7 minutes ago, Macca said:

Well, in my circle, it's the players who are copping it big time. Not the coach

This site is often not a good example of the thinking as we tend to see 5 or 6 people shiiitt-canning the coach hundreds and hundreds of times (like parrots)

In terms of expectations and the strength of list, this is the worst year I can ever recall (in terms of underachieving) And we can't blame injuries either

We've got a list of players who can't carry out simple instructions

Lazy & Selfish

You know that you’re guilty of doing the same thing you’re critical of here?

You’re letting the coach off the hook whilst simultaneously criticising others for letting the players off the hook.

Of course, neither argument is right. Our malaise is an all-club problem. Goodwin’s not flying. The players aren’t either.

4 minutes ago, Macca said:

This site is often not a good example of the thinking as we tend to see 5 or 6 people shiiitt-canning the coach hundreds and hundreds of times (like parrots)

In terms of expectations and the strength of list, this is the worst year I can ever recall (in terms of underachieving) And we can't blame injuries either

Lazy & Selfish

Arrrkkk..... Simon has to go.... aaarrrkkkk... Simon

Macca. I've seriously never known football to be that hard of a game ( deciphering modern day umpiring aside ) . I can't believe professional players can't execute team plays after a full preseason. Mind boggling really. They're not learning another language, not having to learn Systems Engineering.... not Rocket Surgery eh.

It's football, something they've done invariably since they could kick a ball at school. Only so many variations and plays !!

My question is what the actual !@$# are they being told to do ??

It ain't working

Despite winning the flag in '21, it's ridiculous we haven't won a final in two consecutive seasons in 35 years is a joke.

Screenshot_20250703-165409.png

5 minutes ago, titan_uranus said:

You know that you’re guilty of doing the same thing you’re critical of here?

You’re letting the coach off the hook whilst simultaneously criticising others for letting the players off the hook.

Of course, neither argument is right. Our malaise is an all-club problem. Goodwin’s not flying. The players aren’t either.

I'm presenting another side of the story instead of joining in on the pile-on

So not only can't our players carry out simple instructions but they often forget to turn up. There's no hunger

Lord knows Goodwin cops it 100 times more than the players

I don't see anyone else here going hard at the players

Just attempting to even the score

7 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

Arrrkkk..... Simon has to go.... aaarrrkkkk... Simon

Macca. I've seriously never known football to be that hard of a game ( deciphering modern day umpiring aside ) . I can't believe professional players can't execute team plays after a full preseason. Mind boggling really. They're not learning another language, not having to learn Systems Engineering.... not Rocket Surgery eh.

It's football, something they've done invariably since they could kick a ball at school. Only so many variations and plays !!

My question is what the actual !@$# are they being told to do ??

It ain't working

Blame the players

They are the ones letting the club down

Blame the players

They are the ones letting the club down

Mercenaries & Freeloaders

What if they are being instructed to do something that is fundamentally flawed ??

Because that's the first thing that comes to my thinking.

I've for a long time said our forward problems are an incurrence of design. A lot of how we play is for mine very counter intuitive. So I naturally extend my suspicion to think a lot of what we do is by instruction , albeit executed poorly but maybe that's a product of poor oversight ?

We play "ODD" footy imho

1 minute ago, beelzebub said:

What if they are being instructed to do something that is fundamentally flawed ??

Because that's the first thing that comes to my thinking.

I've for a long time said our forward problems are an incurrence of design. A lot of how we play is for mine very counter intuitive. So I naturally extend my suspicion to think a lot of what we do is by instruction , albeit executed poorly but maybe that's a product of poor oversight ?

We play "ODD" footy imho

How about the players take responsibility for their own ineptness

Oh, and bruise-free footy is back in case you hadn't noticed

22 minutes ago, Macca said:

I'm presenting another side of the story

Lord knows Goodwin cops it 100 times more than the players

I don't see anyone else here going hard at the players

Why is that?

