Posted
39 minutes ago, Binmans PA said:

Just watched his highlights against the Allies. He seems a bit of a prototype JT pick in that he's hard at it and seems like a great tackler. Seems to read the play well too, is a nice relaxed kick, but what he offers that's maybe a little different to the rest of our mids except Trac, is he looks like he can go forward and finish in the forward half.

So @ChaserJ, we reckon he could go outside the top 10? Interesting.

He's a beast on the inside, has the strong fend off and has f50 smarts.

There are a lot of Petracca comps and there are times when he reminds me a little (in game style and aggression) of Michael Voss. His ball use is very good for an inside mid, good punchy kick.

After watching us get beaten up in contest this year, I'd love his physicality in our mix and see him and Tracc switching between fwd & mid working an absolute treat. Given his interrupted season he's sitting in that 8ish range, but can see him climbing rather than falling (which wouldn't be great for us, but would mean someone else slips down).

Marc McGowan (who has a slightly different ranking to the other draft watchers) has Lalor at 5:

5. Sam Lalor
GWV Rebels/Vic Country
Midfielder/forward, 187cm, 30/8/2006

U18 champs stats (avg): 11 disposals, 4 tackles, 1.3 goals

Lalor is one of several top prospects who has endured an injury-interrupted year, but there is excitement about his upside. Him being likened to Christian Petracca should give people an insight into the player recruiters think he can become. Lalor, who also has a high-level cricket background, is a bull in the contest, and similarly impactful as a midfielder and forward. He had only brief on-ball bursts at the championships because he was short on match fitness, but kicked three set-shot goals against the Allies. One to watch.

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/an-eye-to-the-future-your-guide-to-the-best-players-of-this-year-s-afl-draft-class-20240724-p5jw84.html

Posted (edited)

Likely draft order and picks as things are now

Tigers  Jagga Smith

**Lions Levi Ashcroft 

Kangas  Luke Trainor 

Eagles  Finn O’Sullivan 

Crows  Sid Draper

Saints Josh Smillie 

Suns Sam Lalor (depending on whether clubs bid on Leonardo Lombard)

Dees need to look at first choice being between Xavier Lindsay or Harvey Langford

then trade out 2025 first round pick to get access to another 2024 1st round pick to get someone (if available) like Sam Lalor/Murphy Reid/Tom Gross/Christian Moraes/Toby Travaglia/Taj Hotton/Bo Allan. 

Edited by spirit of norm smith
O

Posted

Anyone see my man Jobe shanahan 

kicked 4 goals in vfl for Essendon.

trade our next years first to get him. 

Posted
3 hours ago, Edm said:

Anyone see my man Jobe shanahan 

kicked 4 goals in vfl for Essendon.

trade our next years first to get him. 

Agree. Shanahan is very good. His marking and goalkicking will be highly sought after. 

Will be interesting to see if JT thinks we need another young key forward.   We have JVR, Jefferson and Kentfield.  I’m probably all in on our first 3 picks being midfielders.  

Posted
On 03/08/2024 at 14:07, ChaserJ said:

There are a lot of Petracca comps and there are times when he reminds me a little (in game style and aggression) of Michael Voss. His ball use is very good for an inside mid, good punchy kick.

After watching us get beaten up in contest this year, I'd love his physicality in our mix and see him and Tracc switching between fwd & mid working an absolute treat. Given his interrupted season he's sitting in that 8ish range, but can see him climbing rather than falling (which wouldn't be great for us, but would mean someone else slips down).

Marc McGowan (who has a slightly different ranking to the other draft watchers) has Lalor at 5:

5. Sam Lalor
GWV Rebels/Vic Country

Lalor is one of several top prospects who has endured an injury-interrupted year, but there is excitement about his upside. Him being likened to Christian Petracca should give people an insight into the player recruiters think he can become. Lalor, who also has a high-level cricket background, is a bull in the contest, and similarly impactful as a midfielder and forward. He had only brief on-ball bursts at the championships because he was short on match fitness, but kicked three set-shot goals against the Allies. One to watch.

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/an-eye-to-the-future-your-guide-to-the-best-players-of-this-year-s-afl-draft-class-20240724-p5jw84.html

Love the look of him. Hopefully slides to 6!

Posted

Playing devils advocate here in regards to Dan Houston and trading out our first rounder.

Perhaps this is the draft where giving up a top 10 pick for an established gun like Houston won't come back to bite us?

Given the evenness of the draft pool and Cal reportedly saying its a deep draft but the top picks lacking last year's star power, I can see a world where we give up pick 6-8 and trade picks into the late first round/early second round.

Not saying its the way to go, but if we turned pick 6 into Dan Houston and a mid we are happy with then it's perhaps worthy of consideration.

Looking at Cals July phantom form guide, these are the midfieldeds in the back end of the first round currently/early 2nd.

16. Xavier Lindsay 

19. Cooper Hynes

20. Tom Gross

22. Christian Moraes

If we can somehow turn 6 into Houston and one of the above, that's doesnt sound like a bad outcome. Obviously there will most likely be more trade capital used to make that happen.

Posted

https://central.rookieme.com/afl/2024/08/07/scouting-notes-2024-coates-talent-league-round-17/

Scouting notes from the weekend. 

@dazzledavey36 I’m sure you seen lots of Joe Berry games. What’s your thoughts on him?!

We all want midfielders but with Kossie spending time in middle and Spargo both injured and on the outer when fit I wonder if we would be interested. Seems to have a. Skill set we could certainly do with. 

