View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

5 hours ago, Davos said:

He's articulate I guess, but outside of that there's very little reason to believe he'd be successful if appointed.

If there aren't changes anywhere else at the club, there's very little reason to believe that anyone would be successful.

12 hours ago, Ghostwriter said:

You’re clearly not familiar with Ed. Dude’s so chill he’s a heartbeat away from a coma.

Also, he doesn’t sound like a player striving for a premiership? What does that sound like? Should he have passionately said “YES! THE BOARD IS SPOT ON… WE NEED A NEW VOICE!!” Would that have fit the brief? Never mind that this isn’t how he feels.

"The last two seasons have not been what we wanted, and we take accountability for that. We're sorry we couldn't get it done for Goody, but we'll look to the future"

12 hours ago, GM11 said:

Interesting looking at the ladder as it sits.

The only recycled coach in the top 12 is Dimma, and he jumped off the sinking ship.

The bottom six have Scott, Voss, Lyon, Clarkson & two newbies.

Can't see any value in recycling.

The only coaches who win flags at their second club in the modern era seem to be those who left their first club and weren't sacked (Malthouse at Collingwood the notable one). Longmire the only experienced option worth looking at IMO.

11 hours ago, Ghostwriter said:

So you’d rather he’d lied? Because that’s exactly what he would’ve been doing had he said what YOU expected him to say.

You don’t like what he said. That doesn’t mean what he said is wrong. He was expressing HIS feelings, not YOURS.

This is a very obtuse response. Many of us are disappointed that the players seem to lack ruthlessness and ambition, as evidenced by the past two years on and off field. Nobody wants Ed to lie, the issue is that he and other players don't seem to understand why this has happened.

Edited by Pirlo

48 minutes ago, Pirlo said:

The only coaches who win flags at their second club in the modern era seem to be those who left their first club and weren't sacked (Malthouse at Collingwood the notable one). Longmire the only experienced option worth looking at IMO.

With a small sample it’s hard to draw any conclusions like that. The reality is the vast majority of coaches whether appointed as a rookie or as an experienced coach won’t win a flag. (if some one wants to run the numbers I’d be interested) My gut says it shouldn’t be a consideration and any differences are more likely due to other factors, we should just appoint the best coach we can find.

3 hours ago, DubDee said:

I honestly thought if there’s one person happy today it would be you

Goody is gone

On to the next thing already? at least be happy for a few days

I’m not in denial our club has many issues, I don’t take joy in Coaches being sacked, and disappointed for Goody but also frustrated with our club who just can’t get stability which would have impacted our premiership clock in 22/23, it’s rinse and repeat of presidents & CEOs, P Jackson laid the foundations yet they found a war to demolish them

20 hours ago, MrFreeze said:

I think some of these players are too comfortable being comfortable

When Max was discussing ruthlessness, it honestly sounded like he was trying to convince himself to be ruthless

A bit of disruption might be good for these boys

Langdon needs media training

That was a poor show from him

6 hours ago, bing181 said:

How Demonland sees statistics:

Surgeon: Hi, I'm your surgeon, I'll be performing your open heart surgery.

Demonlander: It's a very complicated operation, what's your success rate?

Surgeon: Excellent. I've done a dozen of these, I had one patient where I turned his life around, added 25 years to it.

Demonlander: And the others?

Surgeon: They all died on the operating table.

Demonlander: Sounds good, let's do it.

But heh, it'll be different this time.

I don’t think the comparison is apt

6 hours ago, bing181 said:

No it's not. Read the original post. A team that has consistently played in finals and maybe has one off year (Pies, GWS) is not what I would call a struggling team. Also, was only talking about the last few years.

But been here before. People can't help themselves in looking at all the times a particular coaching path has led to success, while ignoring both a) other factors that might have contributed to success but in particular, all the times that same path has not had a significant impact on a clubs trajectory. Essendon, North and St Kilda have been through numerous coaching changes without any real change in their fortunes. But that's the norm. Outliers are just that.

But would you classify us as a struggling club? Because I wouldnt.. Essendon, North and St Kilda have had years of mediocrity with no finals for a number of years.

Goodwins record is similar to Nathan Buckley at Collingwood.

Bucks had 3 years in a row of playing finals before being removed in 2021.

Similar to us, we played finals for 3 years in a row finishing top 4 each year before we have then had the down year last year and obviously this year.

From 2019, GWS went from grand final, missing finals in 2020, finals in 2021 and then winning 6 games in 2022.

Honestly what difference does it make if you're year or two out of finals...

A change of coach has proven to have its benefits, if done correctly. We are not a Richmond or North Melbourne made up of purely young kids.

There is a blend of youth and old in our squad and as Adelaide have shown, it only takes a good off season of drafting and trading to really turn things around.

Someone like a Buckley or Longmire has that pulling power with players. Get that decision correct and who knows what could happen next year.

8 hours ago, bing181 said:

can't help themselves in looking at all the times a particular coaching path has led to success, while ignoring both a) other factors that might have contributed to success but in particular, all the times that same path has not had a significant impact on a clubs trajectory.

This can be said of both angles; look at all the people who constantly sight Hardwick at at Richmond taking them from an 8 win and 13th placed season in 2016, to premiers in 2017 and then going back to back in 19/20 and use these anomalous yet spectacular results as an indication that this will somehow occur at Melbourne had we persisted and continued with the known quantity of Goodwin. Now, I'm not necessarily saying you're doing this at all - but your point stands that looking at a coaching path that leads to success occurs on both sides of the spectrum, in both the keep Goodwin and sack Goodwin camp.

