If we lose to Gold Coast I will ...

Posted
36 minutes ago, Stretch Johnson said:

I must be a football genius like the other 80% of Demonland.

I think most hoped we would be 8-12 wins, push some top teams and no thrashings with young players showing signs.  I think most expected us to finish in the grouping outside the 8. 

These losses will stick in the craw of young players like Viney, Hunt, Petracca and Brayshaw.  Yeah we should have won, and I hate losing, but it won't hurt us in the long term.

When Viney is our captain and names like Hunt, Petracca and Brayshaw and in our LG we will get these games going our way.

This is a nice list and there is a culture developing lead by Viney, despite a large hole down back it's not hard to see the possibility of gradual but meaningful and sustainable improvement.

All very reasonable Stretch. We are in accord for the most part and I reckon 1 pencilled Melbourne in for 9 or 10 wins in a pre season thread.

I must ask. Why the quite sarcastic response to my original ( and I thought non controversial) post?

Posted
5 minutes ago, Bitter but optimistic said:

All very reasonable Stretch. We are in accord for the most part and I reckon 1 pencilled Melbourne in for 9 or 10 wins in a pre season thread.

I must ask. Why the quite sarcastic response to my original ( and I thought non controversial) post?

"served up some of our most noteworthy and terrible disappointments!"

I would have been much more disappointed if we had lost by a hundred like we usually do over there, but then I am here to discuss the footy.

Posted
2 hours ago, Chook said:

I'd like to see what would happen on this site if we win but lose in all the key statistical areas.

I guarantee you SWYL would complain about how we didn't deserve to win.

Posted
6 hours ago, titan_uranus said:

I guarantee you SWYL would complain about how we didn't deserve to win.

Why?

4 Points is 4 Points

We got Zero yesterday

Big difference...

Posted

realise that we could well finish in the bottom 4 AGAIN

GC have more than half their best 22 out.  losing is not an option

Posted
46 minutes ago, DubDee said:

realise that we could well finish in the bottom 4 AGAIN

GC have more than half their best 22 out.  losing is not an option

This sounds exactly the same as the Essedun game.

We surely must have learned our lesson. 

Surely.

Melb by several goals.

Posted

I will not be excited by a win. Will be more interested in how and who played well in the hope that it gives me a glimpse of a winning future for the MFC.

If we lose it will be just more of the "hopeless feeling" that many of us. By the way I don't want to hear the "it's been a long season...young bodies mantra." Winning well is what this game should be about.