Skip to content
View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Farewell Clayton Oliver

On 24/03/2026 at 15:51, picket fence said:

Spoke to a mate of mine this morning who is a very keen GWS fan, he iterated several things,

1 His best is still pretty formidable and he has had influence in goal transitions and contested ball gets.

2 Team mates are seemingly ignoring his leads when in outside space which he could'nt figure out

3 He would be leading the GWS B and F after 3 rounds

Not all glooom and doom as some have suggested here!

Finn Callahan and possibly Lachie Ash would be comfortably ahead of Clayton atm in their B&F

Oliver has done ok in his first three games - the real question is can he sustain that form and how much TOG does he get when Tom Green, Daniels and Bedford etc. return

I watch all their games, many of them live, and I really don't think we are worse off with him missing - he is not the player he once was sadly

3 hours ago, Dee Boys said:

Clarry was supposed to be a part of the Gawn party yesterday. He stayed in Melbourne after the GWS game and a few things had been smoothed out between Clarry and people in the footy department. The club were looking forward to welcoming him back albeit in an unofficial capacity.

Sadly Clarry was a no show. Nobody at the game at the time knew why. Max found out later it was because Clarry had been out at Circus the night before til 6am.

Didn’t even have the decency to let Max know. Sadly sums up the type of person Clarry has turned into, and why the club made the only responsible decision they could’ve in letting him go.

Just a desperately sad situation, the bloke should’ve retired as the greatest MFC player in history.

Very telling he was asked and another former player wasn't.

Just now, Deez21 said:

Very telling he was asked and another former player wasn't.

The thought did cross my mind...

4 hours ago, Dee Boys said:

Clarry was supposed to be a part of the Gawn party yesterday. He stayed in Melbourne after the GWS game and a few things had been smoothed out between Clarry and people in the footy department. The club were looking forward to welcoming him back albeit in an unofficial capacity.

Sadly Clarry was a no show. Nobody at the game at the time knew why. Max found out later it was because Clarry had been out at Circus the night before til 6am.

Didn’t even have the decency to let Max know. Sadly sums up the type of person Clarry has turned into, and why the club made the only responsible decision they could’ve in letting him go.

Just a desperately sad situation, the bloke should’ve retired as the greatest MFC player in history.

He was already welcomed back in round 1 though when he was in the rooms post game to celebrate with Salem for his 200th. He and Josh Kelly sat up on level 2 of the Olympic stand with all the non-playing players and families, and caught the lift down to the rooms post game.

Not saying the above isn't true, but he was literally back at the club and in the rooms in round 1 so the idea of welcoming him back in an unofficial capacity appears to have already occurred.

It's entirely possible that Claz was out clubbing until 6am and also present at the game.

I wouldn't read too much into the non-appearance of BP5. He's rehabbing a hammy and flying may not be the best idea at the moment. Max & Jess were both at his wedding last year so I'd doubt there would be any issues between the pair of them. Matt Jones is a good friend of Max and i didn't see him there. People have other commitments.

21 minutes ago, Rab D Nesbitt said:

It's entirely possible that Claz was out clubbing until 6am and also present at the game.

I wouldn't read too much into the non-appearance of BP5. He's rehabbing a hammy and flying may not be the best idea at the moment. Max & Jess were both at his wedding last year so I'd doubt there would be any issues between the pair of them. Matt Jones is a good friend of Max and i didn't see him there. People have other commitments.

Actually it looks like Matt Jones is in the photo they all took together on the ground. I think he's next to Harmesy.

6 minutes ago, Rab D Nesbitt said:

Actually it looks like Matt Jones is in the photo they all took together on the ground. I think he's next to Harmesy.

Matt was there.

I feel like starting a dozen new threads to get this one off the front page.

And yes, I realise by posting this, I’m perpetuating the problem. So this is the last from me on yesterday’s hero. Let’s focus on today’s and tomorrow’s heroes.

8 hours ago, Dee Boys said:

Caroline Wilson has basically just re-iterated this story on Agenda Setters tonight. Clayton was NOT there yesterday

18 minutes ago, Greg Schneider said:

Caroline Wilson has basically just re-iterated this story on Agenda Setters tonight. Clayton was NOT there yesterday

Who cares what Caroline Wilson says ,thinks ,writes an article she wrote about Clayton in The Age a year or so was about one of the lowest forms of gutter journalism I have read .If some one said anything about one of her children what she said about Clayton she would be screaming blue murder .I used to respect her many years ago as a fine footy journalist ,but obviously she needs to top up her super ,with tabloid journalism. Maybe she should just stick to banging on about Richard Goyder ad infinitum.

3 minutes ago, JOHNNY DEE said:

Who cares what Caroline Wilson says ,thinks ,writes an article she wrote about Clayton in The Age a year or so was about one of the lowest forms of gutter journalism I have read .If some one said anything about one of her children what she said about Clayton she would be screaming blue murder .I used to respect her many years ago as a fine footy journalist ,but obviously she needs to top up her super ,with tabloid journalism. Maybe she should just stick to banging on about Richard Goyder ad infinitum.

She may have accidentally helped us get king by putting Buckley off… so I have a soft spot fr her now.

8 hours ago, Dee Boys said:

A LOT of half truths here!

6 hours ago, Dee-tonator said:

Top-tier talent five years ago.

Huge ongoing personal issues ever since .

Has been going steadily downhill.

Still a useful performer but also a serious off-field liability.

What a waste........

Steadily going downhill?? Check his stats and where he sits on the coaches table so far after round 3 take ur hate glasses of lightweight!

15 minutes ago, JOHNNY DEE said:

Coffin chaser

10 minutes ago, picket fence said:

A LOT of half truths here!

What are the half truths?

4 minutes ago, BoBo said:

That he might have been in Melbourne!

Oliver played quite well against the Pies but the players that he is dishing the handballs off to, aren't doing much with it (the footy)

He'll be more impactful when they get their better players back

However, the best thing for him and the MFC was to part company. It's heading for a win/win

4 minutes ago, picket fence said:

That he might have been in Melbourne!

So he wasn’t in Melbourne at all? He went back to Sydney after the pies game on Friday night?

Just now, BoBo said:

So he wasn’t in Melbourne at all? He went back to Sydney after the pies game on Friday night?

U tell me!

What a great player Clarrie is!

I watched Barrassi, Dixon, Spencer, Flower ,Petracca, Schwarz, Adams( not Jed, I’m anfraid!) and Stynes, representing our club. Clarrie is right up there with them . I don’t understand why a club would dispense with such a star. ( I know there must be reasons that we fans aren’t privy to)Apparently he was much loved by team mates.

GWS must be laughing.

I wish Clarrie all the best at GWS.

31 minutes ago, picket fence said:

Steadily going downhill?? Check his stats and where he sits on the coaches table so far after round 3 take ur hate glasses of lightweight!

I reckon Pickett's game in the middle yesterday was far more effectual and skilled than anything Oliver has served up since 2023 :)

17 minutes ago, BoBo said:

He would have no idea. Old man yelling at clouds. Oliver WAS in Melbourne and invited to Max’s celebrations but didn’t show