View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (โ‹ฎ) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

1 hour ago, Ted Lasso said:

The old classic, do a 90 minute interview with days of prep leading in for a job you donโ€™t even want trick. Ah Nathan Buckley and his classic pranks.

Didn't you see the channel 7 footage? Looked like he couldn't drive away from the MCG quickly enough!

ย 
4 minutes ago, KozzyCan said:

Didn't you see the channel 7 footage? Looked like he couldn't drive away from the MCG quickly enough!

I reckon id be clearing out too if I had Tom morris and Sam McClure waiting outside with cameras, maybe Caro was sitting there too wearing a Tassie beanie

On 05/09/2025 at 09:42, D4Life said:

Agree on the following:

Ump 22 definitely is anti Demons!

Perhaps every club should have a right of veto for one umpire - he (22) would easily be my choice. Cannot help himself searching for whatever isn't there and ignoring the bleeding obvious.

ย 
20 hours ago, bing181 said:

Actual facts tell us that we have gone after proven key forwards (e.g. Lynch), but haven't been able to get any across.

We couldn't get any across because we didn't and couldn't offer St.Kilda like coin to get them across.

8 hours ago, ElDiablo14 said:

End of 2022.

Should remember that in 2022 McKay was out of contract. Carlton proceeded to re-sign Curnow first (and probably with more money than McKay).

Weideman was last used regularly in our 22 back in 2020. I think by 2022 it was clear he wasn't it. TMac and BBB were close to the end.

It made sense to rejuvenate our KPF position.

Yes, but at the end of 2022 we actually moved on Wiedeman. We went into 2023 with Brown having played a lot of games in 2022, MacDonald still playing forward , now Petty and JVR set to play forward and possibly the resting ruckman of the 'Gawndy' pair. Thats a lot of talls! So make McKay our highest paid player to be one of five or six talls up forward in a close-knit , recent premiership side? Huh? You're being blinded by hindsight.

54 minutes ago, Jack Vineys Anger Manager said:

Buckley driving a BMW M4.

Not a Range Rover. He mustn't want the job.

To paraphrase Homer 'That man's never eaten from a cheese platter his whole life!"

7 hours ago, Macca said:

You have to chase hard

Been done before and money talks (you have to pay overs)

Or leave it as it is and continue to lose

The new coach won't have a magic wand

Okay. But who? Curnow? Is anyone else a chance to want to move across to us?

6 hours ago, Abyssal said:

The first and only timed I cried at the football. I was in my 30โ€™s.

Sitting in the car for an 1 hour waiting to exit the car park didnโ€™t help much either.

A lot of folk 'got something in their eye' when that siren went. Disbelief was rampant.

Major pitstop at the Mountain View on way home.

Still dislike that place. ( Artic ) Even more so with more ghosts of the [censored]'n'Poos there.

ย 
1 hour ago, ElDiablo14 said:

AFL tampering with its own competition. Banana republic and comical to be honest.

2 hours ago, No10 said:

Agree with your summation, mostly.

Except Goodwin, for all his faults, was a good technician. He has multiple innovations in the game that are attributable to him. The problem imo was that he throttled the player's natural abilities to fit his system. An assistant will come with their innovations and systems, but that wasn't lacking with Goodwin.

I see the board choosing Buckley for the reason alone that he'd lean more into each player and their gifts, Geelong do this well. His media ability is the other major positive and a change from Goodwin - a strong voice and a more mature Buckley second time around is a brand the club needs.

As you said, he's been mucking around on Best on Ground and spending time with Whateley. If anyone thinks the man is not desperate to coach, and desperate to coach us, they're either insane or have an agenda.

Could you name one please?

54 minutes ago, Ted Lasso said:

I reckon id be clearing out too if I had Tom morris and Sam McClure waiting outside with cameras, maybe Caro was sitting there too wearing a Tassie beanie

More like a bib to catch the dribble.

6 minutes ago, Queanbeyan Demon said:

Could you name one please?

Sure. He lined up the half forwards on the half back line and ran them through the centre bounce. That was exciting and brilliant, ironically ruined by 666.

