Posted (edited)
I'd take Patrick at 18 and Taylor at 34. I know that's out there but 18 really is a bonus pick and if we can get Butcher at 11 I'll be stoked. I want the cousins playing for us. The press alone would sell 2000 memberships and if he came off the upside is right up. Patrick and Jurrah on the half forward line, Imagine that. I'm just not sold on the need for a lumbering giant anymore. So what if Sandilands carves us up we still win and we've been ordinary, says it all really. Ask yourself this. Would you swap a 21 year old Sandilands for Jurrah, I think not!

Liam Patrick is far from Jurrah though. Chalk and cheese from what I've seen.

Edited by Enforcer25

• Replies 54

Popular Days

Posted
Liam Patrick is far from Jurrah though. Chalk and cheese from what I've seen.

Well he has the leap, reads the play and finds position really well and has the X factor. What I'm saying is that, if we're going to roll the dice at 18 I'd roll it on Patrick over Gawn.

Posted
I'd take Patrick at 18 and Taylor at 34. I know that's out there but 18 really is a bonus pick and if we can get Butcher at 11 I'll be stoked. I want the cousins playing for us. The press alone would sell 2000 memberships and if he came off the upside is right up. Patrick and Jurrah on the half forward line, Imagine that. I'm just not sold on the need for a lumbering giant anymore. So what if Sandilands carves us up we still win and we've been ordinary, says it all really. Ask yourself this. Would you swap a 21 year old Sandilands for Jurrah, I think not!

What is your arguement here Roost? It makes no sense to me. Are you saying we should pick Patrick over Gawn just because his cousin is a freak?

In regards to the Sandilands comment about how Freo don't win with him...I don't think you can blame Sandi for that, he gives his mids first opportunity more often than not. He does his bit in that team, just a shame most of the players around him are crap. Also, can you chase up the head-to-head stats for Melbourne vs Freo? I think you would be horrified at our success against them. I always cringe when we have to play Freo, even in Melbourne, think I'm still burnt from the late 90's/early 00's when they stopped a losing streak against us, at the MCG! It was back when Modra was playing for them, very sad moment in my life.

Posted
If anyone has a link for 'alternative' coverage online (*cough* *cough*) can they please post or PM?

Regards,

Cheap bastards who can't afford Foxtel.

am only guessing but more than likely a link to justin tv will appear ;) others may know more

Posted
If anyone has a link for 'alternative' coverage online (*cough* *cough*) can they please post or PM?

Regards,

Cheap bastards who can't afford Foxtel.

Go to a pub or mates place that has it! That's what I'm doing!!!

Posted
Well he has the leap, reads the play and finds position really well and has the X factor. What I'm saying is that, if we're going to roll the dice at 18 I'd roll it on Patrick over Gawn.

What pick do you think Liam Jurrah would have gone in the ND had he nominated?

BP would have seen Patrick play, so if he has the X Factor like his cousin, don't you think we would be snapping him up at 11, or even 1 or 2?? And because of his relationship to LJ, he has drawn attention from other clubs. Why aren't they talking about taking hm in the top 10?

I am a very big fan of the indigenous players, but just because they are one, doesn't automatically make them a superstar.

Posted

What position do you see Liam Patrick playing in for the MFC? Bear in mind that at 185 cm he is far, far too short to be an AFL ruckman.

He may have X factor as a ruckman in bush footy, but at his size in the AFL he'll need to be a very, very special flanker to be worth pick 18.

Posted (edited)
I would love for us to get Taylor, but i am not overly sold on Patrick (even after watching his footage) so i wouldn't be totally devastated. Not that i am any expert just my opinion really ;)

Meh. Dont need a jailbird down at a club full of kids.

i really hope we get liam patrick he plays ruck and gets hes own clearances too, he is the new age ruckmen i reckon we'll slowly see the end of these massive giants like sandilands that dont do heaps around the ground, havent seen much gawn though i must admitt.

Liam Patrick will never ruck in the AFL.

Best thing to do imo, is judge this player as you would if he had nothing to do with Liam jurrah. Just another hopeful.

In his highlights, It was impressive that his leap and pace didnt seem to deteriorate as the game went on. His skills are good, tho decision-making needs a tweak.

Patrick at Pick 50 - if DAW is gone.

Gawn at 18 is a very interesting prospect by the looks of it. His highlights show that he looks like he is quite mobile with a terrific set of hands. However I didn't think it really looked like he towered above everyone else considering he is 207cm which I thought was odd

Weird, i thought the same thing. EDIT: maybe its because he's already 105kgs and doesnt look like too much of a beanpole?!

As I mused in another thread, Id be [censored] if we took Gawn @ pick 18, ahead of a Tapscott / Bastinac. He'll still be there at 34 - or it wasnt meant to be.

Have warmed to big Maxi tho ;)

What about Daw with a later pick?! Could play more of an agile around the ground role as well?!

Mail is Nth will take him at pick 50-something. I really hope we get him @ 50 B)

Edited by DemonDan...

Posted

bloody essendon will do it to us again. first with alwyn davey and now with liam patrick. i always thought we'd be able to nab alwyn after his initial two years with the dons cos of his big bro. i guess i'd be hopeful of us doing it with patrick. bloody essendon. we get onto a good thing and they have to intefere before we make real good of the situation.

Posted

That's not necessarily a bad thing.

We got the better of the Daveys. I reckon we'll get the better of the Jurrah/Patrick duo.

It just depends who we take instead.

I'd prefer to take Panos or Grimes etc rather than Patrick anyway.

Posted
You realise Taylor is just a kid himself, right?

Yeah.. its just were so young atm, i personally wouldnt want any unnecessary 'A.Lovett / B.Fevola' type distractions around.. (we already got Slyvia ;) )

Imo, Id just opt for the next best..

Posted

Steve Lavell: Port Adelaide coach Mark Williams has confirmed that his club will select John Butcher at No.8 if he's still available. Pick No.9 will be used on a midfielder, perhaps Jake Melksham, he says.

from the AFL forum

Posted (edited)

Wow, Butcher would be shattered....

I was still hoping he'd slip through, alas

Edited by Stop: Jurrahtime

Guest ted bundy
Posted

ah well, he stated early on he didnt want to play for tankers, enjoy alberton oval mate.

Posted (edited)
Also likely to take Jake Melksham with there next pick.

Was at training yesterday. Spoke to top man who kept emphasising to me that you win games of football with the midfield. When I kept mentioning talls such as Black,Talia, Griffiths etc he said that we have plenty of talls and I was putting too much emphasis on them.. He said talls a more risky and take longer to see their worth. I mentioned Callum Bartlett and he knew that he had done his ACL last year. Mentioned Max Gawn and I saw a twinkle in his eye.

I would not be surprised if we take a mid at 11 or 18 and Gawn, Vardy, Taylor etc afterwards.

Edited by Theo
Posted

Ralphius, dont be so paranoic! LJ is ours and wont be leaving ! All's good.

Posted
Was at training yesterday. Spoke to top man who kept emphasising to me that you win games of football with the midfield. When I kept mentioning talls such as Black,Talia, Griffiths etc he said that we have plenty of talls and I was putting too much emphasis on them.. He said talls a more risky and take longer to see their worth. I mentioned Callum Bartlett and he knew that he had done his ACL last year. Mentioned Max Gawn and I saw a twinkle in his eye.

I would not be surprised if we take a mid at 11 or 18 and Gawn, Vardy, Taylor etc afterwards.

I would agree with that. I will be stoked if we get Bastinac at 11. You can never have too many midfielders. IMO. And they seem like less of a gamble.