Oliver Viney and Petracca have been called out repeatedly by the footy media for their appalling disposal

On 30/06/2025 at 21:06, Demonsone said:

We have become irrelevant to the point that I skimmed thru the footy shoes fist crack, 360 & on the couch and couldn’t any discussions on us!

Who would want to hear about us.. without being super pessimistic, there’s really nothing positive to say. There’s issues on almost every level from players, coaches, board and home training facilities.

I also think that there’s only so much to say when nothing for us seems to change and it’s the same conversation on repeat.

8 minutes ago, jnrmac said:

Oliver Viney and Petracca have been called out repeatedly by the footy media for their appalling disposal

But… nothing changes.

1 minute ago, jnrmac said:

Yes that's true but the coach cops it 100 times more than the players (on this site)

Player personnel wise we are in a real bind. We're paying elite money to a number of players for constant sub-par performances

Almost untradeable because of the length of contracts and money involved

Either way, it's hard to see a clear pathway ahead. If they stay and continue underperforming then another bog ordinary season is on the cards

If we offload what would we get in return? In my view, not much apart from salary dumping

I'd call for a full review but we just did that last year

55 minutes ago, Macca said:

You seem convinced that Goodwin is the sole issue when he may not be the issue at all

Out players are letting themselves down, the club down and they are letting the coach down

For this list of players to have only won 5 games this year is a utter disgrace. Overpaid and underworked

As stated 2 months ago on this very thread, do not let the players off the hook

Im with you 100% on the players too. They have been really poor from attitude perspective. Goody made a massive bet on the love & connection & healing. In hindsight, he should have just stuck to footy and the gameplan.

I reckon Goody has had his chance to turn this around. Im not calling for his head right this instant. I think we let him coach until the end of the year. if we can finish with a positive ledger for the remaining games, knock off Collingwood and ultimately start to see something to give us hope into next year, particularly around i50 method, improvement on scores against and overall defensive profile. Then i could buy into the idea that we have turned it around and the new game plan is starting to take effect.

Anything failing that, in particular, if we have a few beltings in the order of 10 goals, have more quarters like we did against GCS, then im afraid change is needed. That goes for the players too. Anyone that is not invested 100% in the remaining part of the season, murmurings of trade desires etc. Put them straight on the trade block. Dont care who it is - we cannot continue to have disharmony in the playing group.

6 minutes ago, GS_1905 said:

Im with you 100% on the players too. They have been really poor from attitude perspective. Goody made a massive bet on the love & connection & healing. In hindsight, he should have just stuck to footy and the gameplan.

I reckon Goody has had his chance to turn this around. Im not calling for his head right this instant. I think we let him coach until the end of the year. if we can finish with a positive ledger for the remaining games, knock off Collingwood and ultimately start to see something to give us hope into next year, particularly around i50 method, improvement on scores against and overall defensive profile. Then i could buy into the idea that we have turned it around and the new game plan is starting to take effect.

Anything failing that, in particular, if we have a few beltings in the order of 10 goals, have more quarters like we did against GCS, then im afraid change is needed. That goes for the players too. Anyone that is not invested 100% in the remaining part of the season, murmurings of trade desires etc. Put them straight on the trade block. Dont care who it is - we cannot continue to have disharmony in the playing group.

One could argue this too is a product of his making ??

At least he's complicit. Bit like a parent trying to be a friend

image.jpeg

1 hour ago, beelzebub said:

One could argue this too is a product of his making ??

At least he's complicit. Bit like a parent trying to be a friend

Is there a possibility that the players are at fault in many instances? Any player weakness can't just be the fault of the coach

Oliver going off the rails is an Oliver issue. Fritsch being disinterested is a Fritsch issue. JVR not leading or attempting to mark with one arm up is a JVR issue

Petracca using the media to disrespect his own club is a Petracca issue ... etc etc

Goodwin can't hold their hands nor can he look for and deliver to a target in the forward line. He's just the coach

As for kicking at goal, that's on the players as well as he can't kick it for them

Forwards not leading or making position? Well he's dropped JVR (twice) and Fritsch to make a statement

My reckoning is that the players are self-satisfied and lack hunger

Turn the list over as sacking the coach right now or in the next 12 Months is financially problematic

Leave the list as it is and expect the same sort of results next season

2 hours ago, Macca said:

Lazy & Selfish

Then WHY play them??

