dee-luded 2,959 Posted September 6, 2010 Posted September 6, 2010 Jarrad Waite http://www.footywire...s--jarrad-waite As tall options go he'd be a versatile aquisition who could play Front & Back. A talented player without the superstar status. What are peoples thoughts on him, as we build towards top 4,,,,,,,,,, & other tall options?
Bay Riffin 1,520 Posted September 6, 2010 Posted September 6, 2010 Jarrad Waite http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pp-carlton-blues--jarrad-waite As tall options go he'd be a versatile aquisition who could play Front & Back. A talented player without the superstar status. What are peoples thoughts on him, as we build towards top 4,,,,,,,,,, & other tall options? good player but that losing mindset is entrenched in his system. could have won them the final in the last quarter on the weekend but missed an open goal from 20 metres, plus missing other gettable shots as well. I reckon he would be a great wingman, but would have to pay too much. coming off a knee reco as well. Let Carlton take our NQR players. it's more fun that way.
Daytona Demon 0 Posted September 6, 2010 Posted September 6, 2010 He's 28 in February. He's got a history of injury and suspension problems... so I'd say no. He always seems to have a good day against us, but I don't think he's the type of player we need either.. I think we should just keep bringing in kids until we're close to flag contention, and then we can maybe have a crack at a couple of experienced players who fit our needs...
Chook 15,087 Posted September 6, 2010 Posted September 6, 2010 Carlton would never trade him either. After Judd, he is probably their most important player, at least in the games I've seen of them. I'd love him at my Club if I were trying to win the GF next year. I'm not, so I'd rather chase up a ruckman a few years younger than Waite.
Deeoldfart 8,205 Posted September 6, 2010 Posted September 6, 2010 No thanks. Too old and too expensive. Besides, he'd never leave Carlton with his father /son connection, and the fact that he probably has the (mistaken) view that the Scum are headed for higher places.
Red and Blue Flame 242 Posted September 6, 2010 Posted September 6, 2010 Carlton would never trade him either. After Judd, he is probably their most important player, at least in the games I've seen of them. I'd love him at my Club if I were trying to win the GF next year. I'm not, so I'd rather chase up a ruckman a few years younger than Waite. Spot on. Carlton would never let him go. And we wouldn't trade for any player above the age of 25 unless it was Pavlich
TheoX 1,222 Posted September 6, 2010 Posted September 6, 2010 Spot on. Carlton would never let him go. And we wouldn't trade for any player above the age of 25 unless it was Pavlich I think we should go after someone like Daniel Currie or Lewis Johnston from Sydney, or even Sellar from Adelaide, maybe Beau Dowler, they'd all be relatively cheap except for Johnston. Would've been great if we could have snared Dawes last year before he broke out this year.
Daytona Demon 0 Posted September 6, 2010 Posted September 6, 2010 The main problem I think is, that quality key forwards are so hard to find that clubs are generally unwilling to part with them. Even if they've had an ordinary season.. I think we're better off using the draft to hopefully bring one in and develop them ourselves.
RalphiusMaximus 6,112 Posted September 6, 2010 Posted September 6, 2010 Why would Waite leave Carlton? They have official permission to pay players outside the salary cap and a sponsor who is eager to help them do so. He won't get anywhere near the pay anywhere else.
pringle 56 Posted September 6, 2010 Posted September 6, 2010 Not available, not the right age, doesn't fit into our plans.
Rhino Richards 1,467 Posted September 6, 2010 Posted September 6, 2010 No thanks. Too old and too expensive. Besides, he'd never leave Carlton with his father /son connection, and the fact that he probably has the (mistaken) view that the Scum are headed for higher places. Proven brain fader under pressure. Carlton can keep him.
No16 1 Posted September 7, 2010 Posted September 7, 2010 What about targeting Lewis Johnson from Sydney? Hasn't played a game yet but was highly rated as a junior in the watts draft I think.
