Posted

A year can be a long time in football, just ask Brad Green or Davey

But one game into the season is such a short time.

Posted

I've thought his number has been up for years, personally.

One-trick pony that will never be part of a winning team.

Hope I'm wrong, but he's lucky I'm not list manager, cos I'd have traded him last year.

I disagree.

It's hard not to read into his attitude etc after such a poor performance on the weekend - it was totally depressing - but let's not get carried away.

He is no champion but he has been a proud player, a strong leader and is very important in our developing team.

Let's reassess after a few more games at least.

Posted

I knew some of our supporters would fall straight into jungle drum beating of Wilson and Thomas. I, like most others here welcome the attempt by Neeld at changing the culture within the footy club and we outside have to chill out for a bit and see how it unfolds.

I am absolutely NOT backing the players. They have failed me/us repeatedly. They need to tow the line, fall in or get out. So real or imagined discontent, don't even go there!

Is this what some alluded to about the cut it with a knife atmosphere at the Blazer ceremony???

It might be that there is some Ill will between some of the 'Old Guard', and this New Broom sweeping through the club, Off field...??? Is there a chasm between some,,,, who would be coach & aren't, and those who are? (Hmmn, Matthew Knights)

It's time to Bare that closet, shake it & rattle it till those 'Ol bones fall out, then get the Chaplain to say a prayer for those who've been caught in there for too long... make they're peace & move on!

Posted

He was never quite the same after 186 nutbean that is now 6 months ago

Apart from the 35 disposals and 3 Brownlow votes in the loss to Port Adelaide in round 24?

Posted

Apart from the 35 disposals and 3 Brownlow votes in the loss to Port Adelaide in round 24?

It is just my view Mac7 If you read my original comment I said it is the things that have happened since the end of 2011 that appear to show he is now on the outer with the playing group and the FD

Posted

It is just my view Mac7 If you read my original comment I said it is the things that have happened since the end of 2011 that appear to show he is now on the outer with the playing group and the FD

Yeah fair enough, I think people are getting carried away though. A bad game in round one when the team was awful I’m not too worried about. Expect a big bounce back this week.

I’m far more worried about some of the other players who really disappointed me last year.

Posted

Bit of perspective required?

We got belted on the weekend. Is he going to come on smiling & chatting about his mate Neeldy?

I can imagine the caning he would get then.

And it was stupid to ask him if his team mates will be dropped.

I'd say his response was more about the stupidity of the question than anything else.

Posted

Clay Beames, Beamers opponent last saturday has just been nominated for Rising Star round 1.

His time is coming to an end, unless Brent changes his own attitude.

The old attitude won't cut it.

Posted

Clay Beames, Beamers opponent last saturday has just been nominated for Rising Star round 1.

His time is coming to an end, unless Brent changes his own attitude.

The old attitude won't cut it.

Not disagreeing necessarily but wonder what specifically about his attitude you are referring to?

Posted

Not disagreeing necessarily but wonder what specifically about his attitude you are referring to?

How often does Beamer play a great game?

He over rates himself IMO.

Posted

As an experienced player, and one with some real body strength, he does not impose himself on the game. We are crying out for someone to bust open a pack, will himself to win a contest, do something inspirational against the flow. Good players get tagged - it's part of the game - but they find a way through it, I don't think it's too much to expect of a 10 year player with a b&f to his name.
Posted

Intersting that Neeld highlighted the role of the players in selecting the LG. Even if input small i wonder if Moloney being dropped from it reflects on his approach to dealing with teammates (partic the younger fellas), which from what i have seen seems to involve alot of yelling, pointing and barking.

It will be interesting to see if Beamer runs his boxing camp this year during the bye. Neeld may veto it i suppose but if he doesn't and Beamer doesn't run it again it may be evidence of his disillusionment with the new regime (or not). I was saying to mate before the game that he seems very flat and not happy and only 1 tackle in a game of footy from an inside mid built like a truck reinforces this for me. He should have have flattened Beams (legally) at some point just to show who is boss

Posted

As do the umpires when he received 19 brownlow votes last year......

I think alot of Demonlanders over rate them selves.......

