View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Just now, Trident22 said:

Only if the AFL apptrove, which they did for Clarkson. You'd hope there would be a degree of conistency, but it's the AFL. I'd hope the Board asked this question before making its decision.

id say they will

51 minutes ago, Demons11 said:

From an extremely reliable source

Thanks D11. Is ur reliable source saying we are after Longmire, talking to him, that he is keen for the job etc ?

1 minute ago, Oxdee said:

Your mail is full of it… no way they have decided on a coach.

The person this came from knows a lot more about what is going on than you do, that is a fact. Whether they are telling the truth or bending the truth I am unsure.

6 minutes ago, At the break of Gawn said:

Cons: I worry that he may have a completely different view to the board. The board thinks this list can play finals, he may disagree and from the outset cause tension. This was Mick Malthouse's undoing when he joined Carlton. Note, I think this also might be an issue with Carlton again for Horse

A decent summary. I know Whately and others in the media are trying to show the inconsistency in expectations in terms of whether this team can make finals. Yes Brad did say that... but I think because it was more polite to say than the truth. Goody has done incredibly well for Melbourne. But recent years has accumulated baggage - much of it is not his doing. But some of it is. His close connection to the players has been an asset but more recently has been his achilles heel as (it appears from the outside) he has been unable to ensure there is discipline and consistency in treatment of players.

The primary reason Green gave was "we need a new voice". Goody might be right about the team being able to bounce back up... but with what has gone on the last 4 years, there needs to be a clean slate. How can we do that if he is still there. He's been unlucky in so many ways... but he's also had 9 years. I don't think anyone who follows / watches Melbourne closely would expect a different trajectory next year without significant change.

I don't think (or at least hope) Green and the coaching selection panel are going to simply appoint who thinks we have a finals list - it sounds like from other reports they did not agree with Goody's assessment that we were a chance for the flag next year (At least if he was coaching). Surely it's about who has a sense of where the game is going, who gets the best out of people, knows how to maximise our strengths and knows how to fix our weaknesses. As much as most supporters hate it (as it was Goody's mantra) it's not so much about the result - its getting the process right (so the result looks after itself).

20 minutes ago, At the break of Gawn said:

The untried coach

Pros: The board goes through an extensive process rather than directly appointing one of the above or rather shortcuts the process with a confirmation bias on one of the above. The AFL landscape has seen some terrific recent success stories such as McRae and Kingsley. However, in McRae's case the whole footy department changed so you'd think at least 5-6 changes. Could we follow suit and be back in the top 4 in 2026 or would the luck run out here and we become a similar case to a Brendan Bolton or a Rutten?

Cons: The riskiest approach in my opinion where we have to ultimately rely on this board and the coaching selection process they set up to be watertight. This is a board that hasn't gone through this process(probably ever) remembering that Paul Roos was basically selected by the AFL. Untried coaches also mean greater issues with player retention for this off season and also in some ways hurts our relevancy. The Suns wallowed in this for ages until Hardwick came in and all of a sudden they're a destination club.

I still think the untried coach is the best option. Ideally they can bring in their choice of people. I'd be wanting to know about the process and criteria that the pies and GWS used when selecting their coach.

On 05/08/2025 at 09:47, gs77 said:

What about Bartel, is he an option?

Great player but boring g as bat [censored] to listen to. We need some character and respect when the new coach walks into the room.

8 minutes ago, The Jackson FIX said:

The person this came from knows a lot more about what is going on than you do, that is a fact. Whether they are telling the truth or bending the truth I am unsure.

Thanks for the insight mate.

Ignore the haters.

2 hours ago, Trident22 said:

Just listened to him talking with Whately. Agree with your synopsis...however, to me it was, "yeah, I'm hungry and keen, I need to get my head back in that space, as this is the first real opportunity I've had to think about it, but I like the list and think the culture and fortunes can turn quickly". I reckon he may emerge as a front-runner.

FWIW, I think he would be better the second time around. I think he would be better coaching outside of the Collingwood bubble he was a part of for so long. I think he would build immediate connections with players and demand instant respect from them.

He has been my preference for a while, based on the way he analyses our games. He may have been watching closely for other reasons, who knows?

I also think he had a lot going on outside of football that was distracting him.

2 hours ago, monoccular said:

But, would having a horse on board help with our overtures to Caulfield?

