Posted

I have one question on Eddie's comments during the Freeze MND event.

For comments that were made on radio on Monday, why has this story just exploded yesterday and today, almost a week later?

I don't want to discuss the comments themselves - just genuinely wondering why on earth it has taken this long to become a story...

Posted

I think because people were awaiting Eddie's reaction, and now that his "apology" is out there a lot of the reaction stems from that.

Posted
14 minutes ago, stuie said:

I think because people were awaiting Eddie's reaction, and now that his "apology" is out there a lot of the reaction stems from that.

Nope. First stories, including opinion pieces, all appeared in a rush yesterday afternoon/evening. His 'apology' came in response to a number of stories, including an interview with Caroline Wilson.

Seems incredibly odd.

Posted (edited)

Maybe the AFL were trying to keep it quiet for a while (despite it being said on air) but couldn't any longer.

Most workplaces would give a warning at a minimum for those comments, possibly dismissal. 

Edited by Moonshadow
Posted
9 minutes ago, Undeeterred said:

Nope. First stories, including opinion pieces, all appeared in a rush yesterday afternoon/evening. His 'apology' came in response to a number of stories, including an interview with Caroline Wilson.

Seems incredibly odd.

Does it actually even matter?

Posted
3 minutes ago, Undeeterred said:

Seems incredibly odd.

Same could have been said about Barrett and nobody would have blinked. I think it is much ado about nothing, but they should appologise if it makes everyone feel warm and fuzzy inside

Posted
6 minutes ago, ArtificialWisdom said:

Same could have been said about Barrett and nobody would have blinked. I think it is much ado about nothing, but they should appologise if it makes everyone feel warm and fuzzy inside

You don't get it if that's what you think.

Posted

The comments were completely disgusting but totally true to form for ol' Ed. Fancy saying that in the week the AFL lanches a women's league and your own club receives a licence for one.

Posted

8 minutes ago, Clint Bizkit said:

The world today seems to react more to what people say than what people do.

Eddie is a repeat offender of offensive comments. It's the Filth Presidential way, unfortunately. Remember Mcalister's comments? What influential people say effects what other people do. It becomes acceptable. We will see in time if his comments end up doing more harm for the MND cause and White Ribbon cause than the good of his financial contribution, if any.

Posted

I find it totally hypocritical of posters on here, who have a go at Eddie and crew, whose banter I thought was just Footy Show tasteless, and yet will have a personal go at other posters/players/officials etc without knowing the gender of posters, from behind the safety of the keyboards   glasshouses and stones rings a bell

Posted
4 minutes ago, Satyriconhome said:

I find it totally hypocritical of posters on here, who have a go at Eddie and crew, whose banter I thought was just Footy Show tasteless, and yet will have a personal go at other posters/players/officials etc without knowing the gender of posters, from behind the safety of the keyboards   glasshouses and stones rings a bell

How many of us have threatened to kill another poster Saty? Name one. They certainly wouldn't stay on the site long if they did.

Posted
24 minutes ago, ArtificialWisdom said:

You have got to be joking.

31 minutes ago, Moonshadow said:

Maybe the AFL were trying to keep it quiet for a while (despite it being said on air) but couldn't any longer.

Most workplaces would give a warning at a minimum for those comments, possibly dismissal. 

This makes the most sense, I think.

30 minutes ago, stuie said:

Does it actually even matter?

From the king of arguing about things that don't matter.

Posted
7 minutes ago, Satyriconhome said:

Yeah no worries Ned Flanders

You take personal shots at Posters on here more than anyone else

total Hypercrite...

Posted (edited)
14 minutes ago, Satyriconhome said:

Talking about drowning women is just "banter" now? Sorry to be the bearer of bad news but the world's changed from your prehistoric views; you might want to move with the times.

As for your baffling comparison about the "hypocrisy" of posters, please point me to ANY POST WHATSOEVER where someone on Demonland has commented about wanting to hold an MFC listed player under water and insinuate wanting to drown them. Because I'm fairly confident if any such post was made, not only would that poster be roundly chastised, they would likely face a board suspension.

Being critical of a player's performances is so far removed from criticising a pompous fool who considers violence against women "banter" and it's an embarrassingly poor comparison, even by your standards.

Edited by SaberFang
Posted
4 minutes ago, Undeeterred said:

From the king of arguing about things that don't matter.

Was thinking the same.
Always morally outraged about some BS.
Thought this would be right up his alley.

Posted
16 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

Eddie, Brayshaw and Frawley - what a trio of Bogans!

They may be bogans, but this suggests that only bogans would behave this way. It does bogans a great disservice. Comments like this come about because of the boys club type mentality. They also come about due to bias, ignorance, over inflated egos and inappropriate attempts at humour. It comes about due to a misguided attempt to entertain. In one case, it comes about because the guy also has a bully type mentality. Most of us have also had occasion to make or have a cheap laugh at someone else's expense. Most of us immediately regret and feel guilt in so doing. Most of us learn from our mistakes. In this case, these guys and one in particular do not learn. 

Posted

And should be drowned.

Posted
19 minutes ago, stuie said:

You don't get it if that's what you think.

1 minute ago, Undeeterred said:

You have got to be joking.

Yeah that was a blunt and uncalled for remark. But i just think Frawleys apology was right.  It was insensitive but it was not meant to support violence. I say that sort of thing as banter among my friends too and they do to me, water off a ducks back for us because we dont mean anything by it. I dont think they meant anything by it either. Actions speak louder than words for me and all of them do anything to support non-violence causes, which i think should be what rings through when it comes to these kinds of things. But sure we can crucify public figures for their words, I challenge you to spend that long in the public view and not slip up once in a while.

29 minutes ago, Clint Bizkit said:

The world today seems to react more to what people say than what people do.

Sums it up for me

Posted

I have just read the transcript of what was said. ( i am in Cambodia so not exactly Front Page news here)

If i had heard that on Radio i would have laughed. 

Let's be honest here 

in 2013 most of us here wanted to Smash Wilson to a pulp for what she wrote about Tanking

Absolute storm in a teacup...

But may Eddie not sleep for a few nights....

Posted

I'm still waiting for Eddie to apolgise for inventing The Footy Show.

Posted
2 minutes ago, ArtificialWisdom said:

Yeah that was a blunt and uncalled for remark. But i just think Frawleys apology was right.  It was insensitive but it was not meant to support violence. I say that sort of thing as banter among my friends too and they do to me, water off a ducks back for us because we dont mean anything by it. I dont think they meant anything by it either. Actions speak louder than words for me and all of them do anything to support non-violence causes, which i think should be what rings through when it comes to these kinds of things. But sure we can crucify public figures for their words, I challenge you to spend that long in the public view and not slip up once in a while.

See, this is exactly the point with domestic violence.

'Mates' just 'joke' with each other about it and 'don't mean anything by it'.

Except that this is exactly what fuels the attitude that it's ok.

And I'd argue it's a hell of a lot easier to attend some stupid event and give lip service to a cause (any cause, that is) than it is actually back it up with consistent words. What you call a 'slip up' I call 'their real attitude'.