Posted

As an experienced player, and one with some real body strength, he does not impose himself on the game. We are crying out for someone to bust open a pack, will himself to win a contest, do something inspirational against the flow. Good players get tagged - it's part of the game - but they find a way through it, I don't think it's too much to expect of a 10 year player with a b&f to his name.

Absolutely spot on. Exactly what i think. Beamer got beaten by a kid who played so well he won the Rising Star nomination.

Damming for the CV Beamer

Posted

Grant Thomas said it shows something that Moloney referred to the coach as 'coach' and not to his name.

What an absolutely stupid comment.

Talk about reading way too much into a comment.

What's wrong with saying 'the coach'? What difference does it make if he says his name or 'the coach'? You cannot read anything into that. Thomas is just looking for a way to back up his opinion, because at the moment he has nothing to support his criticism of Neeld.

Anyway, I've heard Brad Green repeatedly say "Neeldy" in a number of interviews, so there's Grant Thomas' theory down the toilet.

There is nothing that can be read into saying "Mark", "Neeld", "Neeldy", "coach", etc., especially in a one-off comment.

Posted (edited)

Absolutely spot on. Exactly what i think. Beamer got beaten by a kid who played so well he won the Rising Star nomination.

Damming for the CV Beamer

He just didn't pay the "kid" any respect thats all.

And if you not going to give them "any respect" by manning up on them and giving them "hell" etc. then you have to make sure you dominate them in contests, disposals etc. And unfortunately he did not.

But i have faith he will bounce back.

Edited by The Song Formerly Known As

Posted

If he produces the same pissweak effort this week, put a fork in him.

I personally didn't agree with him being cast out of the leadership group but he needs to build a bridge. The club needs him now more than ever before.

Posted

Beamer looked like a bunyip in the headlights.

And everyone here has had the experience of being bailed up in a doorstop interview? Most here, including me, wouldn't be able to think quickly enough.

Posted

he obv

He just didn't pay the "kid" any respect thats all.

And if you not going to give them "any respect" by manning up on them and giving them "hell" etc. then you have to make sure you dominate them in contests, disposals etc. And unfortunately he did not.

But i have faith he will bounce back.

After one or two clearances you would expect Beamer to think "this kid is good i have to beat him" But no it went on all day.

I don't think Beamer is all that smart. Or he is cooked.

Posted

I'm starting to really think the media saturation of AFL is slowly turning me off the game.

There's simply too many journos all trying to outdo each other with any tiny piece of irrelevant c rap they can lay their hands on. So Beamer said "the coach" BIG #$^$#ing DEAL! Neeld said "i" instead of "we" - are you serious??

It's partly my fault for watching 360, Footy Classified, twitter, forums like this etc so I guess I only have myself to blame but honestly, some of the absolute c rap that passes as a story these days in quite staggering.

Posted

After one or two clearances you would expect Beamer to think "this kid is good i have to beat him" But no it went on all day.

I don't think Beamer is all that smart. Or he is cooked.

Pretty sure he aint no rocket scientist and he aint no Chris Judd either.

I hear you re: Saturday - unequivocally unacceptable, but I'm not going to say he's crap and isn't important for us.

We need to get his best out of him.

Posted

I'm starting to really think the media saturation of AFL is slowly turning me off the game.

There's simply too many journos all trying to outdo each other with any tiny piece of irrelevant c rap they can lay their hands on. So Beamer said "the coach" BIG #$^$#ing DEAL! Neeld said "i" instead of "we" - are you serious??

It's partly my fault for watching 360, Footy Classified, twitter, forums like this etc so I guess I only have myself to blame but honestly, some of the absolute c rap that passes as a story these days in quite staggering.

Correct Harcourt I have said this elsewhere, not the case with Moloney but we give them heaps to work over.

Posted

Yep i'm with you on this. More crap and less intelligent analysis - how does that work? It's also 365 days a year, which is in large pert orchestrated by the AFL with clever (if you ask them) timing of stuff such as rookie drafts, drafts, announcing fixture etc etc. Next year they'll have all the intrigue of the free agency palaver to add to the list.

Some journo will prob write an irony free article about the saturation of football coverage