Well he would feel right at home at Caulfield, as we are looking at taking up the ex Freedman Racing Stables.

It might turn a neigh into a yay.

23 hours ago, old dee said:

Troy Chaplin.

Mates in SA can't believe we employ him at all.

Just now, demonzz said:

Mates in SA can't believe we employ him at all.

He coached the best defence in the history of the game (statistically) to a premiership.

He also got us to be the highest scoring team in 2018 when he was our forward coach.

He is the least of our problems, and the obvious caretaker for the next 3 games.

3 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

He coached the best defence in the history of the game (statistically) to a premiership.

He also got us to be the highest scoring team in 2018 when he was our forward coach.

He is the least of our problems, and the obvious caretaker for the next 3 games.

Isn't he forward coach this year???

26 minutes ago, The Jackson FIX said:

Thanks for sharing Jacko.

Does ur source know when this will be announced or if we are considering anyone else?

2 minutes ago, demonzz said:

Isn't he forward coach this year???

Yes and what exactly is he working with?

Our forward line is on a hiding to nothing with a midfield that can't kick, and a forwardline that is crying out for a big bodied KPF with experience.

6 hours ago, defuture15 said:

If anyone knows how to get the best out of Kolt

It would be horse!

Was it Kolt that rode a horse across the Simpson and got buckleid off???

I'm still on the fence with Buckley but starting to lean more on the yes side.

He speaks about as well as anyone in the media and is open about mistakes he's made and how he can improve as a coach. Really seems to have the passion for it and got a sense he was pretty keen.

12 minutes ago, DemonOX said:

Thanks for sharing Jacko.

Does ur source know when this will be announced or if we are considering anyone else?

They would know both but I know neither.

35 minutes ago, Rab D Nesbitt said:

Sam Allardyce.

Im sure Big Sams love of the long ball would fit right into Goodwins ingrained game plan.

Just need Kevin Davies at FF and 17 playing in the back 50 :P

Edited by Gorgoroth

4 minutes ago, KozzyCan said:

I'm still on the fence with Buckley but starting to lean more on the yes side.

He speaks about as well as anyone in the media and is open about mistakes he's made and how he can improve as a coach. Really seems to have the passion for it and got a sense he was pretty keen.

I thought it was interesting that he has been reaching out to people getting feedback on his time as coach. Def sounds like someone who wants back in.

Just now, Gorgoroth said:

I thought it was interesting that he has been reaching out to people getting feedback on his time as coach. Def sounds like someone who wants back in.

i think that speaks wonders of someone who wants to better themselves as well.

Could be a Dimma Hardwick mark 2 how he went away and learnt to delegate instead of taking on everything,.

48 minutes ago, Rab D Nesbitt said:

Sam Allardyce.

Should have taken over for the next 3 games to help us avoid relegation and gets a big fat cheque regardless 😂

How did that f*ckwit Josh Jenkins get a job in the media? [censored] player, one of the best cherry pickers the game has ever seen and somehow still holds a job. Not to mention he is a slurrer who can’t string together a sentence.

Paraphrasing, but he essentially saying there is no world where he sees a spike with a new coaching set up simply because we have no “big name” forwards..

For what Goodwin had to work with in 2018, to be the highest scoring side with T-Mac and Fritsch essentially being our 2 main targets- hardly “gorillas” is a massive hats off to him.

Who’s to say JVR, 5th year, rejuvenated Fritsch, Melksham still playing good footy alongside Chandler in a more pressurized half forward role cannot be just as dangerous as the 2018 forward set up? Jefferson had looked good in parts and can seriously clunk the ball..

Whoever comes in, I would expect Petracca and Pickett in full time midfield roles, who can obviously roll forward and cause a lot of havoc. Honestly, not saying we win the flag, but I can easily see us, with a tactically astute coach return to the top 6. Pies did it after coming 17th and they are notorious for having lackluster forward lines on paper. Mihoeck carried them. F*cking Mihocek. 🤣😂

Edited by VNightCityLegend

It's way too soon to call a decision one way or the other, all I know is that whoever gets the gig,I'll be behind them 100%,just like every other coach in the last 40-50 years. Except MN. I hope the rest of you join me.

ONWARDS AND UPWARDS DEMONS!.

54 minutes ago, Rab D Nesbitt said:

Sam Allardyce.

Liverpool's manager would slot in nicely.