View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Alex Georgiou delisted/ Nev Jetta upgraded

Yeah, I agree that's a strange call. Georgiou was better than Garland in the games he played this year (granted Garland had a poor year). He was handy depth I thought. Good luck to him.

I agree

I wonder what the problem was He seemed to acquit himself well in the games he played and also seemed capable at casey in a few matches I saw.

It is interesting to see the sacrifices he made and you would think that would make you more desperate to makeit and perhaps that was his problem. You sometimes can try too hard.

But he did have an experience and can sy more than a lot of us in that he got 7 games at elite level.

Was a fairly limited player really and with Lumumba and Frost coming in, plus T McDonald another year older and Howe acquitting himself capably in defence, I'm not surprised.

But as you say, terrific 1 year experience for the fella, and I'm sure he wouldn't regret a thing.

Worth asking, could his delisting point to interest in the PSD or DFA markets?

Edited by watchtheeyes

Alex was solid enough one-on-one, but he was a liability with ball in hand and other clubs had well and truly worked that out by round 7. I have no issue with us turning over the bottom end of our list on a regular basis.

Was a fairly limited player really and with Lumumba and Frost coming in, plus T McDonald another year older and Howe acquitting himself capably in defence, I'm not surprised.

But as you say, terrific 1 year experience for the fella, and I'm sure he wouldn't regret a thing.

Worth asking, could his delisting point to interest in the PSD or DFA markets?

Or Lever for that matter?

EDIT: Scrap that, we won't be taking Lever as a Rookie.

Edited by watchtheeyes

Best worst kisck in the competition I think was the phrase. Not a bad move. I suspect there was more in this than we know he was playing okay in defence for us but got fropped and never got back in. Attitude issues??

Good luck to him he did the job for us and I wish him well.

Showed we don't need him this year even with Chip forward. List clogger!

From a personal view I thought Georgiou gave up a lot and had a good crack at it and was important in making the team competitive early in the year.

From a critical list management view:

187cm key defender with poor skills. Came in and did a job for us whilst Garland was injured and Frawley/Dunn were forward but the reality was he was only ever going to be depth. Why carry depth with limited potential when you are a bottom 4 side?

Tall defenders: McDonald, Frost

Medium defenders: Dunn, Garland, Howe

Swingman: Pedersen

There's enough coverage there for 3, maybe 4 spots in the team.

If we could get Mitch Brown from Geelong on the rookie list he has more ability than Georgiou, has the probably physical tools and can cover either end of the ground. Plus there's always a chance you can get his head switched on and he can actually make it as a long term player. He's just an example.

Really? We needed him while Garland was out injured and we would have needed him again if one of the defenders went down injured. I thought he did his job pretty well.

List clogger? I hate this term. What harm or "clogging" was he doing sitting on the rookie list.

Will trust Roos and co's judgments on all these things of course and this decision is small fry in the scheme of things... but I think Alex deserves a bit more credit than that!

Or Lever for that matter?

EDIT: Scrap that, we won't be taking Lever as a Rookie.

Wouldn't impact the room for PSD or DFA but it's not a bad point. Lever would push Georgiou further down the depth order in medium/tall defenders so better to use his spot on mids/forwards. That said I think they'd make the move regardless.

With pick 2 in the rookie draft we can probably get the best tall defender in that pool of players if we wanted. Or even with the 2nd rd rookie pick. Whoever that player may be is likely to have more upside than Georgiou.

Alex was impressive early but as others have said his kicking became a liability.

i don't see how a one year rookie list player could possibly described as a list clogger

i know the english language gets mangled a lot but that is a bridge too far

Really? We needed him while Garland was out injured and we would have needed him again if one of the defenders went down injured. I thought he did his job pretty well.

List clogger? I hate this term. What harm or "clogging" was he doing sitting on the rookie list.

Will trust Roos and co's judgments on all these things of course and this decision is small fry in the scheme of things... but I think Alex deserves a bit more credit than that!

Yep. If we are going to use the disparaging term list clogger then at least use it for a guy who's been on the list for 5 years and done nothing and wastes a spot. It's pretty hard to clog the list just having a year on the rookie list!

Good to see the new regime is comfortable with making these calls early, rather than leaving these players languishing on the list for 3 or 4 years.

Having said that, Georgiou impressed me a little this season, but In Roos We Trust.

This line in the MFC announcement I found intriguing: "He made personal and financial sacrifices, leaving a successful career and moving interstate."

I don't need to know what those sacrifices were, but it seems to be hinting at something that might suggest he wanted to go back to Adelaide (the city, not the team).

This line in the MFC announcement I found intriguing: "He made personal and financial sacrifices, leaving a successful career and moving interstate."

I don't need to know what those sacrifices were, but it seems to be hinting at something that might suggest he wanted to go back to Adelaide (the city, not the team).

He was doing a massive construction job that was paying well over then what he was getting on the rookie.

He practically got a massive pay drop as soon as he was picked up. AFL was never in his sights as his passion is doing what he before hand.

I think you wil probably find Alex told the club AFL isn't for him or he is just really happy he got delisted if that makes sense?

Fair enough, I thought at best he was a goer, at worst a liability.

He was doing a massive construction job that was paying well over then what he was getting on the rookie.

He practically got a massive pay drop as soon as he was picked up. AFL was never in his sights as his passion is doing what he before hand.

I think you wil probably find Alex told the club AFL isn't for him or he is just really happy he got delisted if that makes sense?

could be understandable

Well Alex thanks for the efforts at Melbourne, best of luck in your endeavors. Enjoyed your brief time as a Demon.

lol

Got a message on my beeper from Roosy. I'm no psychic, but I reckon it's good news #fingerscrossed

I hope whoever's doing this doesn't close that twitter account.

As far as parody accounts go it's a ripper.

Edited by jabberwocky

i don't see how a one year rookie list player could possibly described as a list clogger

i know the english language gets mangled a lot but that is a bridge too far

No that's fair enough, more just a term to emphasise the fact that I don't think we need him. Apologies.

I think you need more strings to your bow as a 187cm defender. I liked him but not big enough to play a lock down role on talls and not quick enough for smalls and not creative enough for a half back role.

I just don't think he could ever own a position in the AFL.

You don't play SANFL for that many years if you aren't passionate about footy, but the financial realities are he's better off working as an engineer and presumably getting 70k minimum and then getting SANFL payments as a premiership full back on top of that and so more than likely taking home 6 figures. If he stayed on 55k as a rookie plus 3k per AFL game then he'll have to play more than 7 games a year to make nearly the same amount and every year you miss out on progressing your career.

He gave himself at least a year to make it as if he was upgraded then there's 200k per year for 2 years minimum and you can always go back to engineering later (and without a mortgage!).

The press release was more about saying what he had given up. If you have inside knowledge he was happy to walk away then so be it. Personally if the offer was there I'd have given it another year to see what can happen if I were him. If he can get his old job back (engineering and football at Norwood) then at least he wont be a player who crashed out of the system so I hope that's the case for him.

Either way risking it to make it an AFL is better than those clowns who give their jobs up to go on big brother!