Heath Neville

Posted

I guess this is directed purely at the Sandy watchers amongst us, and specifically those that watch the twos.

I've automatically got Heath as a delist because after two years he can't seem to cement a regular spot in the Sandy ones, but I wonder if like many others that isn't pulling the trigger too early. I understand that his 06 was ruined by injury... I also understand that some players take a little longer than others... so for those that have actually seen him play. Should he stay or should he go now?

(If he stays there will be trouble, if he goes it will be double.... God bless Joe Strummer)

If the club still thinks he has talent then they should put him on the rookie list. If he can't get a game for Sandy with the injuries we have had then chances are that he will continue to struggle and considering where we are on the ladder we can't afford to hold on to a player who has struggled as badly as he has.

I guess this is directed purely at the Sandy watchers amongst us, and specifically those that watch the twos.

I've automatically got Heath as a delist because after two years he can't seem to cement a regular spot in the Sandy ones, but I wonder if like many others that isn't pulling the trigger too early. I understand that his 06 was ruined by injury... I also understand that some players take a little longer than others... so for those that have actually seen him play. Should he stay or should he go now?

(If he stays there will be trouble, if he goes it will be double.... God bless Joe Strummer)

He should go :( . Even though he has been injured prone, i still think he should go. He is not a big ball winner and from all the games i've seen him play (7or8) he hasn't shown anything at all.

First name I put a line through.

what about hughes, weetra and hayes,neaves what the word on these players?

I don't know too much on Hayes and Weetra but from what i'm hearing is that neaves is a possibility to be promoted off the rookie list.

Hughes however is a handy footballer with good skills, next year he will be 22 so you would think that he is taking a while to develop. Since he came back from injury a month ago he has shown a bit for sandy and IMO i think we should give him another year on the rookie list.

its quite weird how players through sandy like rennie gilchrist, stefan martin, tomi johnstone and even shane valenti are better players then heath and even more skilfull yet are not training AFL standard and still get in the best or make a contribution to the side. quite sad really.

Heath Neville has struggled. Even when fit he has not shown that much. He did a couple of good things last Saturday but not enough to stay on Melbourne's list IMO.

Daniel Hayes - definitely keep on the list. With a decent pre season and regular football I reckon he has what it takes - a very skilful player.

Isaac Weetra - divided over Weetra. He has done a few good things but for a drafted player should be dominating Sandy 2nds (which he hasn't). Think he may be delisted.

Shane Neaves - Fantastic, performs week in week out. Has been a pleasure watching him at Sandy.

Daniel Hughes. has showed heaps since coming back from injury. An excellent mark under pressure. Hope he stays on the list.

My two bobs worth!!!

Heath Neville has struggled. Even when fit he has not shown that much. He did a couple of good things last Saturday but not enough to stay on Melbourne's list IMO.

Daniel Hayes - definitely keep on the list. With a decent pre season and regular football I reckon he has what it takes - a very skilful player.

Isaac Weetra - divided over Weetra. He has done a few good things but for a drafted player should be dominating Sandy 2nds (which he hasn't). Think he may be delisted.

Shane Neaves - Fantastic, performs week in week out. Has been a pleasure watching him at Sandy.

Daniel Hughes. has showed heaps since coming back from injury. An excellent mark under pressure. Hope he stays on the list.

My two bobs worth!!!

Glad to here that about Neaves.

to be quite frank Neville struggles to struggle !!..not all his doing.. but he has to own it in the end. DELIST

Isaac... wil probably get another chance to improve next year...but he would want to start "showing' by then, bit of an enigma..he has it..we just dont see it.

Neaves.. keep and develop...fast-track !! Ought to be getting some time in red and blue come 2008..even if to just gauge how he's travelling.

Hughes and Hayes.. well not taking up space.. both in the 'watch this space' category

Being a Tasmanian i said when we drafted him that he was useless and a silly pick and 2 years later nothing has changed....

If Essendon delist Sam Lonergan we should def have alook at him... How he hasnt played more games in a average Essendon line-up is beyond me..

Graz I would've thought for Neville, the last month would of been a case of death or glory for him. The Sandy firsts have been calling for some time and he's failed to clampdown on a starting position. I fear within the next 48 hours he maybe exploring alternate career opportunities. If only his name was Rudie.

So what you're saying Goodvibes is that Neville doesn't have the right profile to be part of the magnificent seven at Melbourne, and if we kept him on our list, he would simply train in vain.

What I'm saying is that Julie's been working for the drug squad. Hang on, that doesn't fit at all . . . .

BTW can't believe I missed train in vain - that's gold!

Should he stay or should he go now?

IMO, there is no questioning his application, courage or speed, but he just can't seem to find the ball.

I think hughes is only 20, not 22 so is definately worth keeping, and if he wasnt injured would have been promoted ahead of bode. I also hear from sandy people that hayes has already been told that he is not wanted next year. Which is the correct call.

No offence to Heath, but there are a plethora of his 'type' deep into any draft in any year.

Unfortunately he hasn't been able to step up in a year that was made for doing so.

I would be punting on someone else.

Go Dees - Onward and Upward

Thanks for the info Zebraman. For the record, Weetra's contracted next year, so you should get used to seeing him in the black and gold again next year. :)

I reckon we have the wrong Neville on our list. Alister Neville from Coburg is a real goer: BOG against WA in the state game; a B&F at Coburg; a runner up B&F at Box Hill; Teal Cup vice-captain and only 21 years old. The bloke can play and we could definitely do worse than pick him up with a late pick.

He is a good player, fast and can find the ball but AFL is at a much higher standard than VFL, and IMO he would struggle at AFL level for a few years. I think he should spend another year in the VFL or pick him up as a late rookie in the rookie draft.

I'd much prefer to pick up Shane Valenti or Pete Summers 1st before considering Alistair Neville.

Omitted from the Sandringham team to play North Ballarat on Saturday and didn't even make the eight players from which the final interchange bench will come. That's close to a delisting in my book.

a bit like... well its end of season.. and here's ya tickets to the trip.. some are return..and Heath.. a word with ya mate !!!

A CAC gamble that didn't pay off.

He's picked up some rippers out of the blue (Bartram), but totally missed the boat on others. I hope Weetra doesn't belong in that bracket.

He appears to be one of the more daring recruiting managers in the AFL.