Posted

Not this year’s crop, but if anyone’s interested in having a look at our highest profile NGA kid in next year’s group, Tairon Ah Mu, he’ll be lining up for Vic Country in bottom age trials this weekend (will be streamed):

Posted
2 minutes ago, ChaserJ said:

Not this year’s crop, but if anyone’s interested in having a look at our highest profile NGA kid in next year’s group, Tairon Ah Mu, he’ll be lining up for Vic Country in bottom age trials this weekend (will be streamed):

I'd love to watch this but I'll be playing footy myself.

Will you watch Chaser?

5 hours ago, Colm said:

https://central.rookieme.com/afl/2024/08/07/scouting-notes-2024-coates-talent-league-round-17/

Scouting notes from the weekend. 

@dazzledavey36 I’m sure you seen lots of Joe Berry games. What’s your thoughts on him?!

We all want midfielders but with Kossie spending time in middle and Spargo both injured and on the outer when fit I wonder if we would be interested. Seems to have a. Skill set we could certainly do with. 

Berry is a gun mate. Has come through the development ranks and certainly spent time with him in our under 16's program (I have no role in the under 18's)

He reminds me so much of Toby Green with his skillset and ability to provide X factor in big games. He likes to pushes up the ground and be creative around the midfield stoppage as well.

Last few games at Coates level He's played midfield and still find time to push forward and hit the scoreboard. 

Posted
33 minutes ago, ChaserJ said:

Kalani White also named in the Queensland team👍🏻

Posted (edited)
3 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

I'd love to watch this but I'll be playing footy myself.

Will you watch Chaser?

Berry is a gun mate. Has come through the development ranks and certainly spent time with him in our under 16's program (I have no role in the under 18's)

He reminds me so much of Toby Green with his skillset and ability to provide X factor in big games. He likes to pushes up the ground and be creative around the midfield stoppage as well.

Last few games at Coates level He's played midfield and still find time to push forward and hit the scoreboard. 

Very tempted to drive down the Princes and watch live @dazzledavey36, but may have to settle for watching the live stream.

You playing finals footy?

Edited by ChaserJ
Posted

So Lions get another #pick 1 prospect after Levi nominates the Lions today. Seriously this club cannot get more luck.  To get 1 F/S as pick 1 prospect is 1 in 100 but to get 2 in 3 years is daylight robbery. They have essentially done a mini a-grade rebuild, whilst finishing top 4 in the last 5 years. This just doesn’t happen elsewhere. I’m all for F/S but this just isn’t right. 

Posted
11 hours ago, Gawndy the Great said:

So Lions get another #pick 1 prospect after Levi nominates the Lions today. Seriously this club cannot get more luck.  To get 1 F/S as pick 1 prospect is 1 in 100 but to get 2 in 3 years is daylight robbery. They have essentially done a mini a-grade rebuild, whilst finishing top 4 in the last 5 years. This just doesn’t happen elsewhere. I’m all for F/S but this just isn’t right. 

hard disagree

it's luck of the gene pool

can't wait for three white and three davey boys to be running around for us in future years

Posted
On 03/08/2024 at 23:07, ChaserJ said:

5. Sam Lalor
GWV Rebels/Vic Country

https://central.rookieme.com/afl/player/sam-lalor/  He’s a gun. Easily top 10 in this years draft. 

Posted

We’re lucky we even have pick 6 this year. We offered Hawthorn pick 6 and a future first last year to move up two spots and grab Nick Watson. What a disaster that would’ve been, another Lamb master stroke. 

Posted
1 minute ago, Jeremy said:

We’re lucky we even have pick 6 this year. We offered Hawthorn pick 6 and a future first last year to move up two spots and grab Nick Watson. What a disaster that would’ve been, another Lamb master stroke. 

You know this for absolute fact?

Posted
3 minutes ago, Jeremy said:

So we didn't do a trade of 2 x firsts and Lamb is to blame as it would've been terrible in hindsight? But it never happened and it's his fault anyway?

Weird sense of logic 🙄

Posted
10 minutes ago, Jeremy said:

Took screenshots but says it’s too large to upload. It’s in this article https://www.afl.com.au/news/1068516/inside-the-draft-deals-that-fell-through-saints-cost-eagles-giants-calls/amp

Fair enough. I do take what these journos say with a grain of salt. I think they like to put a bit of mayo on it as that’s their job

Posted
2 minutes ago, DistrACTION Jackson said:

Fair enough. I do take what these journos say with a grain of salt. I think they like to put a bit of mayo on it as that’s their job

Nah not this 

Posted
6 minutes ago, DistrACTION Jackson said:

Yes, he claims it was 6 and a F1 for pick 3, and speculates it was for Duursma or Watson. Hard to know how much fact is in that without a quote from the club

Posted
3 minutes ago, Moonshadow said:

Yes, he claims it was 6 and a F1 for pick 3, and speculates it was for Duursma or Watson. Hard to know how much fact is in that without a quote from the club

It’s the same as the Petty thing. The journos all say oh they were offering two first round picks, however we never even entertained the trade so how would they know what was actually going to be offered. 

Posted
5 minutes ago, Moonshadow said:

It’s not hard to comprehend though is it ? Look at all the picks we gave up to move up TWO spots to get Tholstrup. It’s what we do. Always trying to get as high as possible. Twomey nails the draft every year, he predicts the top 10 every time, he’s not exactly Tom Morris reporting gossip. 

Posted (edited)
31 minutes ago, Jeremy said:

It’s not hard to comprehend though is it ? Look at all the picks we gave up to move up TWO spots to get Tholstrup. It’s what we do. Always trying to get as high as possible. Twomey nails the draft every year, he predicts the top 10 every time, he’s not exactly Tom Morris reporting gossip. 

Yes, but he's a journo nonetheless. It's not fact, just what he thinks.

Edited by Moonshadow