'Raising The Bar' ... 9 MFC players who must lift in 2013.

• Author
  On 15/03/2013 at 02:38, hardtack said:

Fellini films equate to gayness?? Live and learn... and all of these years I've been enjoying my collection of Fellini films... what can I tell my kids?

On the subject though, maybe some of our more senior players can't raise the bar simply because they are too old (cue Yackety Sax).

I don't know about all Fellini flicks Hardtack but the following synopsis doesn't exactly scream out "Hetero!" to me ...

Movie Info - Satyricon

Federico Fellini makes his most decadent, undisciplined work in this free adaptation of Petronius' famous farcical chronicle of ancient Roman life. The film opens with Encolpio (Martin Potter) vying with his friend Ascilto (Hiram Keller) for the affections of a young effeminate lad named Gitone (Max Born). When the youth chooses his rival or him, Encolpio begins a journey that has him encountering Romans of every stripe and color. He drops in on an orgy thrown by Trimalchio (Mario Romagnoli), a wealth-loving ex-slave who has spurned his wife in favor of a pleasures of a young boy; he toils on a slave galley, fighting off the advances of Lichas (Alain Cuny) -- the ship's burly wall-eyed captain; he steals an albino hermaphrodite demi-god who is reputed to be able to tell the future; and fails to summon the enthusiasm to make love to a [censored]-priestess. Along the way, we witness a parade of prostitutes in ancient Rome's pleasure quarters; watch performance by Vernacchio (Fanfulla), an actor whose on-stage specialties include farting and public amputation; and the wonton devouring of a human corpse for financial gain. ~ Jonathan Crow, Rovi

On 15/03/2013 at 01:03, stuie said:

I thought this thread was about "senior" players? Nearly half of that list are 22 or under. Senior should mean AT LEAST 24. Give the young guys a friggin break.

Dangerfield is 22, Stu. Just saying.

On 15/03/2013 at 02:49, Range Rover said:

I don't know about all Fellini flicks Hardtack but the following synopsis doesn't exactly scream out "Hetero!" to me ...

Movie Info - Satyricon

Federico Fellini makes his most decadent, undisciplined work in this free adaptation of Petronius' famous farcical chronicle of ancient Roman life. The film opens with Encolpio (Martin Potter) vying with his friend Ascilto (Hiram Keller) for the affections of a young effeminate lad named Gitone (Max Born). When the youth chooses his rival or him, Encolpio begins a journey that has him encountering Romans of every stripe and color. He drops in on an orgy thrown by Trimalchio (Mario Romagnoli), a wealth-loving ex-slave who has spurned his wife in favor of a pleasures of a young boy; he toils on a slave galley, fighting off the advances of Lichas (Alain Cuny) -- the ship's burly wall-eyed captain; he steals an albino hermaphrodite demi-god who is reputed to be able to tell the future; and fails to summon the enthusiasm to make love to a [censored]-priestess. Along the way, we witness a parade of prostitutes in ancient Rome's pleasure quarters; watch performance by Vernacchio (Fanfulla), an actor whose on-stage specialties include farting and public amputation; and the wonton devouring of a human corpse for financial gain. ~ Jonathan Crow, Rovi

Well, that was Rome back in the day RR. Gaius Petronius's Satyricon (which is actually a really good read), Calligula, etc etc...

But in all fairness, he was responding to someone who thought he had taken his D'land name from a Danish (or was it Norwegian) death metal band ;-)

Movie Info - Satyricon

"What have the Romans ever done for us?"

Gotta love a good sword & sandal Movie, the entire cast oiled up, Frank Thring and Michael Pate cameos!!

Epic Theatre as a child was compulsory viewing on a sunday arvo.

Movie Info - Satyricon

Are you sure these are characters from a film and not some of BP's better-known recruits..

On 15/03/2013 at 02:59, why you little said:

"What have the Romans ever done for us?"

Gotta love a good sword & sandal Movie, the entire cast oiled up, Frank Thring and Michael Pate cameos!!

Epic Theatre as a child was compulsory viewing on a sunday arvo.

Not to mention the Australian comedy company Double Take's live voice over of Hercules Returns back in the '90's (I have the video recording of that... very very funny).

How anyone can poo-poo a poster effectively imploring 9 players to "raise the bar" and lift in 2013, is bewildering. I reckon 99% of Demon supporters (probably more) would think and want the same.

B-H is 100% on the mark when he states: -

This is a forum to share views, we won't always be right and we won't always be wrong, but critiquing individual players and assessing their strengths and weakness, and discussing their worth to the team is part of the fundamental analysis supporters love making about the club and its servants. We do what the coaching panel does every day, just without the same intimate knowledge and expertise.

On 15/03/2013 at 03:14, H_T said:

How anyone can poo-poo a poster effectively imploring 9 players to "raise the bar" and lift in 2013, is bewildering. I reckon 99% of Demon supporters (probably more) would think and want the same.

-

Exactly what i thought when reading this thread..some bizarre ideas being expressed.

On 15/03/2013 at 03:16, dandeeman said:

Exactly what i thought when reading this thread..some bizarre ideas being expressed.