He clearly had strengths, what did you think he did well if not technical systems?

1 minute ago, No10 said:

Sure. He lined up the half forwards on the half back line and ran them through the centre bounce. That was exciting and brilliant, ironically ruined by 666.

He clearly had strengths, what did you think he did well if not technical systems?

That was a Craig Jennings idea wasn't it?

2 minutes ago, KozzyCan said:

That was a Craig Jennings idea wasn't it?

Probably. It was great to watch.

Others speak better of Goodwin than me, but he was/is an incredibly dedicated student of the game and his style of play, contested pressure, was copied and successful until it was dismantled by speed and precision.

3 minutes ago, No10 said:

Probably. It was great to watch.

Others speak better of Goodwin than me, but he was/is an incredibly dedicated student of the game and his style of play, contested pressure, was copied and successful until it was dismantled by speed and precision.

I don't think Goodwin was a bad coach at all, but I do think he was limited and slow to adapt. After 2018 our attacking gameplan no longer worked and we took two years to work out a new way. Same thing the past two years we've been playing catch up trying to play modern footy. It's just too much time in the wilderness with a pretty good list the whole way through.

Also think that with everything that's happened over the past few years off the field the club really just needed a massive reset across the board.

Goodwin will do well at any organisation that hires him though.

Just now, Go Ds said:

Okay

Any forward that is 1st or 2nd tier would be worth looking at

Currently our best KPF forward is 4th tier and the rest are not worth persevering with (and that includes Petty)

Kentfield is very young and might make it. But it's a big maybe

AJ & Jeffo are list cloggers and if we could get a pick in the mid 2nd round for JVR, I'd take it. The list needs an overhaul and it needs to happen now

If we do nothing or only make cosmetic changes, we'll be having the same conversation this time next year (Imv)

Before Blight started at the Crows, McDermott, McGuiness, Anderson & Jarman were cleared out. We need to do something similar

I'd clear the decks for the new coach or perhaps the new coach will want the decks cleared anyway. Any prospective new coach will know who he wants to keep (and vice-versa)

What would you do? Do you believe we've got issues?

If so, what are those weaknesses and how do we address those issues?

5 minutes ago, Macca said:

The list needs an overhaul and it needs to happen now

If we do nothing or only make cosmetic changes, we'll be having the same conversation this time next year

Before Blight started at the Crows, McDermott, McGuiness, Anderson & Jarman were cleared out. We need to do something similar

The only thing we can really control is who goes out. Tracc, Lever, one of Oliver and Viney. May if anyone wants him.

Hopefully get some picks and big chunk of cap space.

If I really had to land a key forward Iโ€™d plan a year ahead. Mihocek no longer interests me nor does overpaying for Mitch Lewis. So the target should be guys out of contract 2026.

Caleb Lewis is a Casey player who went up to the suns mid year and did very well. Iโ€™d offer him more cash than heโ€™s worth for next year, in the hope that the Suns match it. Just a little dint in the Suns armour. Then for Plan A: Iโ€™d offer Ben King and Jed Walter a stack of cash knowing the Suns could only keep 1 of them.

Plan B. Jordan Croft, write your own cheque. Knowing Dogs are committed to Naughton and Darcy.

Plan C: I canโ€™t quit Ollie Lord just yet. I think thereโ€™s a very good player in there.

Iโ€™d hope to land one of those 4 next offseason

2 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

The only thing we can really control is who goes out. Tracc, Lever, one of Oliver and Viney. May if anyone wants him.

Hopefully get some picks and big chunk of cap space.

If I really had to land a key forward Iโ€™d plan a year ahead. Mihocek no longer interests me nor does overpaying for Mitch Lewis. So the target should be guys out of contract 2026.

Caleb Lewis is a Casey player who went up to the suns mid year and did very well. Iโ€™d offer him more cash than heโ€™s worth for next year, in the hope that the Suns match it. Just a little dint in the Suns armour. Then for Plan A: Iโ€™d offer Ben King and Jed Walter a stack of cash knowing the Suns could only keep 1 of them.

