer and with hind sight say I think he was wrong.

It is marvelious being an arm chair expert!

• Replies 118

Posted

Brighton types meaning a few on our board. (will not name them!) Not that i have anythng against brighton but we need people who grew up on a not so affluent

side of town who knows what it means to work hard, to sternly voice an opinion and fight for what you love, not sit back and look adoringly at your paycheck.

You were given the opportunity to be specific and concise rather than vague and wishy-washy and you missed it. Those looking for intelligent, informed opinions will now skip over your posts from now on. Bad luck.

Posted

You were given the opportunity to be specific and concise rather than vague and wishy-washy and you missed it. Those looking for intelligent, informed opinions will now skip over your posts from now on. Bad luck.

I dont think i was being wishy-washy. I just feel there are 2 or 3 people still there that could do with a good

kick in the arse.

Ones our CEO, ones the ex coach of fremantle who mind you dosnt even have a job description at the moment, hes just there

and one is the head of commercial operations who is extremely lucky he signed energy watch after burning our current 2 sponsors

not to mention volvo.

Posted

Very Well Said....We are well on the way from being a weak club....But we still have a lot of Learning to do on the journey.

Was it DeeLuded who called them "Growing Pains"? A perfect analogy....as long as the playing group are all good & tight, last monday should make them stronger.

In hindsight everything was cruising along well before 2011, the kick in teh guts year we had may have shown us things don't just happen you have to make it, I think it was Yabby Jeans who said I don't respect your talent I respect what you do with it.

Posted

Not that i have anythng against brighton but we need people who grew up on a not so affluent

side of town who knows what it means to work hard, to sternly voice an opinion and fight for what you love, not sit back and look adoringly at your paycheck.

Clearly you do. Airing a shoulder chip by chance?

..3 guys are no longer with the club for the same reason and those reasons still work for the MFC...

Oh dear.....

Posted

Brighton types meaning a few on our board. (will not name them!) Not that i have anythng against brighton but we need people who grew up on a not so affluent

Im still bleeding from the way Jimmy Mac was treated and the way he was sent on his way and i still feel as if Miller and Bruce

would still be required players at our club due to our platform base so definitely taking nothing away from them.

Cam Bruce was someone i always admired as a player and had the privilege of speaking to him a number of times but reality has it these

3 guys are no longer with the club for the same reason and those reasons still work for the MFC...

This will be good....The unknowing author here is walking cheerfully into a trap.

That trap is a boiling hot barrell of Fat....Stay tuned Demonlander....shhhh WYL scurries off into the darkness for a beer and Peter Stuyvesant!!

Posted

Your assessment of what we need on the MFC Board is more a reflection of your issues rather than the MFC Board issues.

ok RR. sorry mate, Apologies. Their doing a terrific stand-up job.

Posted

Would you really know with post like this? Hard to take you seriously with that.

Not that i have anythng against brighton but we need people who grew up on a not so affluent

Better luck next time.

Posted

Demonage, It's the psycological profile of all people. Those way down on their luck, so to speak, can tend to be Way over Introspective. they question themselves to pieces.

On the other end of the spectrum is the Elite & successful businessman supporter who comes along to watch they're team they finance play. then shake hands over a Wine or other beverage. And after year on year keep asking when is it our turn, scratched head again... Completely lacking any Self Introspection,,, because they can't accept that they area part of the Bruise Free problem with our club.

Keep blaming those you've apparently miss hired again & again & again...

When (past tense) the Hawks who are (were) having sausge sizzles and a beer with close supporters outside the changerooms,,, Win Flag after Flag after Flag with the Unkept Alan Jeans.... As did the Blues & Bombers... with a ratbag named Sheedy. How Uncouth!

Posted

I dont think we are a weak club, i just feel as if we have a few incompetent people in our administration and since Jim

has been ill has has been unable to keep them dragged up to his impeccable level.

We should definitely fight for better compensation but in all seriousness, who have we got to do this?

The only person that can really do it and be heard is fighting for his life.

In saying this Scully gave us nothing this year. He was dispassionate and it showed with his average of 12 possessions

a game in his 10 games. He really does not deserve to wear a red and blue jumper and good riddance to him.

Hes gone from dandenong to blacktown. Seems like an excitng adventure hes about to embark on.

How much better compo do you want than 2 first round picks????

Posted (edited)

Actually I agree that we have too many Brighton types - I just looked at Collingwoods board and I know that 3 of them at least live in Toorak and without type casting the others, where exactly would the CEO of the Pies, a surgeon, an Olympic skier and CEO of Starcom live ?

