Posted
19 hours ago, Undeeterred said:

I love how many people who are just unrelentingly anti-Watts always pipe up with something like 'oh, well, I've always maintained he has elite disposal' when he plays well.

Get your hand off it and stop having two bob each way.

You are being ridiculous. Watts has always had elite disposal. He simply had no appetite for a contest and was infuriatingly soft. You may have forgotten he was dropped for the last round on 2015. 

He would appear to have worked hard on these deficiences and has played excellent NAB games and a 1st round. Long may it continue. He was great yesterday.

Posted
1 hour ago, Bombay Airconditioning said:

You must have me confused with someone else. Yes I have given Watts a pasting over the year as I have Grimes. But have not suddenly fallen for him, I have maintained the same stance all along.

FOR THE RECORD :

WATTS HAD ELITE DISPOSAL AND FOOTY SMARTS WELL BEFORE ROOS SHOWED UP.

IT ALSO HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH THE OTHER PLAYERS AROUND HIM.

HE HAS HAD AN ADULT BODY FOR A COUPLE OF SEASONS NOW.

HIS CHANGE OF FORM IS PURELY BECAUSE JACK HAS DECIDED TO IMPOSE HIM ON THE CONTEST AND ATTACK THE FOOTY. 

SKILLS AND FOOTY SMARTS HAVE NEVER BEEN AN ISSUE. 

HIS MENTAL APPLICATION HAS BEEN.

AFTER SATURDAYS GAME JACK IS NOW ARMED WITH THE KNOWLEDGE THAT HE CAN INFLUENCE THE OUTCOME OF A GAME ALL BY HIMSELF, SOMETHING HE'S BEEN ABLE TO DO FOR YEARS.

That's my take, it hasn't changed, it won't change, it's how it's always been. 

Back to my multis....

Such aggression!

No need for shouting mate. Talking louder is no way to refute an argument.

Posted
6 minutes ago, jnrmac said:

You are being ridiculous. Watts has always had elite disposal. He simply had no appetite for a contest and was infuriatingly soft. You may have forgotten he was dropped for the last round on 2015. 

He would appear to have worked hard on these deficiences and has played excellent NAB games and a 1st round. Long may it continue. He was great yesterday.

You usually are pretty intelligent, but you've obviously misread my post.

I've said very little negative about Watts, probably ever. And I've certainly never questioned his disposal.

I'm questioning people who pretend now that he's come out of his shell that they have always kept the faith and been supportive of him, when in fact they tee off at him every chance they get. 

Posted
12 hours ago, ILLDieADemon said:

They do say tall players take longer to develop. 

I think everyone on here wants Watts to succeed that's why we are so hard on the bloke. I hope this is the season he arrives as a great Football player.  

But let's face it since he has come to the club we have been rubbish, maybe finally he has the team around him to help him shine as the player he should be.

He was also drafted as a 17 yo in the year before draft age eligibility was changed.  Under current rules he would have been in the 09 pool.

Jack was a long way behind physically when he came to the club.  Not just in terms of strength and body size, but also tank.  Looks like Jack finally has the tank required for multiple efforts.  Last quarter was a case in point.

Posted

Someone made a great point yesterday (might have been P-man or Monnocular, can't remember) if Watts maintains his purple patch do we look to drop possibly Frost and play the extra runner.

Posted
33 minutes ago, Rod Grinter Riot Squad said:

If Watts plays like that all year, he may make All Australian

if Watts plays like that all year and learns to use his body better in marking contests, he will make All Australian

He turned his body to take a mark yesterday that surprised me.  He protected the drop of the ball into his arms with body positioning beautifully.

Posted
14 minutes ago, Bombay Airconditioning said:

Someone made a great point yesterday (might have been P-man or Monnocular, can't remember) if Watts maintains his purple patch do we look to drop possibly Frost and play the extra runner.

Frost IS a runner.

Drop Pedo, he's not.

Posted
3 hours ago, stuie said:

During the push and shove before the bounce I commented to one of my mates ...

I'm genuinely shocked by this.

