Any Players Training With Us?

Posted

Besides Ash Sampi, I was wondering if anyone has heard about any delisted players training with us? Players like Todd Grima and Cam Howat would be worth a look.

Thanks

According to SandyFC, Shane Valenti and Stefan Martin are also training with us.

woooo hooo

Valenti, Neaves, Hughes and Martin...

I'm excited about none of them, but Valenti could prove to be useful somewhat.

Valenti, Neaves, Hughes and Martin...

I'm excited about none of them, but Valenti could prove to be useful somewhat.

And Valenti has done what to be be on the list? some people said last year he should have been a rookie, but what he done to get that far at that level, VFL is one thing AFL is another.

Has anyone got any info on training at the moment? Its difficult to find out whats going on being interstate.

And Valenti has done what to be be on the list? some people said last year he should have been a rookie, but what he done to get that far at that level, VFL is one thing AFL is another.

Are you feeling OK?

Valenti was runner up in the JJ Liston Trophy (VFL b & f) and won the competition's equivalent of the rising star, the Fothergill-Round Medal. He was also a member of the midfield rotation in the VFL's 119 point demolition of the WAFL in the interstate game during the season. How could he prove himself at any higher level given that wasn't on an AFL list?

give valenti a chance, we should be easily able to get him in the rookie draft, having the 3rd pick

martin may be a go, although isnt the 200+ bean pole many are hoping for

Are you serious?

He has performed better at VFL level than Jones, Bode, Bartram, Pettard just to name a few. I'm not saying that he is neccessarily better than all those but he has certainly done enough to warrant a pre-season. Pull your head in you freak!

Have you watched him play mate?

This may come as a shock to some demonlanders, but I rate what a player does on the field as more important than phantom drafts, best and fairests etc etc...

I watched Juice run around early this year and it only took me a game or two to desperately want him in the seniors, such was his talent... Valenti, pound for pound, had far more impact on those games than Juice did. With the exception of Summers and at times Gallagher, Valenti was the best player in the side when I went to see games. I can't comment on his late season form, but at least early on he looked to be a real footballer. Neaves' work has been patchy, Martin has done nothing and can't kick, and Hughes has impressed only sporadically... hence I put Valenti at the top of that list.

Ok?

give valenti a chance, we should be easily able to get him in the rookie draft, having the 3rd pick

Exactly. Though I should mention I'm not so sure about him. It could easily fail, the man is miniscule. But that's the thing with rookies I guess. It's always speculative.

Are you serious?

He has performed better at VFL level than Jones, Bode, Bartram, Pettard just to name a few. I'm not saying that he is neccessarily better than all those but he has certainly done enough to warrant a pre-season. Pull your head in you freak!

Get stuffed [censored], as I have said VFL is one thing AFL is another, so you would pick him over Jones, Bartram etc, if he was that good he would have been picked up by another club by now!!

Are you serious?

You remind me of Tweek off South Park. You need to calm down.

Get stuffed [censored], as I have said VFL is one thing AFL is another, so you would pick him over Jones, Bartram etc, if he was that good he would have been picked up by another club by now!!

So back on topic in a calmer way, have you actually seen him play?

Besides, recruiting is an inexact science. If it was ten years ago would you be saying the same thing about JMac?

For my part if I go to the footy and see a player outplay the other 43 guys running around, I tend to begin to rate him... If we get wrapped up in what the other clubs recruiters do, like you just said, then we are certainly destined for mediocrity. Once players are recruited fans get awfully excited about where they are taken in the draft, but in the end one 18 year old midfielder is about the same as another 18 year old midfielder. Look at Brennan at Sydney, he was taken at 8 and has limped onto a rookie list after years in the system. More often than not recruiting is crystal-ball gazing, and in the end I'll recruit a player that bleeds on the field and wins games of footy over a player with a 3.0 beep test or 65cm vertical jump or whatever....

Valenti definitely worth a crack, hard at it with decent but not great pace.

Would be handy should we experience injuries to guys like Brock or McDonald.

