Players to target at the end of the year

Tomlinson definitely - same boat as Tyson

Tex Walker if his mate can talk him across.

My son played u12 footy with Adam Tomlinson. From recollection he was a nice kid. His father is my dentist (in Melbourne). He's a nice bloke. He goes to most of his son's matches, so I guess he is clocking up lots of frequent flyer points.

Melbourne FC finds it hard/impossible to snag big names. The only ones in recent years are Clark and Dawes. Dreaming to talk about Patton, Fyfe, Dangerfield etc. Why stop at them? May as well thrown Pendlebury and Watson in the mix!!! :blink:

I can't see us going for free agents if Chip goes, the hit to our compensation would be too great. Only way we make a play for Rosa is if Chip stays or in trade.

I'd monitor the GWS boys, in particular Shiel, I feel he's gettable. Don't think he has re-signed beyond next year, and if he doesn't, we could prise him away from GWS. O'Rourke is also one who seems eminently gettable.

I wouldn't be surprised if we had a massive crack at Nat Fyfe this year. I can't see Dangerfield going anywhere this season, but if he doesn't extend in the next 12 months, it could be on for young and old next year and we might have a reasonable amount of money in the bank by then.

Errrrr........

I think Chook might be referring to Clisby, but you're thinking of his other mate, the bloke that has played in every game: Bernie Vince.

This thread is nothing but a reflection of the crushed promises of 2014.

I think Chook might be referring to Clisby, but you're thinking of his other mate, the bloke that as played in every game: Bernie Vince.

Was referring to Clisby who i gather is very close to Tex. N to sure of his connection to Vince.

My son played u12 footy with Adam Tomlinson. From recollection he was a nice kid. His father is my dentist (in Melbourne). He's a nice bloke. He goes to most of his son's matches, so I guess he is clocking up lots of frequent flyer points.

Melbourne FC finds it hard/impossible to snag big names. The only ones in recent years are Clark and Dawes. Dreaming to talk about Patton, Fyfe, Dangerfield etc. Why stop at them? May as well thrown Pendlebury and Watson in the mix!!! :blink:

tumblr_m6jk5nr90E1rzz3r3o1_500.gif

Was referring to Clisby who i gather is very close to Tex. N to sure of his connection to Vince.

Errrrrr....... (again)

Looks like I have to spell it out. Texs' connection with Clisby goes back to childhood and underage footy and thus i thought would be the strongest connection at the club.

But you're not sure what connection former Crow Bernie Vince has to Crow Tex Walker?

I think that there is a bit of run left in the Melbourne/GWS gear that has happened in the last couple of years. I wouldn't be at all surprised if they were willing to drip feed us a second/third year player or two for the next couple of years, in return for our top pick.

They have a huge bulge of players in that bracket and know some of them will want to go home. They also know that, realistically, Melbourne will have a good pick to play with.

I'd bet that something like the Dom Tyson trade will happen again and we could get another gem out of it.

We need a good ruckman and a top shelf midfielder over the trade/draft period.

At the moment that is true, but without Frawley(swing man) next year, assuming he is as good as gone, we suddenly have a forward line which needs another tall and a backline without an experienced full back.

If we can get a ruck man who can push forward(these blokes pretty rare) and be a goal scorer, just like Mitch Clark, then that would be the way to go.

If we're going with Patton, I'd add Prestia. Another MFC supporter. ;) Bring 'em home. :P

Prestia is quick and a clearance machine. Probably the only non-MFC player I actually follow, mainly because he's a Melbourne boy and I hold out some ridiculous hope of getting him one day. If we get two top 5 picks, I'd be offering one for Prestia and use the other on a big forward.

Prestia and Viney in the middle would be a winning combination, Prestia is the one we need.

Hawthorn built their 2008 premiership midfield around Mitchell and Sewell. Viney and Prestia remind me a little of that combination. :D

• Author

John orouke gws same boat as Tyson

What year was Orourke Drafted? i'd love him, would go beautifully next to Tyson and Viney

Sewell would give us another Daniel Cross at the club, He would provide what Roos is trying to teach our players about...."non-negotiables"

Positives..

- footy non negotiables

- would be a better tagged than Mckenzie

- brings experience to the team on game day

- hard nut inside midfileder who epitomizes what the MFC is all about

Completely agree with this! Would love him

• Author

I think that there is a bit of run left in the Melbourne/GWS gear that has happened in the last couple of years. I wouldn't be at all surprised if they were willing to drip feed us a second/third year player or two for the next couple of years, in return for our top pick.

They have a huge bulge of players in that bracket and know some of them will want to go home. They also know that, realistically, Melbourne will have a good pick to play with.

I'd bet that something like the Dom Tyson trade will happen again and we could get another gem out of it.

Yeah that'd probably be okay, but we'd need to do something similar obviously.

For example: Pick 2- Patton and their second round pick

Pick 2 and 20- Orourke, Tomlinson and their 3rd rounder

Not a big get, but I would go after Goldsack from the Pies. Works hard, tall forward and cool sounding name.. I think he is out of contract too.

While our likely draft pick 2 (I'm confident we've got the Lions covered) should get us a ruck/forward (Wright or Durdin), we may have to also go after one of the West Coast wastees - Lycett or Sinclair - and I imagine we will need to give up pick 20 for either of them.

Neither Lycett or Sinclair are worth pick 20, in fact barely a 3rd rounder, what was Michie pick 54, that is about the ball park figure for those two