Posted

Watts only kicked 1 goal on Saturday, that's a big fail by ProDee's standards of judging him this year.

Says something about your understanding of the game old fella.

Posted
8 minutes ago, stuie said:

Watts only kicked 1 goal on Saturday, that's a big fail by ProDee's standards of judging him this year.

Says something about your understanding of the game old fella.

If you want to know my views feel free to ask, Stu.

Posted
Just now, ProDee said:

If you want to know my views feel free to ask, Stu.

I don't need to "ProDee" you've shared them enough.

Posted
1 hour ago, stuie said:

Frost IS a runner.

Drop Pedo, he's not.

Pedersen was 66% DE and Frost was 57% DE, both a worry when you consider that Matt Jones was 95% DE and saw more of the ball (i.e. 21 disposals against Frost and Pedersen who combined for a total of 19 disposals)! 

Posted
6 minutes ago, CBDees said:

Pedersen was 66% DE and Frost was 57% DE, both a worry when you consider that Matt Jones was 95% DE and saw more of the ball (i.e. 21 disposals against Frost and Pedersen who combined for a total of 19 disposals)! 

Our forward line all of a sudden clicked when Pedo was moved to the backline on Saturday. I'm not too worried about Frost's DE, it's not what he's there for. I think as far as a mix goes, Watts, Hogan and Frost is better than Watts, Hogan and Pedo. Too many packs and not enough spread and speed with Pedo in there.

Not sure why the comparison to Matt Jones, he plays a completely different role.

Posted
1 hour ago, stuie said:

Frost IS a runner.

Drop Pedo, he's not.

A runner like a headless chook.

Posted
29 minutes ago, CBDees said:

There is a problem with using percentages for a stat such as this IMO.

Each player only needed one more of their disposals to have been effective and their percentage goes about 70 which is fine. DE can be a misleading stat.

Posted
3 hours ago, Undeeterred said:

You usually are pretty intelligent, but you've obviously misread my post.

I've said very little negative about Watts, probably ever. And I've certainly never questioned his disposal.

I'm questioning people who pretend now that he's come out of his shell that they have always kept the faith and been supportive of him, when in fact they tee off at him every chance they get. 

Fair cop.

Posted (edited)
On 3/27/2016 at 3:24 PM, Pates said:

Every year he has been lauded over pre-season and picked as one who will stand up, I feel that there is something different about him this year. He just seems to be walking taller and with leadership, it's still early days but this could be his year (and by extension ours!). 

Not carrying the expectations on his shoulders or the burden of multiple losses   how he has survived the constant barrage of criticism is beyond me, as Leigh Matthews said the other night, he has also matured

Posted
2 hours ago, Satyriconhome said:

Not carrying the expectations on his shoulders or the burden of multiple losses   how he has survived the constant barrage of criticism is beyond me, as Leigh Matthews said the other night, he has also matured

Leigh being one of the prime movers in kicking the bloke while he's down

Posted
2 hours ago, Satyriconhome said:

One could argue now he's shown us what he's capable of, the expectations are greater than ever. 

But we won't.

Posted (edited)
5 minutes ago, Bombay Airconditioning said:

Either/or, I thought the point had some merit.

Yeah I get that, and we could have done with an extra runner (and Pedo out of the way) in the first 3 quarters on Saturday. I just put them in different categories, Frost is super quick and his ability to spread is really important for Hogan and Watts, whereas Pedo seems to get in the way. Plus, his forward pressure is fantastic, as opposed to Pedo who likes to go the hero bump rather than tackle and gives the opposition a shot on goal.

Edited by stuie
Posted
6 minutes ago, stuie said:

Yeah I get that, and we could have done with an extra runner (and Pedo out of the way) in the first 3 quarters on Saturday. I just put them in different categories, Frost is super quick and his ability to spread is really important for Hogan and Watts, whereas Pedo seems to get in the way. Plus, his forward pressure is fantastic, as opposed to Pedo who likes to go the hero bump rather than tackle and gives the opposition a shot on goal.

Its not so much for the Pedo/Frost debate but as in managing rotations and playing teams like the Dogs/Port.