The Nathan Jones Contract

I can see where you're coming from WYL, but I think giving Jones a 5 year deal is fine, given his special place at the club. This bloke has been the heart and soul every week for at least the last three gloomy years. I think if we negotiate a five year deal, we can negotiate a smaller yearly wage or front load it to the equivalent. I'd be happy with a five year deal at $600k pa. If it's front loaded, we could go hard after FAs in the next two to three years.

However, the caveat for me is that if he is asking for 5 years at say $1mill, that's overs for me. We want to remunerate Jones for all his hard work over the last few years and set him up for the future, but we also have to be mindful that we're acting in the best interests of the club as a whole. No one player is bigger than the Melbourne Football Club.

It's not the money i am thinking about. It's a 5 year contract. I don't like them for anyone.

The game is to brutal, particularly for an inside mid. Jonesy will always be an opposition target.

This year he got belted at least twice in the opening minutes and had NO influence for the rest of the game (tweeting birds circled his head for the rest of the match)

I would prefer a 3 year deal with major incentives.

And i know i am in the minority & i love Jonesy.

Buti also trust PJ & Roosy as to the long term picture.

5 year deals are dangerous unless you are an AFL built franchaise with a bottomless pit of finance

• Author

It's not the money i am thinking about. It's a 5 year contract. I don't like them for anyone.

The game is to brutal, particularly for an inside mid. Jonesy will always be an opposition target.

This year he got belted at least twice in the opening minutes and had NO influence for the rest of the game (tweeting birds circled his head for the rest of the match)

I would prefer a 3 year deal with major incentives.

And i know i am in the minority & i love Jonesy.

Buti also trust PJ & Roosy as to the long term picture.

5 year deals are dangerous unless you are an AFL built franchaise with a bottomless pit of finance

Jones is a pretty durable player though. I admit that can change rapidly, but I guess we'll agree to disagree, mate.

jonesy puts his life on the line at every ball up.

5 years is a long time!!

Jones is a "heart and soul" player who means something to the club in ways beyond his footy ability. He is the one bloke who we long suffering supporters can to look to with pride every week, to fly the flag and give us something to cheer about. In that sense he is akin to the great Robbie - he is a shining beacon in an otherwise miserable team. Hopefully players like Viney and Hogan and, who knows, a new draft pick can grow into this type of role?

At the moment ,however, Jones is it and, should we lose him, Melbourne would be well and truly on that highway made famous by AC DC.

New Maccas in the 'Rat hey THT? Don't they have 4 already (to share amongst a population of 80K)?

This new one will be the fourth Macca's in Ballarat. It's to service the new suburb they are developing in western Ballarat. If you are inferring Ballarat has a high proportion of McDonalds's you are probably right but it's probably no different than anywhere else.

Classy place :)

Hey WYL. Before you go slagging off where I live mate, have a bit of respect. We don't all live in Elwood you silver spoon fed [censored]. Not all Demon supporters live bayside and go to the snow each year. Ballarat isn't Toorak and I'm not from here but it's my home now.

No place needs 4 Maccas mate.

It's not food.

I reckon a 5 year deal at $800k is fair with the added incentive that he could decide when to retire, e.g. As a club legend reserve the right to play on as long as he feels able to contribute. If he believes in the clubs direction and his ability to contribute it would be hard for him to knock back being a 1 club 300 gane legend.

No place needs 4 Maccas mate.

It's not food.

they dont have 4, they have moved on their 5th store

I'm done with you clowns. I thought Demonland was a place where all Demon supporters could talk about topics related to the Dees. Not bag fellow members based on their postcode. Dead set. Half the responses on this are site people getting stuck into each other. I have better things to do with my time. Time to sign out for good.

Speak for yourself I love Maccas!

Heard today he is requesting 5 year 3.5m. Club and player not far away, Term of deal is more the sticking point. Negotiations are continuing, but positive

Hey ... careful there. Elwood isn't Toorak either and the only view of water that I have from my digs is a putrid canal and I've never seen snow so don't go calling us Elwoodites toffs either.

Thank you.

Heard today he is requesting 5 year 3.5m. Club and player not far away, Term of deal is more the sticking point. Negotiations are continuing, but positive

Just do it.

This the "golf partner" exclusive sauce Clit? FMD!

• Author

Is this a deliberate typo? Knowing some of your posts, BBO, it could be. :P

No golf today BBO. This is a customer related to an MFC employee

If we want to attract a Dangerfield or similar we will need to offer them a 4 or 5 year deal on mega bucks.

Jones should not be asked to take a lesser than market amount and then be slapped in the face with that.

Equally as vague and esoteric Clit - add some meat to the sauce or get back on the pizz.

I have never met this person before today. And knowing who it is can say no more.

If true, give it to him and front end it.

Well the facts are this. I had a chat with Nate (mate talk) today and he is going to sign up for 7.6 million over 4 years. Provided he averages 19 games per year and 26 possessions there will be an automatic roll over.