So back on topic in a calmer way, have you actually seen him play?

Besides, recruiting is an inexact science. If it was ten years ago would you be saying the same thing about JMac?

For my part if I go to the footy and see a player outplay the other 43 guys running around, I tend to begin to rate him... If we get wrapped up in what the other clubs recruiters do, like you just said, then we are certainly destined for mediocrity. Once players are recruited fans get awfully excited about where they are taken in the draft, but in the end one 18 year old midfielder is about the same as another 18 year old midfielder. Look at Brennan at Sydney, he was taken at 8 and has limped onto a rookie list after years in the system. More often than not recruiting is crystal-ball gazing, and in the end I'll recruit a player that bleeds on the field and wins games of footy over a player with a 3.0 beep test or 65cm vertical jump or whatever....

Yes I have seen him play and while he is good at that level, does not stand out to me that he would take the next level, 15 other clubs might have a better idea than us about what they think of him, I would tend to go with their thoughts first, but I do agree with you about a player bleeding on the field than what he do on a beep test.

Which player jumped at you, Newton or Valenti as a future player when you saw them play?, again I say while he has done what he has done in the VFL I do not believe he can do the same in the AFL, and that is the yard stick to go by or as they say someone who jumps at you with quality when you watch them.

Yes I have seen him play and while he is good at that level, does not stand out to me that he would take the next level, 15 other clubs might have a better idea than us about what they think of him, I would tend to go with their thoughts first, but I do agree with you about a player bleeding on the field than what he do on a beep test.

What the hell does that mean?

Thought the same thing Mo.

So how will we know the other clubs are interested? When they draft him ahead of us?? Or if they leave him out all together do we just adopt a case of me tooism and avoid making an assessment ourselves? We would never have got Aaron Davey with that superficial stance.

I am not saying Valenti will or wont make it but if CAC or any other recruiter were to adopt that stance then they should not be in the job.

Out of all those "hopefuls" and having seen them play I am not overly excited ay any of them and Dappa's made a reasonable fist of the assessment.

Are you serious?

He has performed better at VFL level than Jones, Bode, Bartram, Pettard just to name a few. I'm not saying that he is neccessarily better than all those but he has certainly done enough to warrant a pre-season.

Firstly settle down.

Secondly, your metric for assessing Valenti is crook. Bartram went straight into MFC in his first year and was good day one. Valenti has never been close to Bartram. Jones and Pettard made the step to AFL as soon as they were ready to go and not left to dominate in the VFL.

Be careful MFC have had a number of players who have dominated at VFL level and not cut it at AFL level and we have delisted many of them.

FWIW, PJ has won a Liston medal and struggles at AFL. A Liston medal is tinfoil and not a guarantee of AFL capability.

Read what i said. I didn't say he was definately a better player. But surely when he performs better than all of thos enames at VFL level he deserves a pre-season and a shot at AFL. I'm seriously wondering what planet you must be on. Your argument makes no sense!

And as for the "another club would have got him by now" he was injured through most of the Under 18 year and was only fit in the final 5-6 rounds where he was close to, if not the best on the ground in all of them.

First of all, what don't you understand, and second of all last time I looked we are allowed opinions, you are not always right and neither am I, but we can still voice our opinions, or are we not allowed to do that? I still do not believe he would make it, but in the end it is not us making the choice, it is the club and I don't think that they will be asking us for our imput do you?

Or if they leave him out all together do we just adopt a case of "me tooism" and avoid making an assessment ourselves?

It seems to be working for Kevin ( Yes I went to a strip club but I don't remember doing anything ) Rudd.

Dont mix politics with sport! :P

• Author

jonathon simpkin from sydney is training at melbourne

Besides Ash Sampi, I was wondering if anyone has heard about any delisted players training with us? Players like Todd Grima and Cam Howat would be worth a look.

Thanks

I recon we should look at Cam Howat. He played with my brother in junior footy. And i have watched him every game he's played and hes not that bad. he gets a few touches and can play.

+If he kicks a super goal this pre-season My footy club gets $1,000 :lol: