3 minutes ago, Chook said:

Is this a tennis match Daisy?

now 40/30 2nd set

(actually 37 to 31)

Edited by daisycutter

9 minutes ago, Diamond_Jim said:

Is Weideman playing ?

Yes, hasn’t gone near it

Relentless pressure from both sides creating a very contested low scoring game both teams making plenty of errors 

Jkh getting a fair bit of it this quarter has been busy.

Quigley has been impressive too

Just now, Drunkn167 said:

Relentless pressure from both sides creating a very contested low scoring game both teams making plenty of errors 

Sounds like coach speak for a scrappy game mate.

Perhaps a media career awaits you !

Sounds from radio that Williamstown are going the biff off the ball.

Is there video review of VFL games.

(Glad Brayshaw doesn't play VFL)

Half time and Casey's lead is 13 points

Casey 6.8 44 Williamstown 4.7 31

Goals Garlett  Pedersen 2 Balic King

Stats Hunt J Wagner 16 Kennedy-Harris 15 Stretch 13

Thanks all for ongoing commentary

Dec Frost and Petty all getting hands to it just not hanging on

Hunt Stretch Tyson Lockhart great

Pedo needed to mark a bit more then

Its gonna be hard for me today to focus on the team as I’m really focusing of Decs game so apologies 

Frost has been poor. Smith great game so far. Defended well and atta cked when oppurtunity arose. 

Seemed to me with a forward line that contains Garlett jkh and Bugg at various times that Willy have been getting the ball out of the backline far too easily that quarter. Pedo has been crashing packs up forward all day but our crumbers have not been taking advantage either.

Pretty even contest but we look the better side, just started to get on top that last 10 minutes

Just now, Miracle said:

Frost has been poor. Smith great game so far. Defended well and atta cked when oppurtunity arose. 

Agreed Frost doing himself no favours to getting selected next week. None of the key defender candidates have done much to state their case.

I reckon based on what this game sounds like, we should bring in Pedo as a McDonald replacement and send T Mac to the backline.

1 minute ago, Chook said:

I reckon based on what this game sounds like, we should bring in Pedo as a McDonald replacement and send T Mac to the backline.

Tom would perform well, but a net loss to the team

2 minutes ago, Chook said:

Hey Chook. Do we really need like-for-like with the Filth? O-Mac can stand Big Cox. Who else do they have with height that can trouble us on their forward line?

2 minutes ago, Chook said:

No way is TMac going to the backline. 

1 minute ago, bringbackthebiff said:

Tom would perform well, but a net loss to the team

Yeah don’t move TMac back that would kill our forward prowess 

50m penalty and goal to Weid as he's whacked in the face after earning a free. Willy definitely going the biff. No 7 defender for them niggly all day

Guys, I'm not saying play McDonald there all game. Just that with Pedo in, we have heaps of flexibility in how we do things. No other player could give us that.

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

Featured Content

• CASEY: Sydney

The Casey Demons were always expected to emerge victorious in their matchup against the lowly-ranked Sydney Swans at picturesque Tramway Oval, situated in the shadows of the SCG in Moore Park. They dominated the proceedings in the opening two and a half quarters of the game but had little to show for it. This was primarily due to their own sloppy errors in a low-standard game that produced a number of crowded mauls reminiscent of the rugby game popular in old Sydney Town. However, when the Swans tired, as teams often do when they turn games into ugly defensive contests, Casey lifted the standard of its own play and … it was off to the races. Not to nearby Randwick but to a different race with an objective of piling on goal after goal on the way to a mammoth victory. At the 25-minute mark of the third quarter, the Demons held a slender 14-point lead over the Swans, who are ahead on the ladder of only the previous week's opposition, the ailing Bullants. Forty minutes later, they had more than fully compensated for the sloppiness of their earlier play with a decisive 94-point victory, that culminated in a rousing finish which yielded thirteen unanswered goals. Kicks hit their targets, the ball found itself going through the middle and every player made a contribution.

• Thanks
    • 1 reply
  • REPORT: St. Kilda

Hands up if you thought, like me, at half-time in yesterday’s game at TIO Traeger Park, Alice Springs that Melbourne’s disposal around the ground and, in particular, its kicking inaccuracy in front of the goals couldn’t get any worse. Well, it did. And what’s even more damning for the Melbourne Football Club is that the game against St Kilda and its resurgence from the bottomless pit of its miserable start to the season wasn’t just lost through poor conversion for goal but rather in the 15 minutes when the entire team went into a slumber and was mugged by the out-of-form Saints. Their six goals two behinds (one goal less than the Demons managed for the whole game) weaved a path of destruction from which they were unable to recover. Ross Lyon’s astute use of pressure to contain the situation once they had asserted their grip on the game, and Melbourne’s self-destructive wastefulness, assured that outcome. The old adage about the insanity of repeatedly doing something and expecting a different result, was out there. Two years ago, the score line in Melbourne’s loss to the Giants at this same ground was 5 goals 15 behinds - a ratio of one goal per four scoring shots - was perfectly replicated with yesterday’s 7 goals 21 behinds. 
    This has been going on for a while and opens up a number of questions. I’ll put forward a few that come to mind from this performance. The obvious first question is whether the club can find a suitable coach to instruct players on proper kicking techniques or is this a skill that can no longer be developed at this stage of the development of our playing group? Another concern is the team's ability to counter an opponent's dominance during a run on as exemplified by the Saints in the first quarter. Did the Demons underestimate their opponents, considering St Kilda's goals during this period were scored by relatively unknown forwards? Furthermore, given the modest attendance of 6,721 at TIO Traeger Park and the team's poor past performances at this venue, is it prudent to prioritize financial gain over potentially sacrificing valuable premiership points by relinquishing home ground advantage, notwithstanding the cultural significance of the team's connection to the Red Centre? 

• Thanks
    • 4 replies
  • PREGAME: Collingwood

After a disappointing loss in Alice Springs the Demons return to the MCG to take on the Magpies in the annual King's Birthday Big Freeze for MND game. Who comes in and who goes out?

• Thanks
    • 170 replies
  • PODCAST: St. Kilda

The Demonland Podcast will air LIVE on Monday, 2nd June @ 8:00pm. Join Binman, George & I as we have a chat with former Demon ruckman Jeff White about his YouTube channel First Use where he dissects ruck setups and contests. We'll then discuss the Dees disappointing loss to the Saints in Alice Springs.
    Your questions and comments are a huge part of our podcast so please post anything you want to ask or say below and we'll give you a shout out on the show.
    Listen LIVE: https://demonland.com/

• Thanks
    • 46 replies
  • POSTGAME: St. Kilda

After kicking the first goal of the match the Demons were always playing catch up against the Saints in Alice Spring and could never make the most of their inside 50 entries to wrestle back the lead.

• Thanks
    • 328 replies
  • VOTES: St. Kilda

Max Gawn still has a massive lead in the Demonland Player of the Year award as Christian Petracca, Jake Bowey, Clayton Oliver & Kozzy Pickett round out the Top 5. Your votes please. 6, 5, 4, 3, 2 & 1

• Thanks
    • 31 replies