Two reasons - 99% of Melbourne supporters know that the team will lift the bar this year, they have to

The post was the usual same tired old cliches......been posted a number of times before, nothing new

It just brought to the surface the usual collection of naysayers

On 15/03/2013 at 03:32, Satyriconhome said:

Two reasons - 99% of Melbourne supporters know that the team will lift the bar this year, they have to

The post was the usual same tired old cliches......been posted a number of times before, nothing new

What.. the people that say that Jack Watts needs to go harder, or Col Sylvia needs to be consistent?

How dare those Naysayers..

This is the issue you are struggling with. 99% of supporters don't bloody know at all. All the 99% do know is that they have to, not that they will. See the difference?

For the 99% to be convined that we WILL raise the bar this year, we need certain players to step up. I bet if you asked any of the players that RR listed, they would say the same bloody thing. Will they do it? Who knows. 99% of the supporters have no idea, and if the last 6 years is anything to go by, how can we be confident that it will happen.

Its not tired old cliches that get to me. Its not criticism deserved that gets to me...

Its..."this player is crap and should never play for the MFC again".... "trade that spud...trade him now..."..."he is a gutless peaheart, he is a splineless jellyfish, he is brainless...etc".

Criticism (measured) ? no problem...vitriol and bile ? that I have a problem with... imploring certain players to do better...no problem at all

On 15/03/2013 at 03:03, hardtack said:

Not to mention the Australian comedy company Double Take's live voice over of Hercules Returns back in the '90's (I have the video recording of that... very very funny).

Ha I saw them do that Live at the Valhalla in Richmond..There was a 2nd Film i also saw which was a Japanese Secret Agent Scenario-Absolutely superb!!

On 15/03/2013 at 02:53, P_Man said:

Dangerfield is 22, Stu. Just saying.

And he's a gun. Totally agree. Just think we've put too much pressure on the young guys to carry the team when they should still be developing. IMO it's the guys aged say 24-28 that should be in their peak and having the most pressure put on them. The younguns should be showing improvement and work ethic, but they shouldn't be the one's doing all the heavy lifting.

On 15/03/2013 at 03:52, billy2803 said:

This is the issue you are struggling with. 99% of supporters don't bloody know at all. All the 99% do know is that they have to, not that they will. See the difference?

For the 99% to be convined that we WILL raise the bar this year, we need certain players to step up. I bet if you asked any of the players that RR listed, they would say the same bloody thing. Will they do it? Who knows. 99% of the supporters have no idea, and if the last 6 years is anything to go by, how can we be confident that it will happen.

Of course they do, there are only about 9 or 10 consistently negative posters on this board, 26000 members, most are optimistic that is why they have signed on again......most people are glass half full

What is step up....you mean they haven't reached the lofty standards that RR wants them to....that is what is laughable...

On 15/03/2013 at 04:49, Satyriconhome said:

Of course they do, there are only about 9 or 10 consistently negative posters on this board, 26000 members, most are optimistic that is why they have signed on again......most people are glass half full

What is step up....you mean they haven't reached the lofty standards that RR wants them to....that is what is laughable...

You're not doing youself any favours champ. I actually think you are a troll. There is nothing anyone can say to you, or post in general, that you won't leave alone. Your replies, like the one above to my post, have no substance and are quite painful to read.

I'm quite sure the standards some of the players named are aiming for would be a lot higher than what RR has written.

Fingers crossed for jamar and sylvia playing at their best and trengove and watts having break out years, that happens with our draw and we might give that 8th spot half a scare, any sort of improvement would be nice though

On 15/03/2013 at 04:49, Satyriconhome said:

Optimisim is nothing more than a state of mind that you, in particular, find appealing. It's fluff, nothing more.

You admit that you know nothing about footy. You contribute as much to this site as Stu. Nothing.

On 15/03/2013 at 05:01, Ben-Hur said:

Optimisim is nothing more than a state of mind that you, in particular, find appealing. It's fluff, nothing more.

You admit that you know nothing about footy. You contribute as much to this site as Stu. Nothing.

Says the guy who spends whole posts, like this one, trying to put other people beneath him.

On 15/03/2013 at 04:56, Demonfan26 said:

Fingers crossed for jamar and sylvia playing at their best and trengove and watts having break out years, that happens with our draw and we might give that 8th spot half a scare, any sort of improvement would be nice though

That is all anyone is asking....no one is "bagging anyone"....

Purely asking for some "value"

I think Satryicon took offense to the Nic Nat reference to Jack Watts and is sick of the abuse some players cop on this site and takes a more positive view on the club. From what I have read, he watches football for the enterainment it provides. This does not mean he has little understanding on the game.

RR has stated the obvious in his OP, I would go as far that all 46 players need to lift for this club to become competative. I see merit in most points of view in this thread. except the personal attacks.

On that note

BH has stated he sits in the political right corner of politics. So did Hitler!! Just saying :-)

On 15/03/2013 at 05:27, Demonsterative said:

I think ...

You should have stopped there.

And I must correct your inaccurate assertion whether others want me to or not.

Not "right", but conservative.