Posted

We disagree with the amount of talent Sylvia has. What we don't disagree on is Sylvia's attitude and his willingness to work his arse off to be the best he could be.

I hope anyone we draft possesses the trait to be the best he can possibly be.

I am on record as saying that Jones is not an elite footballer however he is my hero as does what it takes to extract every inch of talent out of himself and be the best he can be. I think that Sylvia has more talent in his little finger than Jones but it is no contest to which one you would take every day of the week.

I think he had talent but always lacked in an area that would hold him back and it wasn't just attitude, he had no idea of what was going on around him. If the play unfolds in front of him he's a world beater, if it's not he's a waist of space.

Everyone's talking about Sylivia like he's a washed up has been.

Last time I checked he's on the list of a top 4 contender, with the aim of playing 22 games plus finals next year.

Reckon he will be lucky if he plays a game next year.

Posted

Last time I checked he's on the list of a top 4 contender, with the aim of playing 22 games plus finals next year.

*chuckle*

Sylvia might aim to play 22 games next year with Freo but that will not happen. He was worse than woeful in the games he played for them this year.

My predicition is that he will not be on their list in 2016.

Posted

Except that he recently had ankle surgery and can't get into training till after Xmas. Same ole, same ole for poor Col.

Posted

I have aim of next year my club going on a roll and winning every game of the season except for the last game ( the wake up call we need to have) and then going through in straight sets to win the grand final. ...

Sometimes the best of aims don't eventuate.

Posted

Everyone's talking about Sylvia like he's a washed up has been.

Mate he is finished.

Posted

Everyone's talking about Sylvia like he's a washed up has been.

That would be because........... he is !!

Walks like , sounds like,,,looks like etc

Posted

Just watched the second highlights package and I'm sold. It's almost as though the first was put together by someone who had an agenda, like 'this guy isn't THAT good' so his club could nab him. ( I know that's not the case!!!)

Posted

Col Sylvia is an interesting comparison.

Col was a beast u18. every much as petracca has dominated this year.

MFC might have to take some of the blame with lack of leadership and development. Not every player is a born leader and sets standards.

Some prob the majority needs to be shown the way.

Col is ultimately responsible but MFC failed him too.

Tentatively waiting for 7.

Posted

Just watched the second highlights package and I'm sold. It's almost as though the first was put together by someone who had an agenda, like 'this guy isn't THAT good' so his club could nab him. ( I know that's not the case!!!)

The first highlights package I saw left me uninspired. Did not hit a target, Not sure who put it together like that and what the motives were.

Posted

That's quite funny. A mate of mine works at the Geelong Falcons. He told me this morning that he spoke to a few of the boys at their recent presentation night about being interviewed by clubs and what they ask. And they said that some clubs asked them to "spell TOMATO backwards" and "recite the Alphabet backwards". I kid you not.

If Petracca has failed these tests and comes to us because of it, i am more than fine with that. Heck, i'm a teacher so i'll even go and and teach him how to spell tomato and the abc backwards myself!

There you go. I would have spelt it with an "e" on the end. Bugger I'm not going to get drafted. My 16yr old got knocked out in a game this year and had a month worth of concussion tests which include these two gems. If they do the same tests they also have to go through the 12mths backwards. I was going to check myself in because I was having as much trouble as he was.

Didn't realise you had to be a genius to know how to play footy. I understand Buddy has a bat or two flying around the bellfree and it hasn't done him any harm.

Posted

Most of us can only go on what we see in these video packages but the difference in disposal between the two packages is really stark.

Posted

Didn't realise you had to be a genius to know how to play footy. I understand Buddy has a bat or two flying around the bellfree and it hasn't done him any harm.

As long as it isn't one of your cars parked in Rosebay

Posted

Most of us can only go on what we see in these video packages but the difference in disposal between the two packages is really stark.

It is and then again...in the package where he seems erroneous in disposal we often dont get to see what he was trying yo do as the 'next scene' as it were is continually cut. All we get to watch is a lot of see ball, get ball, kick ball

In the other highlights package there a lot more context to whats happening.

Posted

The Media is certain that Paddy will go number one but my mail, reconfirmed today, is this is a smokescreen to create interest in the #1 pick. Christian will not be available to us as a "deal has been done".

So if you believe Roosy about the top 3 names then its Paddy and Angus for us.

Fascinating stuff, time will tell....

Posted

It is and then again...in the package where he seems erroneous in disposal we often dont get to see what he was trying yo do as the 'next scene' as it were is continually cut. All we get to watch is a lot of see ball, get ball, kick ball

In the other highlights package there a lot more context to whats happening.

I get that. - we also get so excited about these boys when we see the packages. The packages should excite us - These are "best of" packages - they have two years of footage to draw from. They are not going to drop footage in their of dropped marks, missed tackles and out on the full kicks.

I could make a "best of" Cale Morton highlight package from his time with us that make us all lick of lips with anticipation ( well.. maybe I couldn't)

Posted

The Media is certain that Paddy will go number one but my mail, reconfirmed today, is this is a smokescreen to create interest in the #1 pick. Christian will not be available to us as a "deal has been done".

579475_155805181267012_477269653_n.jpg?o

Posted

It will be interesting as nearly all commentators have McCartin going number one and I cannot remember the commentators ever getting the number one pick wrong.

Posted

Where do you get your sources from?

Posted

Don't you just love this time of year. It's our Grand Final. It's all downhill after today. Everyone on here is buzzing away, happy, optimistic and even being nice to each other. I've had a couple of belly laughs reading some of this stuff today. :rolleyes:

Posted

hope youre wrong

Posted

I can't wait until our first pick is somewhere in the teens and I don't care who we pick, or don't know until I read about it in th paper or online the following day!

Posted

I can't wait until our first pick is somewhere in the teens and I don't care who we pick, or don't know until I read about it in th paper or online the following day!

Really ? the last time was Lucas Cook at pick 12..... eww

Posted

hope you're wrong

Yes, the thought of 2 ready-to-go midfielders joining the midfield roster of: N Jones, Tyson, Vince, Viney, Toumpas, Salem and Cross sounds good to me.