Swampfox 190 Posted September 7, 2010 Posted September 7, 2010 Waite like his late father is far too aggressive for the wrong reasons No doubt about his talent but i cannot imagine him in another jumper ever Its a no thanks from me
Daytona Demon 0 Posted September 7, 2010 Posted September 7, 2010 What about targeting Lewis Johnson from Sydney? Hasn't played a game yet but was highly rated as a junior in the watts draft I think. I'm assuming he was one of the players Paul Roos was frustrated at for not pushing his case for a senior call up..
No16 1 Posted September 8, 2010 Posted September 8, 2010 I'm assuming he was one of the players Paul Roos was frustrated at for not pushing his case for a senior call up.. I think that it may be... He could be a very good player though and his currency would be at an all time low at the moment... He would develop with our other up and comers....
old55 23,867 Posted September 8, 2010 Posted September 8, 2010 Wonder if Jesse White would look elsewhere if he gets dropped for Daniel Bradshaw this week?
No16 1 Posted September 8, 2010 Posted September 8, 2010 Wonder if Jesse White would look elsewhere if he gets dropped for Daniel Bradshaw this week? You would think that he would see that he is their long term prospect. Playing second fiddle to Bradshaw at the moment should not be such a bad thing... I can see Goodes playing midfield and the swannies playing both of them. If he was disgruntled though, would be worth a look...
Jurrah Coffee 0 Posted September 8, 2010 Posted September 8, 2010 Should we be looking for one of Carlton's ruckmen? With Kreuzer, Hampson, Jacobs and Robbie Warnock, I'd assume only Kreuzer and Warnock would get certain gametime next season. Would anyone suggest we pursue one of Jacobs or Hampson?
dee-luded 2,959 Posted September 8, 2010 Author Posted September 8, 2010 Should we be looking for one of Carlton's ruckmen? With Kreuzer, Hampson, Jacobs and Robbie Warnock, I'd assume only Kreuzer and Warnock would get certain gametime next season. Would anyone suggest we pursue one of Jacobs or Hampson? I don't think we need to this year. We can afford to wait till next year as carlton Now appears to be possibly waiting to see how Kreuzer goes after his rehab before off loading one of their rucks. We can do the same as we have Jamar in great form,,, with Spencer to try out,,, + Martin/Newton/Fitzpatrick backup,,, as well as Gawn to start developing his career. I think we could rookie a kid ruckmen/follower to follow behind Gawn. At the end of next year we could decide If we need to trade In a ruckman. carlton would probably be ready to offload one by then & we would have had a year to look at what we've got & at what they have.
GRUN DEE 69 Posted September 8, 2010 Posted September 8, 2010 Expect too see a 3 way trade between Freo, Carlton and Adelaide. Jacobs to Adelaide. Tarrant to Carlton. Griffin to Freo. Draft picks will also be exchanged. Freo and Carlton doing better than Adelaide in draft picks.
dee-luded 2,959 Posted September 8, 2010 Author Posted September 8, 2010 Expect too see a 3 way trade between Freo, Carlton and Adelaide. Jacobs to Adelaide. Tarrant to Carlton. Griffin to Freo. Draft picks will also be exchanged. Freo and Carlton doing better than Adelaide in draft picks. Hmmn, its starting... Yeah Yeah. I love this time as we're rebuilding.
GRUN DEE 69 Posted September 9, 2010 Posted September 9, 2010 Hmmn, its starting... Yeah Yeah. I love this time as we're rebuilding. I have listed this on the Nathan Jones thread but do also here. Nathan Jones to Sydney for Jesse White?
GRUN DEE 69 Posted September 9, 2010 Posted September 9, 2010 Dee's should chase Jacobs hard. Warnock the likely! Adelaide and Port in box seat though... Or Jacobs to Port Warnock to Carlton Trengrove to Melbourne
mdemonski2 403 Posted September 9, 2010 Posted September 9, 2010 I have listed this on the Nathan Jones thread but do also here. Nathan Jones to Sydney for Jesse White? Wishful thinking I'm afraid. Swans would want more from that deal..