Plan B. Jordan Croft, write your own cheque. Knowing Dogs are committed to Naughton and Darcy.

Plan C: I canโ€™t quit Ollie Lord just yet. I think thereโ€™s a very good player in there.

Iโ€™d hope to land one of those 4 next offseason

The key to any sort of good recruiting is having the draft capital and/or playing talent that are tradeable

Right now, our first pick in the draft is a 2nd round pick. But if we managed to get hold of a couple of 1st rounders and a few 2nd & 3rd rounders, then we can (at least in part) rebuild the list

The glaring weaknesses are marking power up forward along with goal kicking ability from our forwards & mids

And our skills right across the board are not AFL finals standard. We've got plenty who can get the ball but we are terribly wasteful with the ball in hand

At the contest we are good but that's where the trouble starts. There's a lack of surety, confidence, poise and execution

That's why we finished 7 & 16 and if we don't act, we could easily stagnate where we are right now

I'm an advocate for change as I feel we've got nothing to lose. It's not as if we're still in contention. We're not

The club needs to let go of 2021, 2022 & 2023 ... that's not who we are anymore

What we are is 2024 & 2025 and that picture isn't pretty and it's clouded

1 hour ago, Macca said:

Any forward that is 1st or 2nd tier would be worth looking at

Currently our best KPF forward is 4th tier and the rest are not worth persevering with (and that includes Petty)

Kentfield is very young and might make it. But it's a big maybe

AJ & Jeffo are list cloggers and if we could get a pick in the mid 2nd round for JVR, I'd take it. The list needs an overhaul and it needs to happen now

If we do nothing or only make cosmetic changes, we'll be having the same conversation this time next year (Imv)

I'd clear the decks for the new coach or perhaps the new coach will want the decks cleared anyway. Any prospective new coach will know who he wants to keep (and vice-versa)

What would you do? Do you believe we've got issues?

If so, what are those weaknesses and how do we address those issues?

There's a book called Don't Just Do Something Sit There. I'm happy for us to have most ideas on the table. But let's not go crazy. Maybe trading Trac, Clarry, May and Viney , a la Blight, turns out to be a masterstroke. But let's make sure every possible big change is given proper consideration. (Most years most clubs trade in and out players and whether it's bad luck or bad decisions we've shown post-flag this alone guarantees nothing.)

9 minutes ago, Go Ds said:

There's a book called Don't Just Do Something Sit There. I'm happy for us to have most ideas on the table. But let's not go crazy. Maybe trading Trac, Clarry, May and Viney , a la Blight, turns out to be a masterstroke. But let's make sure every possible big change is given proper consideration. (Most years most clubs trade in and out players and whether it's bad luck or bad decisions we've shown post-flag this alone guarantees nothing.)

We're officially a bottom club and to be perfectly frank, trading out deadwood would improve the list

As would bringing in young talent improve the list

My view was that Goodwin wasn't necessarily the biggest problem at the club. It's true that he couldn't get the players to play a modern style but that can't be an entirely coach issue

The players have to take the blame as well

So my onus is squarely on the shoulders of the players. They let themselves down, the jumper and the coach

And still got paid handsomely. Lazy, unmotivated, soft with a give-up mentality

And I'm not letting them off the hook

A new coach can obviously improve things but the new coach needs a clean slate as well

Clear the decks, we've got nothing to lose

8 minutes ago, Go Ds said:

Nothing highlights the unbelievable transformation the club has had in 3 and a half seasons than the underlined above. I challenge anyone to think this could have be remotely acceptable mid '22. Yet today I, like many, have accept that it has to be considered.

Nothing new it this sentinment, but F*ing hell, it still hurts so much.

On 05/09/2025 at 14:38, Oxdee said:

Iโ€™ll say it again. Purely in win/loss Paul Roos had a below average record. Thatโ€™s a fact. He also lost his last game by close to 100 points. Thatโ€™s also a fact. His game plan was horrendous. Maybe he changed the culture but I donโ€™t rate him as a good coach

What a horrific take that is. Compare us at the end of his tenure to what what we were when he took over. Not in the same [censored] postcode.