Posted

Don't want to sound a smart rse but I Can say I told you all this was going to happen.

Posted

Happy for Fev to work with Stynesy at REACH but not happy about the Scorpion situation.

Just my gut feeling and opinion.

Don't worry he will only be with the Scorps for a year he'll play for the Dees next year.

Posted

Don't worry he will only be with the Scorps for a year he'll play for the Dees next year.

Spare me that Media Circus JCB the scorpions is bad enough.

Posted

Spare me that Media Circus JCB the scorpions is bad enough.

I'll remind you of your post later in the year.

Posted

I'll remind you of your post later in the year.

I'm sure you will,

My opinion will not change. I do not want Brendon Fevola to play for the MFC...ok it's on the record.

Posted

Don't want to sound a smart rse but I Can say I told you all this was going to happen.

Really JCB.

Firstly Jimmy is hardly going to come and be derogatory about Fev in the press. Its not his style and it does nothing for the MFC or Reach. Its just good spin.

Secondly, its also a good media attracting platform for Jimmy to spruik a new Reach program he is unveiling.

This is hardly an endorsement of Fevola and the Club are clearly not happy with the Scorpions situation.

Fev has as much chance of playing for MFC next year as Chris Judd.

Posted

The quote should be "jimma is positive for me" - Fev.

Fev should count his lucky stars he is now in contact with the big fella.

Lets forget the footy here what counts is whether Fev grabs this opportunity to learn a few lessons from a truly inspirational bloke.

Posted

Yeah, it's great spin.

Fev needs to have a chat with Reach, not work for them to help teens...

The Best facilitators come from the ones who've struggled through their traumatic vices and come through the other side.

Text book facilitators aren't much chop.

Fev has the compassion for such a possibility.

Posted (edited)

The Best facilitators come from the ones who've struggled through their traumatic vices and come through the other side.

Text book facilitators aren't much chop.

Coming from the perspective of someone with 20 years experience in the social welfare sector i could not disagree more with this. The welfare sector (and particlarly the youth sector) is full of "i've been there too and i know how you feel" people who are out there trying to save souls and think they have some special capacity to do so because of what they perceive is their "shared experience". Without the neccessary theoretical underpinnings, skills, training and knowledge this often selfish pathway to redemption can be a very dangerous one for those being "helped".

Fev needs to sort himself out before he worries about helping anyone else. And once he does and he still wants to work with troubled young people than in order to do so he should go get some relevant qualifications (a process that may help him in his own efforts to move forward)

Posted

Fev has the compassion for such a possibility.

Its a pity that Fev has a much chronicalled inability to listen when he has so much compassion to give. :rolleyes:

Posted

Coming from the perspective of someone with 20 years experience in the social welfare sector i could not disagree more with this. The welfare sector (and particlarly the youth sector) is full of "i've been there too and i know how you feel" people who are out there trying to save souls and think they have some special capacity to do so because of what they perceive is their "shared experience". Without the neccessary theoretical underpinnings, skills, training and knowledge this often selfish pathway to redemption can be a very dangerous one for those being "helped".

Fev needs to sort himself out before he worries about helping anyone else. And once he does and he still wants to work with troubled young people than in order to do so he should go get some relevant qualifications (a process that may help him in his own efforts to move forward)

Great post. Too frequently some of these well meaning life changers are in many cases feeding their own egos with their actions.

Fev does have deal with his issues and this wont be done overnight or in a couple of weeks. And until he can demonstrate that he is functional person in the community and has the appropriate training (and thats not for a couple of years) I would not have him anywhere near troubled young people. At the moment he's toxic and potentially harmful to himself.

Posted

Jimmy's smart enough to realise the situation we're in and see that if we don't put a positive spin on it it'll just keep getting worse and we'll just look like whiners. Fev won't be playing for us next year, I reckon there'd be more chance of Neita coming out of retirement, fact is though we're stuck with him so why not try to use it to get positive press?

Posted

Without the neccessary theoretical underpinnings, skills, training and knowledge this often selfish pathway to redemption can be a very dangerous one for those being "helped".

A bit of compassion doesn't go astray either. In fact it's the most important ingredient and this is not always evident in some welfare 'professionals'.

Posted (edited)

A bit of compassion doesn't go astray either. In fact it's the most important ingredient and this is not always evident in some welfare 'professionals'.

Yep compassion is important. Sure it is a neccessary ingredient but the the most important? Not IMO, certainly not in isolation and/or not in concert with the required training and communication skills.

"I've got a very good relationship with Brendan and he's been communicating because he wants to be a part of Reach, he wants to help young people. Unfortunately for Brendan, there's a part of him that he's not aware of - the ramifications of what he does, he doesn't understand them just yet". Sage words from Jimmy who is clearly saying Fev has an enourmous amount of work to do before he would let him any where near any Reach clients.

Posted

I'm inclined to agree with this, although there is merit to the idea that someone who has had first hand experience with a particular issue or set of issues might have the insight (in the event that they overcome their issues) to help others' in a similar position. However, there are many important skills that are needed for those involded in helping professions (like myself, a provisional psychologist). I feel blessed in that I have the balance of professional training and theoretical understand with actual experience.

Back on topic anyway, calling this clever spin is right on the money.

Posted

I'm not denying that education is very important in knowing ways and methods of communicating and handling the the person & any situations. But that's along way short of Ideal.

Being able to fully understand what it's like and some of the things it takes, is extremely important.

Posted

I'm inclined to agree with this, although there is merit to the idea that someone who has had first hand experience with a particular issue or set of issues might have the insight (in the event that they overcome their issues) to help others' in a similar position. However, there are many important skills that are needed for those involded in helping professions (like myself, a provisional psychologist). I feel blessed in that I have the balance of professional training and theoretical understand with actual experience.

Back on topic anyway, calling this clever spin is right on the money.

I think there is 'Spin' going around, 'Samsara', but we may find it's anti clockwise!

Watch the future space.

Posted

Being able to fully understand what it's like and some of the things it takes, is extremely important.

One can empathise and show compassion without having directly experienced the same trauma or event. Indeed no one can ever truly say they no how someone else feels whether or not there is a shared experience.

Posted

I think there is 'Spin' going around, 'Samsara', but we may find it's anti clockwise!

Watch the future space.

What does that mean?