I think ultimately, we need to look at the longitudinal results post 2021 success. Four years is a reasonable level of data and despite what any of us think on here, the Club has stated multiple times that they were expecting the club to be contending in finals this year.

Edited by BLWNBA

2 hours ago, Superunknown said:

Langdon needs media training

That was a poor show from him

Disagree, as others have stated his honesty is refreshing. It gives us a glimpse into the thoughts of the playing group and something good to yarn about on DL.

5 minutes ago, MrFreeze said:

Disagree, as others have stated his honesty is refreshing. It gives us a glimpse into the thoughts of the playing group and something good to yarn about on DL.

It comes down to perception. You can ethically disagree with the actions of your employer, but I don't overly think it's professional to air them in a public forum (although the microcosm of the AFL is a unique environment and workplace). To be fair, I do think that this is somewhat of a storm in a teacup. I'm not overly disenfranchised with his comments, but my immediate reaction was to think it was a poor choice of words because naturally, it enables a situation to be presented whereby there is an inference of a divided club.

If anyone has a chance please listen to the Max Gawn on triple M interview.

One of his best interviews I've ever heard him i reckon.

He made a gag that Ed Langdon butchered the interview yesterday when they asked him about supporting the decision.

10 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Brilliant, that's how you present a professional and unified club.

" I'm a supporter of the team. I'm a lover of the Melbourne Football Club. They've sacked people I've loved before and I've moved on and so have they. ... I'm a lover of the club. I'm excited for what is next ... Football doesn't wait for anybody. Goodwin sacked, I'm like geez my life is over ... I'm down in the dumps Tuesday morning and then we train Tuesday arvo ... and I come here today and I'm like 'I can't wait for the Bulldogs, I can't wait for what we do in the trade period. I'm really excited about what coach we get in'..."

23 hours ago, Adam The God said:

In game style, in the way we wanted to move the ball and in margins.

Yes, we were struggling to finish off those games, but we have a percentage of 108.7% and a record of 7-8 since Round 6. That is a trend upwards given the previous year.

And again, I don't know how many times I have to say it, but I wasn't against the sacking. I don't like the timing or its handling.

As for Alan Richardson allegedly being on the selection panel for the next coach, who was the person responsible for ensuring off field matters with Clarry and Trac were handled appropriately and professionally? That's not up to the senior coach. And who is responsible for the wider football department? Alan Richardson. And yet he seems to have got a pass. Mind boggling.

I'm sure some of the players won't be too keen on him. He had to be consulted on the senior coach being sacked. I haven't heard a single positive thing about Richo until he has a year remaining on his contract and he's allegedly doing a good job.

And thanks to the restructure that Pert did at the end of 2020 you had Richo being moved from Goody's mentor to his boss. Soft cap constraints aside, a toxic and confusing, conflict riddled management structure I would have thought.

I get what you're saying 100% Adam, it's the eye test.

I agree that the ball movement and style was starting to take shape, it was one of the reasons why I was still undecided on whether he should be here in 2026. Yes there were games where it may have looked good because of what the oppo was giving us eg. St Kilda's stagnant movement in the first 3 quarters or West Coast just being garbage but the signs were there and it would be silly to say that we weren't trying to change.

As for Richo being on the selection panel, if true I'd find it another ridiculous decision in a long line of them.

Edited by layzie

33 minutes ago, BLWNBA said:

It comes down to perception. You can ethically disagree with the actions of your employer, but I don't overly think it's professional to air them in a public forum (although the microcosm of the AFL is a unique environment and workplace). To be fair, I do think that this is somewhat of a storm in a teacup. I'm not overly disenfranchised with his comments, but my immediate reaction was to think it was a poor choice of words because naturally, it enables a situation to be presented whereby there is an inference of a divided club.

It just gives the media more fuel for the fire

It was not necessary.

20 minutes ago, BLWNBA said:

Brilliant, that's how you present a professional and unified club.

" I'm a supporter of the team. I'm a lover of the Melbourne Football Club. They've sacked people I've loved before and I've moved on and so have they. ... I'm a lover of the club. I'm excited for what is next ... Football doesn't wait for anybody. Goodwin sacked, I'm like geez my life is over ... I'm down in the dumps Tuesday morning and then we train Tuesday arvo ... and I come here today and I'm like 'I can't wait for the Bulldogs, I can't wait for what we do in the trade period. I'm really excited about what coach we get in'..."

Bloody amazing interview Max

14 hours ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Yes we know, you would've signed Goodwin up for life because the coach is actually useless and doesn't effect anything so why not? The players loved, sorry respected, him after all and that's been working so well the last few years.

Like University tenure, you may leave whenever you wish.😅

Simon was overdue to leave, that's just the nature of this industry.

5 minutes ago, KozzyCan said:

Gawn really is the best club ambassador I've ever seen.

President material.

I don't think people understand how much power Max Gawn has at this club. He might as well be CEO and head of communication.

You would be incredibly naïve to think he was not consulted on the decision or support it in some respects. I know for a fact that he's had sway in other decisions and non decisions before, not just within the footy department.

He is the football club, and we are incredibly lucky to have him as captain. There isn't anyone else on the list who comes close to being the leader that we need.

If Max is on board, and I have no doubt he is, then you can rest easy that the rest of the group will soon be as well.

17 hours ago, Fork 'em said:

So you're both guessing.
Got it.

I guess so 🙄