For goodsakes Dees wise up and stop having poverty striken Brighton types on the board - we need Toorak !!!!!

Edited by nutbean
Posted

Demonage, It's the psycological profile of all people. Those way down on their luck, so to speak, can tend to be Way over Introspective. they question themselves to pieces.

On the other end of the spectrum is the Elite & successful businessman supporter who comes along to watch they're team they finance play. then shake hands over a Wine or other beverage. And after year on year keep asking when is it our turn, scratched head again... Completely lacking any Self Introspection,,, because they can't accept that they area part of the Bruise Free problem with our club.

Keep blaming those you've apparently miss hired again & again & again...

When (past tense) the Hawks who are (were) having sausge sizzles and a beer with close supporters outside the changerooms,,, Win Flag after Flag after Flag with the Unkept Alan Jeans.... As did the Blues & Bombers... with a ratbag named Sheedy. How Uncouth!

So a Barbie at your place this sunday Mate??demon_cool.gif

Posted

Im still bleeding from the way Jimmy Mac was treated and the way he was sent on his way and i still feel as if Miller and Bruce

would still be required players at our club due to our platform base so definitely taking nothing away from them.

Cam Bruce was someone i always admired as a player and had the privilege of speaking to him a number of times but reality has it these

3 guys are no longer with the club for the same reason and those reasons still work for the MFC...

Er, well played number er, um, ah, cough, - just what is your number old chap?

Posted (edited)

So a Barbie at your place this sunday Mate??demon_cool.gif

HaHaHa, nice, I'd love that actually. Maybe when I'm ready to move to Tassie.

We can wake up the male'ish Girls around here. They're a handful themselves, Phew!

No but seriously, we need a innercity training & social facility close to town (Elsternwick Park) as well as @ Casey.

A come back down to Earth fellas, your getting Way ahead of yourselves type place. That is what's missing.

Our boys can't help but think they've made it as soon as they're getting Senior games, then they Stop learning & developing. They start copping slaps on the back for one nice kick, and they start getting invites for cheap cars & cushy jobs. Because the Well to Do want them in their Relm.

This spoils our players & stops their anxiety to continue to become the Best they can be. (I've made it now, I don't have to put my body in to be crunched)

They need to be brought down to Earth by supporters crying to them asking when we are going to win again. Why can't we Win a Grand Final Jack? Whats wrong with us??? "sort of questions".

Status makes 'Hunger' get stale.

Posted

Er, well played number er, um, ah, cough, - just what is your number old chap?

A closed mouth gathers no foot.

Posted

Mr Scully said something like "The money was a consideration and I look forward to ...." In other words, the only thing he explicitly identified that drove his decision was the cash everything else is self-justifying.

There is nothing in this that says 'weak club'. Them's were the rules. Here is why it was a great result for all:

GWS: It is a 6 million marketing spend. Talk about media coverage!

GWS: They get someone who may be the next footy god, have the cash, and can take the risk.

AFL: Gets to be boss

AFL: Gets GWS some talent

MFC: Not stuck with a 5 year deal which would be overpriced relative to his team mates for a kid.

MFC: Get top shelf compensation.

MFC: A player with an almost psychological need to overtrain and live footy, with a degenerative knee, is off the list. He will need managing and nursing to play a full quota of games.

I wont boo him. I will boo the AFL for their handling of all of this.

Posted

Mr Scully said something like "The money was a consideration and I look forward to ...." In other words, the only thing he explicitly identified that drove his decision was the cash everything else is self-justifying.

I wont boo him. I will boo the AFL for their handling of all of this.

I seriously wonder how TS will maintain 6 years of self-motivation when his main stated motive for moving was money. Once he has the contract signed, and proved to the world that he is 'valued', and pocketed his first $2mill in year 1, what more is there to play for? In a forgettable suburb of a town that doesn't want to know you or your footy code... why keep putting yourself through the grind for 6 years? I reckon the gloss will wear off relatively soon into that contract. The team (and he!) will know he's not there for the challenge, for the next win, for the club, for a premiership, for the mates on the field of battle. He's already got his win in his pocket in year 1. And after the game, it's a hurried departure from the rooms with a Cartman-like "screw you guys, I'm going home".

That's a good way to make yourself a pariah. Even worse when you're stuck in that rut for 6 years.

Let me just go and find that voodoo doll and stick a few more pins into that knee....