Posted

haha ok, i must have got him on his good days Grimes. I live on the other side of the world so i do appreciate his reports

They do help us international supporters stay in touch with the Dees in the offseason. I'm looking forward to training starting up so that I've got something to do while I'm at work!

Posted

They do help us international supporters stay in touch with the Dees in the offseason. I'm looking forward to training starting up so that I've got something to do while I'm at work!

where are you mate?

Posted

Yep but with a caveat. I see that it many times on the mil history / history / politics forums I visit. Aussies and Kiwis have a real 'I don't give a [censored] that you are a superpower or ex colonial master and have enough nukes to wipe us out 500 times... you're bloody well wrong so either admit it or [censored] off'.

The caveat is that I see it in really well thought out and researched posts as well as 3rd grade name calling posts. The latter just lacks the subtly of the former.

I think it comes from our history. We don't ever admit that someone is better than us no matter what what background we come from. No Lord Muck-a-Muck or Daddy Warbucks can ever be better than any Joe Blow dinkum di Aussie. It's a great blessing because we won't be cowed by money or titles, but at the same time it's a bit of a curse because '[censored] off [censored] head' is never far from the lips of those we disagree with.

I think that - on the whole - it's a good thing as long as we never forget to take the urine out of ourselves too.

Great post. Makes me think of the Aussie officer in Tobruk who was shirtless digging a trench with his men when a British officer appeared with all the pomp and ceremony and asked why he was not being saluted as a superior officer, only to have the Aussie put his shirt back on and point out that he in fact was the superior officer. The Brit was taken aback that that an officer was doing the digging with his men. It is a great part of our culture than no person is above another and every person in equal (or as close to that as anywhere).

This was probably enshrined int eh culture due tot he frontier nature of the country in the early days, everyone had to pull their weight in equal measure or you didn't survive.

Posted (edited)

How about a hair shirt wearing lemon sucker?

Why do you hate the club so much JH? I bet you don't even go to the games! If you are so upset, why don't you run for the board? ;)

Besides that slight gentle natured dig, I don't really hold any ill will towards him anymore. I think him being unemployed at the time didn't help his state of mind. It didn't excuse how he carried on at the start of 2013 when it was clear that the club was in serious trouble (don't forget that there was nothing wrong with the club at all!) but it's good to see that he is back on the bike and making a fist of things.

Edit: Getting on the bike is the wrong choice of analogy. Clearly, getting back on the scooter is a superior way of describing his situation.

Edited by Colin B. Flaubert

Posted

How about a hair shirt wearing lemon sucker?

I've been called worse.

Posted

The mods should have pulled them all into line a long time ago.

They ruin the forum with their constant sniping, name calling, cheap shots and arguing, Always the same people. Every time.

Leave the Mods out of it, it was always the Sharpies that started the trouble.

Posted

and of course the jazzers (being proto-hipsters) were safe in their coffee shops reading poetry

Posted

and of course the jazzers (being proto-hipsters) were safe in their coffee shops reading poetry

I was a "Sharpie". Well at least my haircut was. However, it didn't really matter_ I went to school in Clifton Hill and had to fight either the "Collingwood boys" or "The Fitzroy High Boys".

Did all right too if the numbers were reasonably equal.

Posted

Ah yeah but the "Droogs" always finished of proceedings and I should know.. coz I wuz one once govereat"??

Posted (edited)

Lookasee wanna sharrp eaaaassssyy!!

:blink:

But thankfully I grew out of it!!

:)

Posted

I was a "Sharpie". Well at least my haircut was. However, it didn't really matter_ I went to school in Clifton Hill and had to fight either the "Collingwood boys" or "The Fitzroy High Boys".

Did all right too if the numbers were reasonably equal.

I was Caulfield Scopus boy - I won every fight I had by at least 100 metres.

Posted (edited)

I used to be in a gang that did some shocking things in the 70's best not repeated. Not so much street fighting but all sorts of crime. None of us ever got caught. Never getting caught meant we stayed out of the justice system. The leader is now a pious church goer whilst another is a senior policeman.

Posted

I am sure we have all seen each other at the fussball many many times. I would like to think the regulars i see there are the same ones that post here. Sometimes catch myself thinking, "I wonder if that is soandso from demonland or is it whosiwhatsits?" Not sure i really want to put a face to the name to be honest.

Posted

He divides opinions, but I'm not disappointed if Saty doesn't come back. His training reports were worthless as they were far, far to biased to provide any actual news. He waffled on about how great Matt Jones was, how his disposal improved and blah blah blah. It was rubbish. Plus he spent more time pontificating about how chats with Christian Salem and his gentle 'ribbing' about Arsenal and what the players wore as their underpants for the day.

I'm happy for others to disagree with me on this, it's each to their own, but his reports were worthless.

Georgiou R.R. Martin, on the other hand, gave great accounts when he was there, while others also gave thoughtful reports when they made it down there as well. We'll be well covered in the off season and I'll be very thankful for that.

Posted

He divides opinions, but I'm not disappointed if Saty doesn't come back. His training reports were worthless as they were far, far to biased to provide any actual news. He waffled on about how great Matt Jones was, how his disposal improved and blah blah blah. It was rubbish. Plus he spent more time pontificating about how chats with Christian Salem and his gentle 'ribbing' about Arsenal and what the players wore as their underpants for the day.

I'm happy for others to disagree with me on this, it's each to their own, but his reports were worthless.

Georgiou R.R. Martin, on the other hand, gave great accounts when he was there, while others also gave thoughtful reports when they made it down there as well. We'll be well covered in the off season and I'll be very thankful for that.

you're all heart wb :lol:

Posted

Gidday Faulty, that was back in March of 09.

I was with RobbieF, a poster Robbie87 and Neiztstar,

I seem to remember you has some sophisticated camera action happening.

You were with your brother. Thanks for the kind words.

I have met your brother on QB days with his daughter.

I have met up with plenty of Ology people,

As you say RobbieF is a terrific person and a real Melbourne person.

The cameras havent been out for a while. Made the mistake of taking them out in the philippines, and dropped both a $1,600 lense, and a $600 Flash. Had nothing at all to do with the fact that I had consumed a bottle of Johnny Black on both occasions.

I remember from that Bulldogs game that you had a thing for Dylan Addison. Did he run over your cat?

Neitstar was the young fella with the "grin" I was referring to. Confident person.

And on RobbieF, even the people who fought with him on here would like him. Very intelligent and well spoken man, and good company at a game. His son who posted on 'Ology (Ash)?, would be ok too I reckon. He also used to knuckle up all the time.

Posted

Agree. The reports were far too sugary sweet for my liking. By his reports, we should be aiming for our 4th flag in a row, and I CGAF about Salems soccer stories, or anyone elses for that matter, although that wouldnt have beens Christians fault.

Posted

Agree. The reports were far too sugary sweet for my liking. By his reports, we should be aiming for our 4th flag in a row, and I CGAF about Salems soccer stories, or anyone elses for that matter, although that wouldnt have beens Christians fault.

I agree with a lot but actually disagree with the overall thrust of the post(s).

Saty may have put a lot of extraneous stuff in training posts that weren't interesting to me and also was would not suffer criticism of any player be it constructive or otherwise, but I can never get to training so I enjoyed the snippets of meaningful reporting on the training and basically ignored all the fluff. Come back Saty - I appreciate you !