Posted (edited)

Melbourne and the MCC go hand in and hand.

I headed to the MCC for the first time last season and this how I experienced it.

Read the article. Some interesting thoughts.

Meat pie or fine dining? An MCC Experience

Post your memories and thoughts of your MCC experience.

Do you prefer a meat pie in the outer or fine dining with Melbourne's finest?

Are you an MCC member?

Edited by Wonaeamirri=STAR

Posted

Yeah, I gotta say, the Dining Room is far from the typical MCC experience.

It's the Dining Room experience, which is entirely different.

I've not yet been in the dining room and would only consider it for a game not featuring MFC.

A pie on the balcony and quick schooners in the Grey-Smith is where it's at.

Posted

Prefer the meat pie in the stands but have been in the dining room on many occasions. Completely different feeling of being at the football.

Posted

I hope you enjoyed the day.

Its a great view spot in the MCC members and the facilities are good. You dont get some of the LCDs that can populate the outer and ruin a day of football.

But I dont think the dining room experience is at all indicative of the true MCC experience.

Posted

rpfc enjoys some red rooster and his friends company in the outer when he goes to the footy.

The dining room is for neutrals and those that don't really like football, but want to be seen to like football.

Persuade me people, persuade me!

Posted

rpfc enjoys some red rooster and his friends company in the outer when he goes to the footy.

The dining room is for neutrals and those that don't really like football, but want to be seen to like football.

Persuade me people, persuade me!

You lost me at Red Rooster then won me again at outer.

You haven't lived if you haven't experienced footy at the bogan level

Posted

As a long time MCC member I only go into the dining room for special functions (for example the 2010 Melbourne Football Club AGM).

Otherwise I steer well clear of the room, reason, it's too damn expensive!

If I do purchase anything to eat in the members area then I head for the little cafe at the back of the dining room, still too expensive but more convivial.

My advice: save the money you would have spent on "fine" dining in the members and use it to purchase shares in Spotless Group Ltd. They're the ones who do most of the catering at the "G" so they're the ones raking in the profits from your meals.

Posted

2 hot dogs in the outer with the great unwashed . B)

Guest Redleg_24
Posted

Sorry mate...but that article is rubbish. Like other posters have stated, if you think that going o the Dining Room at the MCC is the 'True' MCC experience, then you have no idea. I will go with the Level 2 balcony for a Melbourne game with a meat pie over sitting in the Southern Stand amongst a scattering of Dee's members anyday of the week.

I feel that your article really fails to grasp the true MCC culture. Perhaps you should have tried the Frank Gray Smith bar.

Posted

We sit right at the players' race.

Direct access back and forth from the Bullring. Same crowd sit around there every week, regardless of a lack of reserved seats etc. We all know each other, say G'day, share a hug if we win, cheer the boys on, cheer the boys off and down a pint afterwards at the photo of Robbie Flower's first finals match.

That's my MCC experience.

Posted

Level 2 seating, on the wing, with pre-game/half time/full time beers in the Percy Beames or Bullring. That's the MCC.

^ This.

Posted

can't stand the dining room or long room, for the simple reason that they are too well-sealed acoustically. Completely knocks any atmosphere straight on the head

Posted

Sorry mate...but that article is rubbish. Like other posters have stated, if you think that going o the Dining Room at the MCC is the 'True' MCC experience, then you have no idea. I will go with the Level 2 balcony for a Melbourne game with a meat pie over sitting in the Southern Stand amongst a scattering of Dee's members anyday of the week.

I feel that your article really fails to grasp the true MCC culture. Perhaps you should have tried the Frank Gray Smith bar.

Fair call.

Thanks for your feedback.

Next time I'll try to visit more parts of the MCC to grasp its true culture.

Is it true Melbourne have 10,000 MCC affliated members?

Posted

Good luck to the tofs in the dining room- too expensive for me every time I go.

Posted

Level 2 seating, on the wing, with pre-game/half time/full time beers in the Percy Beames or Bullring. That's the MCC.

Yep, a beer in the Percy Beames before and after the Game (if we win) Sit with my dad on level 2 MCC (50 year Members section)

Great view above the Players race. I have only been into the dining room once-to stiff and expensive for me.

Although the MCC Reserve can be just as loud as anywhere else if the game is close.

Posted

I've been an MCC / MFC member and my usual spot is level 3 where the Frank Grey Smith Bar is located. Great view, great bar and passionate Melbourne supporters every week.

That article is a joke.

Posted

Fair call.

Thanks for your feedback.

Next time I'll try to visit more parts of the MCC to grasp its true culture.

Is it true Melbourne have 10,000 MCC affliated members?

Define "affiliated".

There are over 20K MCC members that support Melbourne, but I think I may have read that just under half of those also have an MFC membership, which is in effect a donation.

Posted

Define "affiliated".

There are over 20K MCC members that support Melbourne, but I think I may have read that just under half of those also have an MFC membership, which is in effect a donation.

It's around about 25,000, which is roughly a quarter of all MCC members. That is, about 25,000 MCC members say that they support Melbourne.

Easily seen at any of our home games. We outnumber whoever we're playing, including Collingwood, and for the majority of 2010 Levels 1, 2 and 3 were full or close to it.

Posted

It's around about 25,000, which is roughly a quarter of all MCC members. That is, about 25,000 MCC members say that they support Melbourne.

Easily seen at any of our home games. We outnumber whoever we're playing, including Collingwood, and for the majority of 2010 Levels 1, 2 and 3 were full or close to it.

Yes i agree, since the MCC Reserve has been rebuilt the Members most weeks turn out in big numbers. I really Hope the club can tap into more MCC members for that "donation", because the MCC members are just as passionate about the Demons as anybody else

(least me and my dad are!!)

The stereotype view that the MCC members are soft and rarely turn up is wrong. That is why i am so glad the Football club has joined once again with the MCC, it makes it easier to pay the $700 each year!

We do Turn up and we do make a lot of noise!

Posted

Been a MCC member since 1967 ( put down at birth ) and watched the Dees for decades in the now demolished Northern Stand middle deck (public area) because few of my mates were MCC members. Today, it's on the standing room terraces in front of the Blazer Bar ground level Members. I NEVER dress-up and find the wing position, elevation, roof above plus tv monitors overhead to check the stats and the replays SENSATIONAL.

Posted (edited)

There are, as TU said, around 25k MFC supporters in the MCC.

Over 9k of those people are signed up MFC members for 2011.

Those non-MCC supporters who have a problem with us can you know what.

Those MCC members who can afford the $150 but take the $50 can do the same. Those MCC members that can afford the $50 but don't take it up can also do the same.

It isn't a question of being 'with us' or 'against us' it's a matter of me not liking you because you support a cricket club you have probably never seen play (and never want to, bunch of arrogant....) until you pay the extra donation to the MFC.

I don't care that the MCC gives money to the club, until you do - I don't want to know about you.