Posted (edited)

I thought it was about time this was done for the women's team

Information on contracts is very difficult to find, so I have done my best here.

if anyone sees any errors, just let me know :)

image.png.d714144ab1bce3029ee4d14889c28ac7.png

Edited by red and blue forever
  • Thanks 4
  • 1 month later...

Posted (edited)

Likely to see the Dees consider saying farewell to Grace Hill, Rhi Watt (already retired) and either Gabby Colvin or Paxy.  

Other clubs might come knocking to attract TAYLA HARRIS. I think the Dees have supported her strongly and should see her repay that if she’s happy in our environment.  Tayla is a premium player who can command a key forward or key defender role.  

Edited by spirit of norm smith
O
Posted

Watt was very good but Loz Pearce when fit is great and it’s time to commit to Campbell so I don’t mind that.

Similarly we might commit to the Gall and be happy to move Harris on.

Hopefully get Beasley and A Mackin back next year.

Is it time for Paxy to call it? Plus Colvin.

Small forward, midfield depth, key backs remain the top priority. Be nice to add experience in those spots whilst keeping an early pick in the draft.

Posted (edited)

Update for Rhi Watt retiring,

Also I did not have Sarah D'arcy, Sophie Casey and Jo Lin on the list for some reason.

Can anyone HELP me, I read the rules for list sizes for the AFLW, and it states a list must have 30 players.

we currently have 34 on the list, so how does that work?

Also, does anyone know our draft picks?

Finally,, if anyone sees something incorrect on the list let me know and I will fix it, thanks  :)

image.png.5d84825c0cff295db49f580e1635f913.png

Edited by red and blue forever
Posted
9 hours ago, DeeSpencer said:

Watt was very good but Loz Pearce when fit is great and it’s time to commit to Campbell so I don’t mind that.

Small forward, midfield depth, key backs remain the top priority. Be nice to add experience in those spots whilst keeping an early pick in the draft.

An option might be to play Harris back...although it might not be what she wants.

I could see her as an exciting prospect with intercept marking & attack on the ball/player at CHB.

Posted

Campbell and Gall are very promising but no way would I look to move Tayla on. She is still a quality player.

The only proviso i would have is how committed she is to AFLW. I don't like her boxing while contracted to us. I totally understand she has to make a living and good luck to her but not on our dime. I'm not sure she was fully focussed during preseason and can't but think her injury was a result of a lack of preparation and/or boxing related consequences.

Posted

@red and blue forever Dees AFLW Team got top up players this year.  List of 30, and we had 8-10 on the injury list by mid season. Just had 21 players to choose from and we had to have top up players brought in as emergencies. Thats why we see Lin and D’arcy listed.  They automatically drop off.  

All the young draftees debuted due to the desperate shortage of players.  But we saw some surprise development in players that was probably accelerated by the absence of some of our stars.  

Have to sign up Chaplin and Gillard on 2 or 3 year deals.  They are young stars.  

Posted (edited)
36 minutes ago, spirit of norm smith said:

Have to sign up Chaplin and Gillard on 2 or 3 year deals.  They are young stars.  

I agree with this. I'd put Fitzsimon in the same category and Gall very close to it. 

Eliza McNamara should be the first player in the 2028/29 bracket. Gun. 

Edited by The Taciturn Demon
Posted (edited)
18 hours ago, red and blue forever said:

Also I did not have Sarah D'arcy, Sophie Casey and Jo Lin on the list for some reason.

Can anyone HELP me, I read the rules for list sizes for the AFLW, and it states a list must have 30 players.

They were top up players, not on our list.  So they don't actually have AFLW contracts.

Also Denby Taylor was a replacement player for Aimee Mackin, who was put on our inactive list very early in the piece.

Edited by Katrina Dee Fan
Posted
19 hours ago, DeeSpencer said:

I think the combination of Loz and Campbell in the ruck is very handy, especially as they can both play forward.  In the latter part of the season we had three quality rucks which was definitely a luxury, but alas Rhi's retirement brings us back to 2. 

I would be happy to keep Tayla, especially as Gall is still developing.  I do think Tay's role will revert back into the forward again, with the option of her filling in in the ruck if needed (ie if both Georgia Campbell and Loz Pearce are unavailable for whatever reason.  Paxy I fear may have played her last game, she's 37 now and her foot is pretty much cactus.  Gabby Colvin I think will put in another year.  I hope so, she was having a ripper of a season before her concussion, reaching her pre ACL form.  She's keen to play on, providing a fantastic support for Gillard and Chaplin.

Posted
9 hours ago, rjay said:

An option might be to play Harris back...although it might not be what she wants.

I could see her as an exciting prospect with intercept marking & attack on the ball/player at CHB.

Yeah that was the rumour heading in to this season, and whilst it could work well it could also end badly. If she’s open to it I’d think about it. But given how competitive aflw list management is I could see her going to a 4th club to play forward and the Dees finding 

Hill was ok too. We might stick with her and Colvin and target mids and quick forwards. Ideally we have the midfield depth so Hore can be more 70:30 forward than the other way around.

Posted
On 05/11/2024 at 10:07, The Taciturn Demon said:

Interesting that according to Rookie Central, this coming women's draft is clearly a different level of quality to those that have come before it. 

Unsurprising to me. The first season of AFLW was 7.5 years ago. The players getting drafted this year are probably the first to have a pathway open to them from age 10 or 11. 

I reckon over the next 5 years the quality of draftees is going to ramp significantly as we not only have a larger pool of girls who have played football their entire junior career, but we'll also have more girls coming from "elite" junior pathways and representative sides, where the talent pathways have identified the best players, and they've had the chance to improve by playing in those elite junior competitions.

Posted
On 04/11/2024 at 13:04, Katrina Dee Fan said:

They were top up players, not on our list.  So they don't actually have AFLW contracts.

Also Denby Taylor was a replacement player for Aimee Mackin, who was put on our inactive list very early in the piece.

Denby Taylor needs to be signed up then - quality footballer!

Posted
On 09/11/2024 at 10:54, Roger Mellie said:

Denby Taylor needs to be signed up then - quality footballer!

I'm sure she will be.  It's how we got Casey Sheriff and Saraid Taylor, who were replacement players for Daisy Pearce and Sammi Johnson when they were pregnant. Both were extended.

Posted

I'd love to keep D.Taylor in particular, but with Hose and A.Mackin potentially back on the active list, there's a squeeze. Has anyone heard anything regarding Aimee's recovery and if she's keen on coming back?

Harris staying or going will probably impact decisions regarding a couple of tall defenders on the fringe.

Some ruck depth would be good to replace Watt, with Hose apparently a few years away. Although, Pearce is perceived (including by me until I actually looked it up) as being more injury prone than she really is - 2024 aside, she hasn't missed more than 1 game in a season since 2020. Across the 9 seasons, 72 out of a possible 87 games. Not getting younger, of course.

Maybe a retirement to come from Paxy, though we've been counting her out since about 2020! I won't believe it til it happens.

Keeping an eye on the un-contracted, if we could re-sign Gillard and Chaplin ASAP that would be nice. Also Gall since I saw she has interest from elsewhere. And Beasley because I'd hope we'd do the right thing even if she won't recover til September at the earliest and we must cling to midfielders even if they're on one leg.