Draft 2009?

Dappa Dan

Now before you all go getting prickly... I know it's very early, but I was wondering:

I don't know about anyone else, but I've spent more time in the "drafting and trading" section of demonland than anywhere else recently. In fact, I don't think I've ever visited it before.

I was kind of hoping some of the plethora of people who do copious amounts of homework on upcoming drafts might be able to lend us their knowledge for a second or two. Seems to me Rich and Hurley were known about LONG before they were drafted, and were always going to be in the first handful, even going on LAST years TAC cup. Perhaps some of you guys, Freak, Dazzledavey, WJ, H I'm looking at you... might have an anecdote or two to share about next year? Maybe a bit of long-range prediction or inside goss? It's never too early to get excited about our future, and I reckon next year will be the last of our big recruiting drives before we settle on a solid core of 30-odd names, with only a few recruits each year following 2009, rather than the 7 or 8 we've been seeing the last couple of drafts.

I've had a little poke around and seen three names spoken about highly... My two picks would be the obvious ones... Butcher and Scully. Butcher is a big KP forward. And Scully is a ripping little Simon Black type that runs and runs, is quick, but has a handball that to watch, is like football porn... (a term coined over at 'ology)

Anyhoo... Have at it... and if mods feel the need, delete this thread and replace it with a more substantial title, maybe as a sticky that people can add to as the first half of the year progresses.

I don't know about anyone else, but I've spent more time in the "drafting and trading" section of demonland than anywhere else recently. In fact, I don't think I've ever visited it before.

I've had a little poke around and seen three names spoken about highly... My two picks would be the obvious ones... Butcher and Scully. Butcher is a big KP forward. And Scully is a ripping little Simon Black type that runs and runs, is quick, but has a handball that to watch, is like football porn... (a term coined over at 'ology)

Butcher & Scully yes, I also liked what I saw with Vic Metro in Jack Fitzpatrick.

A CHF kid from NT, I think (indigenous) is highly fancied.

As bad as Bigfooty can be, there are SOME posters there who really know their potential draftees. You won't find too much on '09 prospects other than some names and video highlights of some of the standouts, but that is the best place to look.

Big Footy '09 draft talk >

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=465357

I've been hearing bits & pieces about a kid called Steven May, but he's even younger.

A lot of Buddy comparisons.

On the field or off the field?

Seriously 12 months is a long time in a young players development and much can change between now and then.

On the field or off the field?

Seriously 12 months is a long time in a young players development and much can change between now and then.

on-field. I wouldn't have a clue about any upcoming prospects off-field.

Crocker, (maybe 2009 probably 2010) is the best parts of Delidio and Dale Thomas. Will win mark of the year one day

You heard it here first

The speed of Deledio, mixed with the homosexual aura of Dale Thomas.

Interesting mix.

i dont really know that much about this crop yet..but Tom scully looks like one of the best midfielders i've seen at his age. I think he probably would have gone pick 3 in this years draft, before Hill and Hartlett if he was eligible.

A good thing to note is that because Butcher and Scully are both VIctorian, WCE might be deterred to take 2 Victorians (if they qualify for a priority pick). And thus, may take a Western Australian like Lucas.

As said, there are a few guys a few guys on BF who know there stuff. A couple of them have stuff to do with TAC cups and see games every week, so they know there stuff pretty well.

It's a bit harder to pick out the players this year, last year from the u16 champs you could see this years bottom aged players like Sidebottom & Ziebell were going to be right up there, but now all of those kids will have to do 2 years because they've updated the draft age.

There's the 3 main one's Butcher, Scully & Lucas, but everyone has commented on them, I'd probably rate Scully just ahead of Lucas but not by a lot. Morabito is the standout KP defender at this stage, but also can play forward. Koby Stevens from Gippsland Power is another gun midfielder in the Judd mold, 6'2, quick and powerful, really looking forward to watching him next year. Luke Tapscot from SA is a small forward/mid who kicks plenty of goals, really solid for such a young kid. Ryan Bastinac from Stringrays is a promising mid, he plays with Scully at Stringrays but they'll play against each other at the u18 champs as the Stingrays have been re-zoned for u18 champs, but Scully has been allowed an exemption to play with Metro. There also Mitch Marsh from WA, son of geoff & brother of shaun, who surprise surprise is a brilliant junior cricketer. Said to be a better crickter, but still a very good junior footballer, plays CHF.

If '09 was too early then i might be going a little far, but a few other names to keep an eye on, with many likely to end up at GC are the 2010 class. Look for WA to be strong with players like Jack Darling, Swallow (brother of Andrew from Kangas) and Wally Matera's son who can kick a goal from anywhere. Vic players Toy (won the larke equivilent in u16 champs, a strong bodied midfielder), Libba's boy who plays similar but with more polish. Maverick Weller from Tassie is very impressive, gun midfielder.

Butcher:

Definately wouldn't mind the Watts / Butcher twin towers in our forward line for the next decade!

First time I've actually seen highlights footage of Butcher in full like that. Certainly looks good. Definitely a book end.

Butcher:

Definately wouldn't mind the Watts / Butcher twin towers in our forward line for the next decade!

I've allways seen Watts as a a mobile CHF, not a power forward.

Butcher will be the strong power forward, deep FF.

Who's our third marking tall forward going to be?

i dont really know that much about this crop yet..but Tom scully looks like one of the best midfielders i've seen at his age. I think he probably would have gone pick 3 in this years draft, before Hill and Hartlett if he was eligible.

most likely yeh

You don't know much, but you don't mind giving an opinion? :rolleyes:

Butcher wouldn't be No.1 in everyone's eyes if it was held right now, i'd say it is quite similar to 12 months ago with Rich & Naitanui when many people favoured Rich. I'd personally have Scully at No.1

I wouldn't look too much into it though, Naitanui, Rich & Hurley were a lock for top 3 12 months ago and look how that went. And a young blonde kid from Sandringham barely even rated a mention.

You don't know much, but you don't mind giving an opinion? :rolleyes:

Butcher wouldn't be No.1 in everyone's eyes if it was held right now, i'd say it is quite similar to 12 months ago with Rich & Naitanui when many people favoured Rich. I'd personally have Scully at No.1

I wouldn't look too much into it though, Naitanui, Rich & Hurley were a lock for top 3 12 months ago and look how that went. And a young blonde kid from Sandringham barely even rated a mention.

What his name again? Fergus Watts? Didn't he play for Adelaide or something..?

Oh, its not him. Is it his brother? any good?

First time I've actually seen highlights footage of Butcher in full like that. Certainly looks good. Definitely a book end.

Yeah he'll carve em up, make mince meat out of em! And snag a few in the process.

(had to be done).