2 hours ago, Macca said:

Lazy & Selfish

Macca you keep arguing that it is the Players who are not performing.

It is the job of the Head Coach to get those Players performing, if this doesn’t happen, then the Head Coach will be terminated

That’s why he is on a $Mill + a year

Goodwin must get results…

2 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

It is the job of the Head Coach to get those Players performing, if this doesn’t happen, then the Head Coach will be terminated

But hasn't and doesn't for the last 4 years.. end of story!

4 minutes ago, picket fence said:

But hasn't and doesn't for the last 4 years.. end of story!

Correct…. Sad how so many just either don’t get it, or don’t want to get it

5 minutes ago, picket fence said:

Then WHY play them??

Because we're obliged to field a team?

He perhaps could have dropped a few more players but you can't blame him for sticking with players who delivered the ultimate prize

And let's face it, the would-be replacement players at Casey aren't exactly banging down the door

A list of good experienced players with a number of added on talented youngsters suddenly looks like a pipe-dream

We've seen some fairly ordinary lists over the years (especially in the 70's and most of the 80's) but the current list has loads of talent

Underperforming talent

8 minutes ago, Macca said:

Is there a possibility that the players are at fault in many instances? Any player weakness can't just be the fault of the coach

Oliver going off the rails is an Oliver issue. Fritsch being disinterested is a Fritsch issue. JVR not leading or attempting to mark with one arm up is a JVR issue

Petracca using the media to disrespect his own club is a Petracca issue ... etc etc

Goodwin can't hold their hands nor can he look for and deliver to a target in the forward line. He's just the coach

As for kicking at goal, that's on the players as well as he can't kick it for them

Forwards not leading or making position? Well he's dropped JVR (twice) and Fritsch to make a statement

My reckoning is that the players are self-satisfied and lack hunger

Turn the list over as sacking the coach right now or in the next 12 Months is financially problematic

Leave the list as it is and expect the same sort of results next season

I'm not sure if you're Simon Goodwin posting in disguise or Simon's mum or Simon's best mate.

Your line is that whatever happens it's not the coach's fault it's all the players fault.

Maybe we shouldn't appoint a coach & the players coach themselves & we save $1M a year.

1 hour ago, Macca said:

Yes that's true but the coach cops it 100 times more than the players (on this site)

Player personnel wise we are in a real bind. We're paying elite money to a number of players for constant sub-par performances

Almost untradeable because of the length of contracts and money involved

Either way, it's hard to see a clear pathway ahead. If they stay and continue underperforming then another bog ordinary season is on the cards

If we offload what would we get in return? In my view, not much apart from salary dumping

I'd call for a full review but we just did that last year

Whatdid the review reveal

12 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

In my world it's incumbent on the players to get the best out of themselves

That's not happening and the coach cannot hold their hands

During the Bailey years you constantly blamed the players. Personalities?

Why the switcheroo?

3 minutes ago, Cranky Franky said:

I'm not sure if you're Simon Goodwin posting in disguise or Simon's mum or Simon's best mate.

Your line is that whatever happens it's not the coach's fault it's all the players fault.

Maybe we shouldn't appoint a coach & the players coach themselves & we save $1M a year.

No, I'm just evening the score as people like you keep protecting the players as if they can do no nothing wrong

In fact, it's quite amazing how much stock is placed on the coach

Strange how we never blamed RDB or Roos when they kept losing games

Even Neeld copped very little (as compared to Goodwin)

In my world it's incumbent on the players to get the best out of themselves

That's not happening and the coach cannot hold their hands

During the Bailey years you constantly blamed the players. Personalities?

Why the switcheroo?

Totally different scenario when Bailey was Coaching and you know it Macca